We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
774
195
28
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
195
28
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desktuesday nightgreat hotelcomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areaexcellent staywould definitely stay here againcrossgates mallwe've stayedfitness centerfresh fruitclean roomswould highly recommend this hotelking roombagelsbusiness centerup to date
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very clean room. Personnel are friendly. Amenities include better than standard breakfast. Lots of room for all at breakfast. Many choices including pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, good sticky buns.
Pool too small and warm. Needed bigger poolside towels. Sauna or hot tub would be nice to get a "spa" experience. Gym equipment adequate but not great.
Not inexpensive. With tax a king room was more than 150.00. Room also complete with nice size refrigerator and microwave. Bed comfortable. Needed more toiletries like bigger samples for the price of the room. Good wifi connection. Hotel also had a barbecue area but no one was using it. I would go there again.
Walk to some restaurants like 99.
Close to thruway for convenience also to the colleges.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to elevator or living room space on 3 floor for more convenience. Very quiet halls and floors.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a a review about your stay with us. We happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay!

We do keep our pool at a temperature of 85 degrees. As it is on the small side, the size and temperature are more conducive to swimming rather than laps. We also appreciate your input on the pool towels and the fitness room.

Next time, give us a call for extra amenities and we can deliver extra toiletries right up the room!

Thank you again for the input.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night en route to Maine. Really comfortable beds but tiny sofa bed for kids. Friendly staff and free breakfast were appreciated. Lots of variety at breakfast but most was pre cooked or processed food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!! We appreciate the business as well as the comments.

I am sorry that the breakfast did not offer enough options. We do try to offer as much fresh and whole foods as we can. The bagels are from a local kosher bakery and delivered fresh daily. We also offer whole fruit such as oranges, apples and bananas.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a night on the way back to New York by train. We were unable to book a city centre hotel room due to the bar exam taking place, so the hotel was a bit out of the way by taxi for us. However, it is well located for the main highway for road travellers. Staff were welcoming and efficient and the room was pleasant, clean and with good services. Breakfast was a bit poor, but you can't complain as it is complimentary for all guests. There are several places to eat nearby, a short walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for having chosen us in the first place.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, even as complimentary offering, we strive to make it great and provide many choices from yogurt, fresh delivered bagels, pastries, hot and cold cereals, whole fruits, yogurts, scrambled eggs and omelets that rotate daily as well as bacon and turkey sausage. Plus this magical pancake machine folks are always talking about. It is not cooked to order so I do understand the preference for that, we just do not have a kitchen for that.

Hope you had an enjoyable trip!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

stayed one night for a College visit.2 queen beds were comfortable and the property is clean.just be aware its a non smoking hotel.when we got our room we walked in and phew someone smoked it smelled of ashes
I immediately went down to front desk and she gave us another room and apologized.Breakfast is full hot and you can even make pancakes. paper and checkout was under the door in the AM...Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevedolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here and for being so understanding over the smoky first room We do try our hardest to catch those before our guests do. We will need to try harder.

We do hope to see you again in the future!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We selected this hotel for a one night stay on Saturday, July 26th, principally due to its proximity to Route 87, the primary route that takes you up to Montreal from New York, and in light of all the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. It was a very good choice.

The hotel has very nice landscaping in the front and is bright, clean and quite modern-looking. We hit a bit of a snafu when we tried to check-in at 4:30 pm (check-in time is 4 pm), as the front desk staff had not yet been advised as to which rooms were available for arriving guests. After a 7 hour drive from northern Virginia we were quite anxious to check in, and the front desk manager, Lori, responded as swiftly as possible. She sent up a staff member to check on rooms for us, apologized profusely, offered snacks, and then indicated she we would be giving us extra points (we are IHG members and had used points to book our room). Lori was friendly, warm, and worked hard to fix the problem for us, and we were very grateful to her for her help.

Our room, #226, was a bit small for a family of four however it was nicely appointed, very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable - my husband loved that they came out outfitted with both firm and soft pillows. The amenities had a nice citrus scent and the shower's water pressure was great.

I used the gym and while small, it had nicely-updated machines and overlooked the pool, which I liked.

Breakfast was your standard fare (included in the price of the room), but plentiful, and I appreciated the Chobani Greek yoghurt.

In sum the Holiday Inn Express was an excellent choice for a family in transit and dispelled any idea I had that hotels very close to major thoroughfares are often sad and tired-looking; on the contrary, this really was an excellent choice!

Tip: If you are in transit, and looking for supplies for your trip, Whole Foods just opened up (one month ago!) a beautiful new store that is less than a 10-minuted ride from the hotel - ! I then recommend stopping for a picnic lunch in the lovely Adirondack State Reserve - you'll drive right through it on your way up to Montreal and there are a number of rest stops along the way with picnic tables under the pine trees.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MaryGL6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MaryGL6016,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. While I am sorry there was a delay during the check in process, I am happy to hear that Lori did a good job of taking care of it for you.

We really do appreciate the business as well as the review.

Personally, I would like to thank you for the idea of a picnic lunch on the way to Montreal. i am making that trip myself in two weeks and it is a lovely idea!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews