We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs help” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The only reason this hotel got a 3 instead of a 2 is because the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was decent. But the hallways looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in weeks... The rooms were pretty bare bones. Needs a bit of work. But fine for the night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iamleia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fairfield Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and our housekeeping team will be paying more attention to our hallways going forward. I was happy to hear that you were able to get a relaxing night's sleep and enjoy our breakfast. We hope that your next visit to the hotel will be a wholely enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    90
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
79
42
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Got this one for a good corporate discount while on a trip to Vermont.The rooms are decent and so is the free breakfast with many veggie options.The hotel staff was very friendly and nice.Would recommend for anyone who needs a night stay and need something not toof ar from the town.

Room Tip: Try booking it from other websites to get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabya0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit with us. We are happy to have your recommendation and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rooms are dated with no amenities (fridge or microwave). Broken/loose tiles on bathroom floor. Ice machine was broken. Poor service at breakfast although breakfast person was very friendly when she was present. Employees griping to one another about being over worked and not able to meet the requirements of some sort of paperwork. No automatic doors makes entering with a fame ill and a cart of paraphernalia difficult. No restaurants really close.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairfield Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are taking steps to correct the deficiencies that you noted. I am sorry that your visit with us failed to live up to expectations but hope that we are able to provide a better experience for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Clean room, friendly staff and good location. Gym was small, but works. Complimentary breakfast had many choices, including some options for my vegan life style. Would recommend for anyone who needs to be across from SUNY or not far from down town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bought this hotel through hotwire so cannot complain about price at all. It is just your average hotel for staying in for a fly-by night. Nothing to fancy but its not terrible. The hotel staff was nice and there is breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you, we truly appreciate your feedback. Your feedback helps us work at delivering fantastic service as well as providing you with a clean room and simply satisfaied. Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've stayed at many Fairfield Inns and they are pretty consistent, this one was no exception. The price was right, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was adequate, pool was decent, parking was ample. It's tough to write a detailed review because nothing really jumps out at you, good or bad. The telltale sign is that I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I returned to Albany.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlympicMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for the “Four” Star review, we truly appreciate your feedback.
As always, we take pride in providing excellent service and strive to exemplify Marriott’s culture. Our staff can’t wait to see you on your next so they can show you what excellent service is all about, it may even give you something else to write about. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn for 1 night. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and better than other chain hotels offerings. The room was large, fairly clean, and the bed was comfortable. I wish the indoor swimming pool was larger, it isn't large enough to swim laps in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wehogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we really appreciate it! Feedback such as your helps us improve our product and service for our current and future guests.

As always, we strive for excellent service and hope to exemplify Marriott’s culture. Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us during your next trip to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing