We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rackem in rackem out”

Haedong Yonggung Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.00*
and up
Full-Day Busan City Tour
Ranked #7 of 215 things to do in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
709 reviews
466 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Rackem in rackem out”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In all my travels I have yet to witness a more blatant display of explortation of a religious site, the guests were on a mission to be entertained at any cost. I believe it was a beautiful place , probably best seen when the hoards have gone home, the hoards did include us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    521
    172
    36
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A must see in Busan”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A beautiful temple by the sea. The location of the temple makes it a must see place in Busan. There are several buildings and statues. Many people are visiting this place daily!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous sights, worth the track out there. Try to go at a time you think would be considered less busy if you can...sometimes it's a tad crowded. I went numerous times while living in Busan and it's the first thing I recommend to tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Worth a visit. A temple by the sea.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Firstly, how to go there?

Take the Metro to Haeundae Station and follow Exit 7. Next to the exit, there is bus stop. Take bus service 181.

Don't have to worry about where to get down. Let's the bus going twist an turn in the city until it passes the tunnel, you will have to prepare yourself to get down in about 15 minutes. Wait till you see the sea (there will be two small light houses), you will have to get down in 5 minutes.

When the bus comes to a larger green road sign board with indication of the temple in brown, that is where you get down. To be sure, ask the driver to remind you. There are likely visitors to the same place too so just follow the crowd down the bus, walk backwards, turn left and take the long slope up about 500 meters to the car park and on to the temple ground. Once you are there, you will know what I mean by worth the visit. Just fantastic sight. I like it very much.

I think it is a must-see in Busan but you must be prepare to walk. If you cannot walk, suggest you take a cab there from Haeundae.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yapahloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On a 12 day whistle stop tour of Korea with my son (who lives there), we planned as we went alone. This place was a Busan "must see" and it was worth the short bus ride and 10 minute or so trek from the bus stop. Before you get to the temple, there is a small market selling food and souvenirs. After this, you pass several statues and a pagoda for road traffic safety. Yes really. And people bowed and prayed to this!
Passing through a stone tunnel and down some steps you come accross a beautiful temple built into the cliffs. We were there early evening, just before closing, on a week day and it was not too busy. The monk chanting was played on a loudspeaker and added to the serenity and atmosphere of this lovely place.
I don't think it looked very wheelchair or disabled friendly. There were lots of steps and narrow walkways - so only really accessible for fit/ able bodied.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank purplevonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haedong Yonggung Temple also viewed

 

Been to Haedong Yonggung Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing