We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
345 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on vacation and we're very pleasantly surprised. As a matter of fact we liked it so much that we decided to stay another night. From the clerk that checked us in (I think his name was jafar?) To Cathy and Lori everyone was extremely friendly and patient with everyone. Breakfast was really awesome with much more then your average motel breakfast, again everyone was super friendly and accommodating. The room was nice, clean and fresh, (room 347) even the cleaning staff we came across were very friendly. We enjoyed the nice clean pool which had fresh clean towels for the guest. They also have a outside sitting area along with a few grills which the guests can use which was really nice. I do a lot of traveling and I gotta say that is the nicest place I've ever stayed for this price range. I will definitely stop in again on my next trip thru this area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Monseyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. Jafar has been with us for a very long time and is a great asset to the team. He, along with Cathy and Lori, are great examples of the amazing staff I am blessed to work with every day.

We do hope to see you again soon!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    174
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
290
126
38
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back west from Maine. The hotel is outstanding.

1. Very clean. Hotel is 18 years old yet appears brand new. Everything was so clean in the building. Rooms are a good size too.
2. Friendly staff. All the staff were very friendly, and helpful. Really made our stay a treat.
3. Breakfast. Hands down the BEST free breakfast I've had at any of the Express hotels. Make sure you try the pancake machine. Pumps out two fresh hot pancakes to order. Fun and tasty.

If we travel east again we would definitely stay here again. You can't go wrong being here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Batterie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you!!!

That pancake machine is pretty neat huh!

We do hope we get to have you back again someday. I cannot convey how much we appreciate that you chose us in the first place. Plus how nice it was for the staff to hear this review!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very clean room. Personnel are friendly. Amenities include better than standard breakfast. Lots of room for all at breakfast. Many choices including pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, good sticky buns.
Pool too small and warm. Needed bigger poolside towels. Sauna or hot tub would be nice to get a "spa" experience. Gym equipment adequate but not great.
Not inexpensive. With tax a king room was more than 150.00. Room also complete with nice size refrigerator and microwave. Bed comfortable. Needed more toiletries like bigger samples for the price of the room. Good wifi connection. Hotel also had a barbecue area but no one was using it. I would go there again.
Walk to some restaurants like 99.
Close to thruway for convenience also to the colleges.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to elevator or living room space on 3 floor for more convenience. Very quiet hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a a review about your stay with us. We happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay!

We do keep our pool at a temperature of 85 degrees. As it is on the small side, the size and temperature are more conducive to swimming rather than laps. We also appreciate your input on the pool towels and the fitness room.

Next time, give us a call for extra amenities and we can deliver extra toiletries right up the room!

Thank you again for the input.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night en route to Maine. Really comfortable beds but tiny sofa bed for kids. Friendly staff and free breakfast were appreciated. Lots of variety at breakfast but most was pre cooked or processed food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!! We appreciate the business as well as the comments.

I am sorry that the breakfast did not offer enough options. We do try to offer as much fresh and whole foods as we can. The bagels are from a local kosher bakery and delivered fresh daily. We also offer whole fruit such as oranges, apples and bananas.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a night on the way back to New York by train. We were unable to book a city centre hotel room due to the bar exam taking place, so the hotel was a bit out of the way by taxi for us. However, it is well located for the main highway for road travellers. Staff were welcoming and efficient and the room was pleasant, clean and with good services. Breakfast was a bit poor, but you can't complain as it is complimentary for all guests. There are several places to eat nearby, a short walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for having chosen us in the first place.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, even as complimentary offering, we strive to make it great and provide many choices from yogurt, fresh delivered bagels, pastries, hot and cold cereals, whole fruits, yogurts, scrambled eggs and omelets that rotate daily as well as bacon and turkey sausage. Plus this magical pancake machine folks are always talking about. It is not cooked to order so I do understand the preference for that, we just do not have a kitchen for that.

Hope you had an enjoyable trip!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

stayed one night for a College visit.2 queen beds were comfortable and the property is clean.just be aware its a non smoking hotel.when we got our room we walked in and phew someone smoked it smelled of ashes
I immediately went down to front desk and she gave us another room and apologized.Breakfast is full hot and you can even make pancakes. paper and checkout was under the door in the AM...Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevedolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience here and for being so understanding over the smoky first room We do try our hardest to catch those before our guests do. We will need to try harder.

We do hope to see you again in the future!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel for a one night stay on Saturday, July 26th, principally due to its proximity to Route 87, the primary route that takes you up to Montreal from New York, and in light of all the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. It was a very good choice.

The hotel has very nice landscaping in the front and is bright, clean and quite modern-looking. We hit a bit of a snafu when we tried to check-in at 4:30 pm (check-in time is 4 pm), as the front desk staff had not yet been advised as to which rooms were available for arriving guests. After a 7 hour drive from northern Virginia we were quite anxious to check in, and the front desk manager, Lori, responded as swiftly as possible. She sent up a staff member to check on rooms for us, apologized profusely, offered snacks, and then indicated she we would be giving us extra points (we are IHG members and had used points to book our room). Lori was friendly, warm, and worked hard to fix the problem for us, and we were very grateful to her for her help.

Our room, #226, was a bit small for a family of four however it was nicely appointed, very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable - my husband loved that they came out outfitted with both firm and soft pillows. The amenities had a nice citrus scent and the shower's water pressure was great.

I used the gym and while small, it had nicely-updated machines and overlooked the pool, which I liked.

Breakfast was your standard fare (included in the price of the room), but plentiful, and I appreciated the Chobani Greek yoghurt.

In sum the Holiday Inn Express was an excellent choice for a family in transit and dispelled any idea I had that hotels very close to major thoroughfares are often sad and tired-looking; on the contrary, this really was an excellent choice!

Tip: If you are in transit, and looking for supplies for your trip, Whole Foods just opened up (one month ago!) a beautiful new store that is less than a 10-minuted ride from the hotel - ! I then recommend stopping for a picnic lunch in the lovely Adirondack State Reserve - you'll drive right through it on your way up to Montreal and there are a number of rest stops along the way with picnic tables under the pine trees.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGL6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MaryGL6016,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. While I am sorry there was a delay during the check in process, I am happy to hear that Lori did a good job of taking care of it for you.

We really do appreciate the business as well as the review.

Personally, I would like to thank you for the idea of a picnic lunch on the way to Montreal. i am making that trip myself in two weeks and it is a lovely idea!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing