We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, relaxing lodging!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, relaxing lodging!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family in the area. The location adjacent to SUNY Albany is great, with easy access to I-90. And the room was excellent! We have stayed in several Albany hotels previously, and the Courtyard Thruway is by far the best. At check-in, we were told that the room had been recently renovated and it showed. The room was bright, sparkling clean, and very, very quiet (even though the room looked out onto a major road - Washington Avenue!). The bed was very comfortable - had a good night's rest -- and the bathroom was spotless. The lobby is well appointed and the bistro was good for breakfast, although it is a bit expensive. All the staff (front desk, bistro) were excellent and welcoming. Overall - a great stay. We would stay here again when visiting Albany.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor which was nice because there was only one room adjacent. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    84
    19
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
41
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I were in upstate New York for a week-long vacation and stayed here. The staff was terrific in meeting any request we had during a really unpleasant heat wave. The location was convenient, adjacent to the interstate. We found several good eateries in the neighborhood, and many of the venues we wanted to visit were conveniently close. The room was clean and comfortable, even if the bathroom was a little cozy. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed overnight at this hotel two or three times while travelling through the region. We always had a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. We occasionally stop in the Albany area while travelling through and definitely would consider staying here on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nissan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight while traveling north with other family members. They located my requested room close together and everything was clean and neat in the rooms. Even though they had some food options in house, I asked for other local options and was given excellent choices. The staff was welcoming and pleasant in our brief encounters. This hotel met all our family's traveling needs and was a good location on our travel plans. The only thing that would make it better is if there was a complimentary breakfast included as many similar hotels provide for the same overnight price. There were options for food on site which are acceptable but not always the most economical for families. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collegemom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my 2 boys and husband for a lacrosse tournament in Saratoga springs. This was not a bad drive (30 min) for those who want an less expensive rate than closer to Saratoga.
The rooms as, stated in other reviews, were clean and well kept. The bathroom was very small with hardly enough room to open and close the door without hitting the toilet! It was made a bit better because there is a mirror and counter area right outside the bathroom where one person could put makeup on dry hair etc.
The amenities were good but I do not like not having at least a dry cereal/fruit type breakfast included in the price. There was not even complementary coffee which was kind of a bummer. Dunkin donuts is right next door, though. There was also a nice seating area where the parents and kids could congregate and socialize.
Overall, a nice stay and I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenroberts510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only stayed one night, and it was a short visit but the hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We had 2 rooms and they were located together, the pullout couch was very comfortable which wasn't expected but was great for our group. The pool opened early which was nice as we had to leave early but still had a chance to use it. I would stay at the hotel again and recommend it to friends and family staying in Albany.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This Courtyard was recently updated and has all the essentials. It is in a great location right off the interstate. Our room was very nice and spacious. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. Overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaddogg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience, along with contemporary style, at Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway. Our Albany, New York hotel offers a premier location just steps from the University at Albany, SUNY - making us a perfect choice of accommodations for prospective students. Plus, we're close to Times Union Center and The Egg. At our hotel, guests choose from several breakfast and coffee options in The Bistro restaurant to start each day, and they unwind during evenings with cocktails at our bar or a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Courtyard
Albany Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing