We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Room smells musty and is small and feels like a cheap motel. Didn't bother to use any of the amenities. Dingy hallways and worn furniture. Really a disappointment and way overpriced. Has ruined any chance of us coming to a holiday inn express again.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank EBeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am very sorry to hear about the issues surrounding your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a quality stay, clean and comfortable rooms and excellent service, all the while exceeding our guests expectations. We clearly did not provide this for you.

Please contact me directly either through this site or at the hotel directly so we can make this right. I am on vacation until Wednesday but will look forward to being able to discuss this with you soon.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Service was excellent. From check in to housekeeping to breakfast, all ensured they greeted you and asked how we were doing. Double rooms were comfortable & clean! Beds were just right firmness. A/C unit was quite strong & quiet (#227). We needed another set of towels and additional shampoo/conditioner (since you get only 2 uses out per bottle) all provided promptly. Since this was a sports weekend a lot of players around for softball & soccer. The indoor pool being quite small - gals softball team took up the whole pool! Work out room just upstairs from the pool area which is convenient (no game room tho). For evening gathering, were allowed access to breakfast area. Breakfast was very satisfactory, very good selection. Also, outdoor seating accommodates BBQ area and smokers pavilion. Only couple miles down from a couple of Malls so plenty of shopping & dining choices. This is 2nd Holiday Inn Express stayed at & would recommend again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sushiray,

Please accept a sincere thank you for this wonderful review as well as for your business. We know how many choices there are in the Albany area and value that you picked us.

We have posted this in our employee break room as well as read it out loud for the team at our daily morning meeting. What an amazing way to start our morning!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for gym rat challenge AAU basketball tournament. Hotel location is ideal-right off NYS Thruway cna get anywhere. Literally two minutes form Crossgates Mall as well, with lots of dining options. Breakfast was good and staff attendants were pleasant an immediatley eplenished anything that ran out. Room was clean and comfortable, fridge was useful for storing leftovers. Also has indoor pool but didn't have a chance to use it. A bit pricier by about $30-40/nite than other HI express locations I've used, maybe something to do with the time of year it was. For that value gets only three stars. Overall, a fine place to stay if in Albany.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orsini_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your perspective and the time it takes to post a review. I hope next time you get to use the pool, it's a cozy 85 degrees!

Our rates do stand strong during peak season which starts in May and runs right through the fall, we do however keep on the pulse and are competitively priced with comparable hotels in our market. I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on value, if there is anything we could have done better I would love to get in touch either here through TripAdvisor or direct to the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

1 night stay with wife and two young kids.

-Very friendly and helpful staff.

-Pool area was nice. Loved the warm temps in the pool, but also wished they had a hot tub.

-Breakfast was good, lots of choices and it was free! One point it got a little crowded and there was a long wait for the pancake maker.

- Overall it was good and what I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiscoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review!! I know how busy it gets with life and kids!!
That pancake machine sure is popular so yes, on occasion there is a bit of a wait. But they are definitely tasty and worth it! :)

While we do not have any plans to add a hot tub, we'd love to hear what we can do to bump our service up to 5 circles!! Everyone here, from staff to managers to owner are highly invested in doing what we do excellently. it is through our customer that we know whether we are on the right track and how we can exceed expectations.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a Holiday Inn Express that does everything you expect from a HI Express and does them well.

Clean, comfortable room: check. Two firm pillows and two soft pillows which are labeled - nice touch. Mini-fridge is mini but bigger than most mini's.

Location: check. Near Highways and local dining and shopping. Close to SUNY Albany.

Facilities: check. I didn't get to use the pool but really liked lounging in the outdoor area with garden furniture. Nice and quiet there and inside the hotel. Continental breakfast that also offers pre-made cheese omelets, sausage, fresh fruit and more. I saw groundskeepers watering plants and maintaining property quietly and later in the night as to not disturb guests.

Service: check. Checked in by courteous, friendly, competent staff member, whose name I wish I'd gotten to mention here. (6/7 around 5:30, 6 PM). Complementary water in room. IHG Rewards Club in the house!

To reiterate, an HI Express meeting and exceeding expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echo4bravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Great Review? Check!!

Thank you for sharing our experience and for providing your point of view. We appreciate the time you took to post this, as well as for having chosen us in the future!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Kira (front desk) was extremely happy & friendly! A very nice change from some hotels we've been to. The hotel was very nice (although our mattress was way too soft - possibly broken? which I mentioned to the front desk at checkout). The property is nice but a little overpriced considering the competition is $50/night cheaper. The breakfast area is beautiful & spacious and lots of variety for breakfast. There are several restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Kira, she is a wonderful and important member of our front desk team!!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay; we do remain competitive with similar hotels in the area, I hope next time we can do a better job of providing the value for your stay!


Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here as like to choose similiar hotels as to try ensure where we are staying is an acceptable location for my family . This was a great spot. Good location. Excellent staff and great accomodations. Reccommend highly. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labradorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you fro the review! We appreciate your business as well as the time you took to share your experience.

We hope to see you and your family back again!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £97 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing