We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blech.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
New York, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Blech.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was in Albany for a work trip and decided to pick this hotel because it was close to where I needed to be for work and I got a good price through the United website. I typically choose Hampton Inns for my work trips but figured I would give this hotel a shot.

The hotel itself is in a good location (right off the highway and near SUNY Albany and some restaurants) and the lobby is in pretty good shape. They gave me a few menus when I checked in which I always appreciate and were friendly enough.

The room is not great. It seems pretty old and the bathroom was dingy. The shower definitely needed a good scrubbing and when I went to grab a towel after showering, I saw a nice black curly hair sitting right on the top of the towel. Blech. The bed was not very comfortable and the blankets are super thin so it can get really cold in the middle of the night.

I went to the gym, which was basically just a hotel room with a few machines in it. There were towels left all over the floor and none of the tvs on the machines connected to headphones properly.

Breakfast in the morning was fine, nothing special. I was really surprised to see such great reviews for this hotel so maybe I had a one-off experience here. Regardless though, I will be sticking to the Hampton Inn from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. I can understand how frustrating it must be to try a new hotel after reading many positive reviews only to end up disappointed. We take the cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel very seriously and I will be sure to follow through with our team members to make sure that future guests do not have a similar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    91
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
81
42
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for two weeks. Its just off Interstate so if you are traveling out of Albany its a good location. But other than Dunkin donuts there is pretty much nothing around. You have to drive about 4-5 miles for anything that you would need! The place is decent and recently the prices have increased quite sharply! One thing that bothered me was the bright light in the parking lot. If you are on any of the floors facing the parking lot, you will not be able to sleep as the curtains cant be drawn to prevent the bright light from entering your room. I woke up multiple times during the stay thinking its dawn already..but it were just the bright lights. Other than that nothing much to write about. Value for money....paid $135 per night (including taxes), complimentary buffet, and free wifi. No refrigerator or microwave in the room!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have too much light from the parking lot into your bedroom...so avoid these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to review your stay at out hotel.

I am sorry to read that you were bothered by our parking lot lights while you were at our hotel. All of our guestrooms are appointed with blackout curtains in addition to the decorative curtains (which are fixed in the "open" position) and the sheers. Because these curtains are located nearest the window they may not have been apparent. In the past we have left the blackout curtains covering about half of the available window but as a result of recent feedback we have closed them further, leaving about a quarter of the window visible. I hope that this will prevent future guests from feeling a similar frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I had reserved one room on a recent trip to Albany, but ended up needing an additional room for our two daughters. No problem, the desk clerk working the early evening shift on 3/21 went out of his way to be helpful. He placed us near each other and made us feel welcome and actually gave us a better rate for each room than what I had received on the initial internet booking. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback came in the fact that there was no mini refrigerator in our king room, but we used the one the one in the other room, so no big deal. The indoor pool was immaculate, but unfortunately the hot tub was closed. I've stayed in most of the hotels on Washington St. near SUNY, and for the money, this one was worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sablak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind words. We hope to add refrigerators to all of our rooms in an upcoming renovation but I am happy to hear that at least one of your rooms had one for this stay.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were comfortable at this hotel. It wasn't spotless but it wasn't dirty either. The rooms were decent and they accommodated us with any special requests. When we couldn't get into our room due to the key card devise not working they were very nice and relatively quick to remedy the situation. The pool is kept surprisingly clean as well. We were there for several days on our stay and the only issue we could find is the coffee is not good. We had to go to Dunkin Donuts each morning for coffee. All in all, I can't complain otherwise and we will use them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciacca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear about the challenge that you encountered with your keys but am happy to hear that it was rectified to your satisfaction.

I am also sorry to hear that our coffee did not meet your expectations. While this is not a common issue that I hear about, I will be sure to investigate to see if there is an opportunity to improve our coffee service. I am glad to hear that the Dunkin Donuts down the street was able to meet your needs during this stay.

We are happy to hear that you will be back. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I feel very badly writing a poor review, and indeed rarely do so. I am hoping this is just a one-off experience at this hotel: But our recent stay at the Fairfield Inn was most disappointing. It is a drab, dirty property in need of urgent refurbishment.
First the good points: all the staff were very friendly, from Matt who checked us in to the breakfast and housekeeping staff.
But, I was stunned by the condition of the hotel. We stay in Fairfields quite frequently and this one certainly does not measure up. It is a 2-star property at best.
There is no automatic entry door to the lobby (this would be difficult for anyone in need of accessibility); and the entry carpet was filthy.
The hallway carpet on our floor wasn't much better. Crumbs and dust everywhere. It is as though it had not been vacuumed for years. Our room also was very dusty. The bathroom in our room needs to be refurbished. There was a big, ugly dark stain in the bathtub, the area around the sink was all chipped, the floor was stained and chipped, and there was yellow residue/staining on the bathroom. The bed was too soft and a bit lumpy, a strong perfumed spray had been sprayed in the room - it was not good for allergies! The complementary breakfast was at best mediocre.
I understand that Fairfields are the lowest rung of Marriotts, but I have never been in one in such run-down shape. I feel very badly writing such a poor review.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I appreciate your candor in your assesment of our hotel. We have a renovation planned for the near future that I believe will adress the issues that you mentioned, including the addition of automatic doors. We will also be upgrading our breakfast to include both scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, sausage and fresh cut fruit.

I also appreciate your kind words about our team members. We strive to provide service that makes you feel welcome. I hope that our hotel accommodations make a second impression that matches our service if we have the opportunity to see you again after our renovation.

If you have the time to contact me at the hotel, I would love the opportunity to speak with you about your stay. -- Chris Devaney, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddington, Maine
Level Contributor
197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Pretty average motel Fairfield Inn, nothing special, but nice comfortable bed and room. Breakfast adequate, pool looked clean, hot tub not operational (looks like has been out of service for a while. We did get a very good rate on Priceline, so it was worth the stay for an overnight sleep/stay.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine04428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We have a number of changes afoot in the upcoming months that will hopefully make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Regarding our hot tub: There have been changes in the regulations that relate to hotel pools and hot tubs. While we will be able to make the changes necessary for our pool to remain in operation, our hot tub is being removed. We hope to move our fitness room to that location as part of a planned renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel is right across a street from SUNY (as are a few other hotels on Washington Avenue). It appears to be fairly new and is quite fine for a short stay in the area.
It has a very small work out room, but SUNY has a 5k track around it's perimeter that makes a great run.
The hotel is very convenient to downtown Albany (10-12 minutes) and Schenectady.
Adequate hot self-service breakfast area.
Very nice staff. Everyone I met was quite helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed Albany Pump Station for their own beers and food. Burgers are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that it met your travel needs -- and that you were able to enjoy The Pump Station! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing