We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but they need to clean the bathrooms!”
Review of Hello Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hello Guesthouse
Ranked #100 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Pros:
If it weren't for the bathrooms, I would give this hostel 4 or even 5 stars. The location is great, close to the subway, beach, and lots of bars/restaurants. The employees are very friendly and helpful. The kitchen, common area, and dorm room were all clean (for the most part) with nice/modern furnishings. The first night we had a six bed dorm to ourselves which was awesome. They provide you with a small locker (with lock) for storing valuables which is a plus. They also supply shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower rooms and provide you with a towel (although it is a hand towel so bring a full-sized towel if you prefer) and slippers. Free breakfast (coffee, bread, eggs, butter, jam) and free wifi were great.

Cons:
Both the women's toilet room and the shower rooms were very dirty, cold, and smelly (sort of a mix between mildew and a hair salon?). In the toilet room, there were no lights over the toilet so it was very dark at night, sometimes they were out of toilet paper (like at 7:30am when there's no one at the reception desk for me to tell), the floor is covered in dust and dirt, and there was water and hair all over the sinks along with like 10 toothbrushes sitting in dingy holders on the counter. The shower room was just as dirty. Bring your own shower shoes as the ones in there were slimy!
They have a really cute resident bunny but its area really needed to be cleaned; there was so much poop and pee in the tiny space. There was a drawer under our bunk bed for storing belongings but it had dust and hair inside so I didn't use it. The room was very stuffy and when I went to the bathroom and came back in the morning I could barely breathe because of the bad alcohol/body odor smell in the room. The walls were thin so if you want to go to sleep before midnight it may be difficult. The beds were very "creaky"; you could hear every toss and turn of the person above you. It would be nice if they provided paper towels or napkins with breakfast.

It might sound like I'm very picky but I'm not. I have traveled extensively and usually stay in hostels or budget hotels (read my many reviews on here). However, cleanliness is very important to me and this is why I could only give Hello Guesthouse three stars. I think the hostel has the potential to be a great place to stay. Just clean the bathrooms thoroughly and often!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

I would highly recommend Hello. The staff was very friendly, the location was a 10 minute walk from Haeundae Station and the beach and restaurants are very nearby. It was very clean and modern.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Bo-young K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm room for 1 night. The hostel has a great location in Haeundae and is about a 10 minute walk to Haeundae train station and about 10 minutes or less to the beach. The hostel was constructed in June 2011 but there are aspects of it that certainly don't come off as just built.

It was a comfortable nights stay with enthusiastic hosts which didn't speak much english, but with the help of some long term guests it all went smoothly. The stairwell that led up to the hostel was run down and could do with some cleaning up. The lounge is large and nicely decorated with lots of space to socialize and mingle along with a large screen tv and two computer stations with free wifi. But as the rooms enter directly into the lounge it can be noisy at night if others are using the lounge. The kitchen space has all the neccesities but two stove tops for the whole hostel wasn't sufficient at times especially during breakfast.

The bathrooms had all the necessities and were reasonably clean although the weren't heated as such so they were rather cold in the mornings. The showers had all body soap, shampoo and conditioners provided but the water pressure was a bit disappointing compared to the other hostels.


Pros:
Great location with convenience stores, restaurants, beach, and nightlife close by.
Newish areas such as the lounge and bedrooms.
Good facilities e.g. wifi, breakfast (eggs, toast, coffee), cable tv, lounge area.
Helpful staff

Cons:
Bathroom, showers, kitchen, and entrance could do with some improvement.
Can be noisy at night if you sleep early i.e. before 12.
Breakfast only starts from 9am which is awkward if you want to go out before then

Overall it was a decent place to stay with comfortable and clean beds. There are areas that need to be improved on in terms of the environment, but the staff are very enthusiastic and happy to lend a hand as much as they can.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room that is further from the lounge if you want less disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed in their dorm room for 2 nights, I appraciate their enthusiastic korean hospitality, however, they seem party everyday til very late so I am a little bit tired of involving. Dorm room is comfortable and shower room is modern. This hostel is new in Busan so you expect everything is new! Room rate is a little bit high as it consider to be luxury dorm. check out time 11am which is clearly listed on the board. I have been charged for 1000 won more for 15 mins late, so becareful. Luggage store for 2 days is 2000 won, so be noted again! Overall, it is a nice guesthouse but they have still alot of space to improve.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stepped out of my comfort zone to stay at the Hello Guesthouse. I usually like a room to myself when travelling solo. I usually like a room with a bathroom in it. But people spoke so highly of the Hello Guesthouse and the pictures looked good, so I decided to give it a try. I was glad I did. The rooms looked exactly like the pictures - clean and attractively decorated. The living room was also clean and comfortable and well furnished. The common areas were thoroughly cleaned daily. The managers, Nicole and Sue, were friendly and helpful and they spoke fluent English. They advertised that it was a short walk to the beach and it was - about 5 minutes. It's also a short walk to the subway. It's surrounded by places to eat of every kind and price level. They have a self-serve breakfast of toast wth butter and jam, eggs and coffee. There's a nice flat screen tv in the living room. There are two computers that you can use free of charge. Laundry can be done and air dried on the roof for 1000 won. I was very, very pleased with this place.

Now for the cons - unfortunately, there were a few (very few)
1) They don't take credit cards and they don't tell you before you get there.

2) The 4 person rooms are too small for 4 persons. There are 2 bunkbeds in a space for 2 people (imho) Fortunately, there were only 2 of us for a while and 3 on the last day and we were rarely moving around at the same time.

3) They could use some hooks on the wall. There's nowhere to hang anything except the bunk beds.

4) It's located above a restaurant/bar/lounge. If you're a light sleeper you may be bothered by late night talking and laughing. I wasn't. I'm just informing.

However, none of the cons would keep me from staying at this clean, lovely, affordable, close to the beach hostel again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0vejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank kizuku2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Laktatjakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.3 mi away
Pobi Guesthouse
Pobi Guesthouse
#7 of 204 in Busan
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jamjari Motel
#105 of 561 in Busan
1 reviews
5.5 mi away
Residence Mumum
Residence Mumum
#11 of 204 in Busan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elly Guest House
Elly Guest House
#97 of 204 in Busan
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
We Guest House
We Guest House
#33 of 204 in Busan
19 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Backpackers Hostel
Blue Backpackers Hostel
#20 of 204 in Busan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Guesthouse

Address: 39, Gunam-ro 24beon-gil, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48094, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Price Range: £12 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hello Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hello Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing