We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Busan Hotel”
Review of Elysee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysee Motel
Ranked #3 of 561 Busan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had book this property months ago based on the reviews I had seen here. It is by far the best hotel I had ever been!

The owner, Mr Son, answers my questions before I even got there. He will send you very clear directions on how to find the hotel. Location of the hotel is very strategic, just a few minutes from Lotte mall, from Nampo train station, Jagalchi market, banks, BIFF and just on the foot of the park!

Mr Son also had given many useful tips and maps! I am so grateful for his help!

The Hotel itself is STELLAR. He just finished renovating the rooms and I got to experienced both the Deluxe room and the standard room. It got all the amenities you will need and more (think SAUNA, bath tub, and Jacuzzi (for deluxe). On top of it, you got a very stable wifi, desktop computers cable TV, hair dryer, spacious bed and Ref! There Is even a water dispenser on every floor so you need not to worry on your water (plus there are 2 bottled water in the ref, and 3 juices.. FREE!)

Also, the towels are bath towels,.. not "face towels" that some hotel provides..

You will get your money's worth on this hotel. This is truly the No.1 Hotel in Busan!

Room Tip: it has elevators so evenif you got heavy luggage, no need to fret over it. PLUS, even if you check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have to echo the comments of all the other reviewers that the owner is very helpful and the location is excellent. I booked the deluxe room after the recent renovations which made it even better.

The owner really does his best to provide the best value for the low price that he charges for the room rate. The room is huge, furnished with a double bed and equipped with a large flat screen TV, computer, mini fridge stocked with free bottles of water and fruit juice. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and sauna function which regrettably I did not try. Toiletries which included toothpaste are provided.

The location is just next to Yongdusan park and within walking distance of the Nampodong subway station, Jalgalchi fish market and the shops, street food and local markets at Nampodong. We also took a short and convenient cab ride to Gamcheon culture village. By subway, further locations such as Haeundae and Spa Land at Centum City were all easily accessible.

We got to the motel by KTX from Seoul (there by first class and back on standard - note that the difference is only in the slightly wider seat space with more leg room and not worth the price difference) and then taking a cab from Busan station. The driver could only speak Korean and did not know the address, so you may want to keep the phone number of the motel ready so that the owner can give the driver directions over the phone.

The owner also gave us on request some good food recommendations with clear mini maps and photos to minimize the chances of losing your way finding the small eateries. I particularly liked the pork gukbap at a local eatery that he recommended. He understands the guests' way of thinking and goes out of his way to ensure that your needs are met, eg. offering an umbrella when it was raining, giving us a lift to the station and checking every time we bumped into him to see if we needed anything else.

This motel is great value for the price. Booking was a breeze by exchanging emails with the owner in English. I would recommend it not just for the budget-conscious, as it gives you a great opportunity to experience local food and local life. I titled this review the Star of Busan because the owner really takes pride in his motel and provides great hospitality which makes the stay of travellers in Busan more memorable.

Please go with realistic expectations matching with the very reasonable price and you will be awed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Went there for 3 days 2 night trip with friend. Owner, Mr Son, is a very kind person and he can speaks very good english. He points out interesting places around the area in a map for us. Also, the hotel is located nearby to busan tower. Mr. Son will attach a map to the motel along with confirmation email.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were supposed to stay at Elysee Motel on 20th February 2014. The owner Mr Son has emailed me regarding the renovation of his hotel. However I misunderstood the situation and thought we still can stay in the hotel during renovation. Silly me.. Thankfully, Mr Son offered to take us to another hotel and even help us with the check in process. Before leaving us, he pointed all the places of interest in Busan. He was very helpful marking all the places on the map, noting down the transportation we should take and even the operating hour of some places. Most of all, we were very thankful that he help us booked a jumbo taxi to the airport for our departure the next day. Overall, although it was unfortunate that we did not stay at the hotel, thumbs up to the owner for his service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank likasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went to Pusan on February 16 and booked three rooms at Elysee Motel, before our departure from Hong Kong, we received the motel was under renovation, they transfer us to another hotel near by the Pusan Station.

Mr Son, the owner of Elysee Motel afraid we could not find the hotel, he's so nice to wait us at the Pusan station and brought us to the new hotel.

Although we had not stay at Elysee Motel during the trip, but we believe we will have a nice stay there next time when we go to Pusan again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hahaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very helpful and excellent English speaking owner. I like the illuminating ceiling wall just above our bed......reminds me of childhood. Bathroom are big with a twin jacuzzi, a wonderful place for lovers and newly wed. Room are equipped with a personal computer. Very near to Busan Park esp the Busan tower. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigWWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This small hotel or guesthouse offers reasonable rates, a good location, good room, and especially useful for western tourist -- an english speaking host. We took a cab ride from the airport which costs less than $20 US and entered through the garage into small hotel. Its just above the more well known Tower Hotel. The room was fine, a bit old, but maintained well. The heating comes from the floor and we chose to sleep on the tatami on the floor. Koreans must be pretty tough because the floor is hard tile and the tatami is pretty thin so keep that in mind if you go for that type of bedding. Everything was clean and in good order. The floor has hot spots so you have to be careful where you walk as it can get really hot to your feet or body during sleeping. Place had a great shower with jets shooting water from above and the side (if you chose) and included a great steam vent. This was all welcome after many hours of touring in the cold Busan winter. The host gave a map and a basic review of the local area and recommendations for local restaurants, all of which were very useful and accurate. We liked the location which was in a quiet corner of the tourist district with plenty of local restaurants and mini marts etc. within 2 minutes walk and the main shopping and tourist district about 10 minutes walk away. There is a Tom and Tom's Coffee shop if you must have Western style (i.e. chairs and expensive food and drink). We spent 3 quiet and restful nights at Elysee and did not encounter anything negative, except maybe the hotspots on the floor. Based on our last conversation with the host the place is now being renovated (as of Jan 10 2014 or so) so that may affect booking in the short term. While this place is practically invisible from the street, its rooms are tidy and inexpensive. We would return there.

Room Tip: Sleeping on mats on the floor offers warmth but pretty darn hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.3 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#6 of 156 in Busan
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#25 of 156 in Busan
168 reviews
4.5 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#33 of 156 in Busan
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noah
Hotel Noah
#20 of 156 in Busan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Motel

Address: 22, Daecheong-ro 126beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in Busan
Price Range: £33 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elysee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel Busan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing