We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to stay if you don't have to be downtown.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Ambassador Busan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Busan
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Where to stay if you don't have to be downtown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I've been staying in this hotel since 1990, when it was called the Hyatt. The location is excellent being right on the beach in Haeundae.

The rooms are clean and quite spacious, but all the fittings are from before 1990 and could do with being replaced.

Staff are very courteous and efficient. The room service food is OK, but double the price you would pay in an outside restaurant of which there are many.

It's a great place to stay of you have a spare day or over a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareastender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Ambaasa... B, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Busan, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Guest

Greetings from Novotel Ambassador Busan.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Ambassador Busan. We are very happy to hear that you’ve been stayed several times in our hotel and you satisfied with assistance from our staffs.

As you surely know, our hotel is located in the middle of Haeundae beach which is most popular and beautiful beach in South Korea. I shared this feedback with our staffs and it will serve as encouragement for improving services of staffs.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    341
    150
    32
    19
See reviews for
170
162
57
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed here briefly for one night while in Busan. I thought the rooms were very spacious and clean. The lobby opens up to a large dining area overlooking the water, and the hotel is in beautiful condition. We got in late and they accomodated us with a lowered rate and got us all rooms. We were in a group of 10. The only negative is that the street below the hotel can be quite busy, so try not to stay in a room that overlooks the road unless you want to hear the noises at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scratchpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Ambaasa... B, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Busan, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest

Greetings from Novotel Ambassador Busan.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Ambassador Busan. We are am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel as a whole but the one thing that you didn’t meet your expectation is noise from street, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

It has hardly ever happened when consulting trip-advisor, but for this hotel I really made a mistake following the advice of my fellow-travelers.

I booked the hotel for a family of four. We could only book one room, an expensive 400 dollar per-night suite which accommodates two adults and two children, according to our internet booking confirmation, as well as breakfast for all (children were free). When we arrived from the Busan Gimhae airport at the hotel, we found out that hospitality is not a trade mark of Novotel. The lonely planet guide already had warned us: “this hotel could benefit from a customer-staff relations course” I quote. What an understatement!

First, the two parents were offered to take their free breakfast at the executive lounge, and for the kids—nothing was supplied. Harsh negotiations (un-Korean style) with the hotel manager, pointing at the terms of agreement in the internet booking, resulted in two breakfast coupons, which could be consumed by the children only downstairs while the parent had their breakfast at the executive lounge. How un-Korean!

Second, when we arrived in the 400 dollar suite which accommodates two parents and their children according to our booking), we found only one bed. Novotel accommodation is to sleep on the bare floor, the hotel manager explained. Only if we paid 100 dollars on top of our 400 dollars per-night rate, the hotel manager was so kind as to provide one extra bed and a futon. This was hotel policy and he would not deviate. How un-Korean! Of course, when travelling with kids from a busy airport … you have to accept. But we’re now swamped into a formal complaint at accor hotels (the chain) we need to file to get our money back.

Third, our booking form informed us that children below the age of 14 are not allowed at the executive lounge. Our well-educated and well-dressed daughter of 14, however, was refused entrance because the hotel manager raised the age to 17. Hotel policy, again. How lucky was our daughter! In the evening, I entered the executive lounge, which was filled with drunken German business men, still filling up with bottles of wine. And getting pretty noisy and awkward. As you might have expected, hotel staff were accepting this. Policy?

The hotel location is great, the suite was excellent. But, despite their advertisement, this is not a hotel you want to confront your children with. I bet for business men, a beach location with many scarcely dressed young men and women is inspiring. But for kids …… no way.

I talked to a Korean friend I met later, and he advised Paradise as the best Haeundae hotel. But I bet the drunken German business men have written an excellent review on tripadvisor. We will never come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank all2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Novotel is on Haeundae Beach in Busan. It's close to shopping and lots of restaurant choices, in addition to the ones in the hotel. We ate at the Pizza and Pasta restaurant and found the food and service to be really good. Even though we didn't have an ocean view, we had a great city view with the design of the hotel giving every room a corner appearance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Ambaasa... B, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Busan, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest

Greetings from Novotel Ambassador Busan.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Ambassador Busan. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel as a whole.

As you surely know, our hotel is ideally located in the middle of the Haeundae Beach which is most popular and beautiful beach in South Korea. Furthermore there are variety kinds of shopping venues and restaurants nearby hotel.

At Novotel Busan, even if you couldn’t stay at the ocean view room, there are many places where guest can enjoy great ocean view such as executive lounge, gym, and restaurants.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great location on the beach and near enough to shops and restaurants. Most of the hotel rooms face the beach and for a tropical guy like me, it was unusual to see people on the beach but all covered in thick jackets and cold-weather wear. But it was February.

The breakfast selection was excellent with a good balance between Korean and western options. The double-height windows of the cafe provided a great view.

Service was up to the usual excellent Korean standard and ever willing to please.

The subway station is a short 10-minute walk north of the hotel, which will get you into the city.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Ambaasa... B, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Busan, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest

Greetings from Novotel Ambassador Busan.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Ambassador Busan. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our beachfront location and breakfast.

As you surely know, our hotel is not only located in the middle of the Haeundae Beach but also
there are shops, restaurants nearby hotel. Furthermore subway station ‘Haeundae’ is within walking distance and it takes you everywhere in the city.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

First, crews were indifferent to guests.
Second, breakfast at the Seascape restaurant was terrible. Even a cup of coffee was not served there. Can you imagine?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Ambaasa... B, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Busan, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest

Greetings from Novotel Ambassador Busan.

Thank you for taking time to tell us your experience at Novotel Ambassador Busan. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel Busan, we strive to provide a superior experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We shared your feedback with our staffs and we will more concentrate to improve service quality.

Regarding the coffee in the buffet restaurant, coffee machine is set in the dessert corner in the middle of buffet restaurant by guest’s request.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.3 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
0.4 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#5 of 134 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 134 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 134 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
0.7 mi away
The Westin Chosun Busan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Busan

Property: Novotel Ambassador Busan
Address: 292, Haeundaehaebyeon-ro, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48099, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#6 Spa Hotel in Busan
#6 Business Hotel in Busan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Busan 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ambassador Busan is in the second largest city in South Korea, right on the spectacular Haeundae Beach, the most famous in the country. This 5 star hotel is perfect for business trips and holidays with a wide range of conference and leisure facilities. Most of our 330 rooms have breathtaking ocean views, while our three restaurants offer delicious food and drinks in a relaxing atmosphere. Guests can also enjoy our indoor pool, health club and sauna with natural hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Busan Hotel Busan
Accor Ambassador Busan
Novotel Busan
Busan Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing