We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique location by the sea but try to avoid the crowds”

Haedong Yonggung Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.00*
and up
Full-Day Busan City Tour
Ranked #7 of 215 things to do in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A unique location by the sea but try to avoid the crowds”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is my second visit but it pales in comparison to my first visit 6 years ago. Although it was a Monday, the place was full of visitors and so did not exude the nice quiet charm I experienced during my first visit. It has also become very commercialised with lots of vendors and for convenience even a taxi stand. I recalled that on my first visit, I regretted letting my cab go off as I had a tough time getting a cab to leave. Anyway, the place is still pretty special and scenic so it's certainly worthwhile to visit when you are in Busan.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    543
    180
    36
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
190 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A unique and nice temple to visit”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This unusual temple is worth visiting. This temple is a place that is so unique that is different from others that I visited. As they proclaim, it is indeed mysterious providences and unpredictable competences to the mankind.

Getting there is a bit difficult. Can transfer to cab from Jangsan or Haeundae sub station which is cheaper.

Note: be prepare to walk a bit and walking up the stair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rayswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique Temple besides the sea”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Haedong Yonggung Temple is a temple that worth to visit if you come to Busan. The temple built besides the sea and you really can feel the peace when you travel to this temple. Just get ready to do some walking before you can reach the temple, if you are going by bus, you will have to walk about 10 min from the bus station to the temple. Lots of local hawker foods selling the foods or their souvenir before entering the Temple. You need to walk for many stairs to reach the temple which located on the rock besides the seas. This is a good place for you to to take nice photos and rest your mind.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank autumnjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This temple is worth a visit when you are in Busan. The temple compound is not very big but very charming. You cannot find many temple sited so near to the sea. A place where you can take many nice pictures. There is a comfortable resting area where you can enjoy a ice cream stick and view the sea.

To reach there by public transport. Take subway to Haeundae subway station -> out from Exit 7 -> Take bus 181 from the bus stop just in front you. Please note: Bus no. "181" is only shown at the back of the Bus number panel (both faces of the panel are showing different numbers). The stop is actually a bus stand along the road, without shelter.
There is only announcement for the next stop in Korean on the bus but if you listen carefully, it will hear the word "Yonggung-sa". Then, you will need to walk about 10 min to reach the temple.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Guesswhat229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique temple one should visit”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

To start with, I am from a country where temples are everywhere. So I did not have high expectation before visiting. However, because of its high ranking in tripadvisor, we decided to pay a visit.
It's pretty far from the city. You can take bus if you want to experience the locals (which we did). Or you can simply take a cab or join one of local tour buses.
The temple itself is nothing out of ordinary, however, its uniqueness comes from its location - it sits on the cliff facing the ocean. You probably will end of taking more photos from the sea view instead of the temple itself.
Overall, it is a refreshing experience. One should consider scheduling half a day to visit here while in Busan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haedong Yonggung Temple also viewed

 

Been to Haedong Yonggung Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing