We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a redo badly.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
stratford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Needs a redo badly.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rooms are dated with no amenities (fridge or microwave). Broken/loose tiles on bathroom floor. Ice machine was broken. Poor service at breakfast although breakfast person was very friendly when she was present. Employees griping to one another about being over worked and not able to meet the requirements of some sort of paperwork. No automatic doors makes entering with a fame ill and a cart of paraphernalia difficult. No restaurants really close.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairfield Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are taking steps to correct the deficiencies that you noted. I am sorry that your visit with us failed to live up to expectations but hope that we are able to provide a better experience for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    91
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
80
42
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Clean room, friendly staff and good location. Gym was small, but works. Complimentary breakfast had many choices, including some options for my vegan life style. Would recommend for anyone who needs to be across from SUNY or not far from down town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bought this hotel through hotwire so cannot complain about price at all. It is just your average hotel for staying in for a fly-by night. Nothing to fancy but its not terrible. The hotel staff was nice and there is breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you, we truly appreciate your feedback. Your feedback helps us work at delivering fantastic service as well as providing you with a clean room and simply satisfaied. Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've stayed at many Fairfield Inns and they are pretty consistent, this one was no exception. The price was right, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was adequate, pool was decent, parking was ample. It's tough to write a detailed review because nothing really jumps out at you, good or bad. The telltale sign is that I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I returned to Albany.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlympicMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for the “Four” Star review, we truly appreciate your feedback.
As always, we take pride in providing excellent service and strive to exemplify Marriott’s culture. Our staff can’t wait to see you on your next so they can show you what excellent service is all about, it may even give you something else to write about. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn for 1 night. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and better than other chain hotels offerings. The room was large, fairly clean, and the bed was comfortable. I wish the indoor swimming pool was larger, it isn't large enough to swim laps in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wehogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we really appreciate it! Feedback such as your helps us improve our product and service for our current and future guests.

As always, we strive for excellent service and hope to exemplify Marriott’s culture. Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us during your next trip to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, NY
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

General appearance upon entry is poor. The place looks so worn, however the rooms are so clean, and the bedding seems new. Bathroom very clean. Breakfast bar is the usual so so fairfield, lots of animal feed (bagels, waffels,etc.) and as so often is the case, the one employee on duty is overwhelmed when the rush starts. Pool is actually nicely sized, hot tub is shut down permenantly as per desk clerk. An overheard conversation is that no manager of the property has stayed in some time, the general appearance may improve when the owners fix this. The property appears owned by a group, several hotels in a row, multiple brands.
Good value for the price, directly oppisite SUNY albany, this may account for high use and worn look.

Room Tip: No food nearby. Difficult to get to unless gps guided, too many interstate ramps, and those horrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_NYJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love hearing how clean our rooms are and to your point we are continuing to find ways to update the product to appeal to our current and future guest. As always, we take pride in providing excellent customer service and Marriot's known satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A mixed bag: rooms are clean and about what you would expect from a lower price range of a chain hotel; commons area are tired and worn; carpeting looks in need of replacement or repair; breakfast area clean and well stocked. Need to replace front door - difficult to use when dragging a suitcase. Given its condition the price is too high.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I appreciate your candid comments regarding the condition of our property as well as the positive feedback about our housekeeping and breakfast. We continue to look for opportunities for improvement and your review is a helpful part of that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing