We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a good stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have stayed here 3x and had a great experience each time. Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are nice. It's right across the street from SUNY Albany which is convenient since our son goes to SUNY Albany.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    83
    17
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
40
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The rooms were very clean, and the bed linens were very fresh as well. I was very comfortable staying here and slept very well.

There are not tons of stains on the carpet like you might see elsewhere. The bathrooms are very clean. TV is flat screen, and there is a wireless hookup with a desk in the room.

Full-size closet with ironing board, small mini fridge. I had a King Size Bed with a sofa sleeper.

The front desk and managers were extremely nice. Probably one of best customer experiences I've had at a hotel where they make you feel like you should stay one more night.

There is a computer access area and a boarding pass printing station. Workout room and pool as well.

Small restaurant on sight - do not believe the breakfast is free.

Directly across the street from The University of Albany. Dunkin Donuts and Sunoco within the same parking area of the hotel.

Overall - I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I have had great experiences with Marriott's, and the Courtyard Thruway Marriott was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaB490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've stayed at this Marriott twice. It's new-looking, very modern and sleek without being cold or unfriendly. Staff are as pleasant and helpful as Marriott staff always are. A big reason for us to choose Marriott is the quality of the bed and the bedding - it almost guarantees a good night's sleep. For some unfathomable reason, the beds at this hotel are a little higher than usual - I'm 5'5" with long legs, and I could barely get up there. The other issue was the whirlpool - and I book hotels because they have one. The pool area opens early and closes late, which I appreciate. But on Friday I had extra time before going out to dinner, so decided to soak and relax for a few minutes. The key word turned out to be "soak", because the jets in the little tiny jacuzzi (maximum occupancy 3) are so strong, they sprayed and threw water everywhere. I was not quite shoulder-deep, but within a minute, my hair was soaked, and I'd had water thrown into my eyes and my ears! (So much for being ready to go out.) The floor all around the tub was also wet, which could be dangerous.
The next morning we went out for breakfast, as the "Bistro" has a limited menu and serves only Starbuck's coffee. There are a couple of Marriotts very near by, and another under construction. Next time I'll check them out, as the location is ideal for reaching our favorite restaurants, and for getting on the road quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There was plenty of food options close by. Hotel was clean and quiet in spite of location near freeway. This location easy to access from major roads. Renovated interior was nice and food available on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

More expensive than regular marriott across the street and breakfast was much better at regular marriott. I was disappointed by the breakfast at courtyard. It is not buffett and took way too long for the food to come out. If deciding between the 2 i recommend regular marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakabaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here en route to Crane Music Camp for my daughter. Recently renovated hotel was great--close to highway, clean, nicely appointed and well situated for a quick return to travel the next morning. Staff were really pleasant and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Great stop along the way!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysidedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you're in Albany in business or to visit the university this is a fine place to stay. It is close to major highways and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. The fitness club is small but ample. The pool is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckNY352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
444 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience, along with contemporary style, at Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway. Our Albany, New York hotel offers a premier location just steps from the University at Albany, SUNY - making us a perfect choice of accommodations for prospective students. Plus, we're close to Times Union Center and The Egg. At our hotel, guests choose from several breakfast and coffee options in The Bistro restaurant to start each day, and they unwind during evenings with cocktails at our bar or a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Courtyard
Albany Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing