We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Central
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Given the price paid for this hotel, I was disappointed. The room was small by american standards, the whole mattress was swinging every time my partner was moving a bit, there was no water pressure and the breakfast room was too small to accommodate all the guests. There was only 1 tiny shampoo bottle, 1 tiny conditioner bottle and 1 little cream bottle and one small soap. The air conditioning was loud and I assume the heat would be just as loud since it's the same equipement

On the other hand, although we did not use it, there was a nice inside pool and hot tub and well equipped gym. There was a good size flat tv, mini-fridge and microwave in the room. The room was impreccable and clean.

Room Tip: If you don't mind that there is no water pressure for the shower and the heating/air is noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    39
    21
    7
See reviews for
41
41
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just stayed one night en route to Niagara. Checked in really late and asked if we could check out late. The guy at the front desk was very accommodating and let us stay till 2 PM (regular check out is 11 AM). I and my wife were very happy with what we needed most out of our stay - a good night's sleep on excellent beds and pillows, peace and quiet, followed by a relaxing shower in a good-sized bathroom. We were too late for the breakfast, but the girl at the desk gladly gave us some fruit and yogurt. Being half-a-mile from the freeway, the location was also great.

Cleanliness was also good, except for some odor in a corner of the hallway - didn't bother us for more than a few seconds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZimplyZuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Its always a pleasure to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. Next time your in the Albany NY area we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville
Level Contributor
208 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

There are 4 of us so it is a little crowded but all in all it is fine. The floor did not look like it had been vacuumed (my wife noticed:>)). Everything else seems okay. Breakfast is not too bad for this type of hotel offering. It had pretty quick access to the interstate. An affordable acceptable play to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the floor not being vacuumed to your expectations. We are addressing this issue with our staff, so this type of thing does not happen again. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

we have been here before and just like to come back here the staff are very helpful and will try to help you in any way the rooms are ok and if you like quiet pick the back side they have a pool but it small they also have a very good breakfast the area is a little out of the way but there are a few things around so it's not a bad place so give it a try

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Quality Inn Albany NY and taking the time to review our hotel. We are especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff was very helpful. We hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

In Albany, New York for one night and we chose to stay at this hotel. Arriving around 5:30, we signed in at the desk. Clerk was efficient but seemed like he was reading a script. Went to our room and was greeted with a crumpled pillowcase left on the bed. Turned on the A/C unit and rested for a while before dinner. Took a while to cool the room, but it did eventually do the job. Rest of the stay was uneventful, bed was very comfortable and room had a nice shower - plenty of hot water. Did not have the complimentary breakfast as we had other plans, but it looked ok. Overall, this Quality Inn was nothing fancy, but served its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improvements. Should your plans bring you back to Albany, we hope you give us another chance.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Normally, this is a decent motel for the money. My wife and I have stayed there many times. With that being said my son and I chose this motel this year. I made the reservations via an agent with Choice Hotels. On our last day at the motel,we were asked to vacate the room early so that they could accomodate a group of people. All we got was an apology and no aid in perhaps setting us up in another Choice Hotel in the area. Not even a telephone number to call. No offer of another room. I will not be staying at any Choice Hotel in future trips!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We take your concerns with the utmost of seriousness. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your last visit. Management has spoken with the front desk so this issue never occurs again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

What should've been a great family and golf trip turned into a nightmare when the reservation desk completely screwed up our room. My father booked for three nights June 18-21 to visit my two uncles, friends and some golf. It was supposed to be two paid nights and one free night with rewards points my dad accumulated. The lady who checked us in June 18 said she only had us booked for two nights and instructed us to check out Friday and they would "check us back in." Problem was out room belongs to a block of rooms another group had also booked. So basically we got evicted from the room since the clerk on Saturday said "she shouldn't have done that." No offer to move us to another room or make amends. No offer to use our rewards for the second night or put us up elsewhere. The guy essentially shrugged his shoulders. Major inconvenience. On top of it the guy workin the desk Friday suggested the room attendants could move our stuff if another room opened. Who in their right mind would allow some strangers to handle our clothes, our valuables and our belongings? We had a MacBook computer, chargers and two sets of clothes. We had to grab all of our stuff in a hurry since our uncle was waiting for us in the lobby and we weren't returning till after 8 pm. If you must stay here, don't fall for his bait and switch routine. Better yet, don't stay here period. This whole area of Colonie has become severely blighted with all the closed businesses. The hotel itself sits behind an old steak house that went belly up. Weeds everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSmith29579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Central, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
MSmith29579,

I am so sorry for the experience you encountered. We will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#20 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Central

Property: Quality Inn Central
Address: 1632 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Rooms Fall 2012. Complementary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet featuring create your own waffles, eggs, sausage or bacon. Less than 5 minutes to Wolf Road Albany. Indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi & Fitness center . All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, flat screens TV’s, coffee makers, hair dryers and iron/ boards. Located in the heart of Albany NY's shopping, entertainment and restaurant district. Delmonico's, Smokey Bones, Cheesecake Factory, P.F Changs, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Macaroni Grill all minutes away! Complimentary Airport Shuttle to Albany International Airport. Conveniently located off of Interstate 87 & 90. Why pay more, we have it all!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Inn Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Central Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing