We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small pool .. But the sea is outside..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Busan
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small pool .. But the sea is outside..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Reasonable stay here. The whole hotel feels just a little tired and slightly out dated but generally good enough.

Business lounge functions well, although some over enthusiastic time keeping about when it was open: precisely..

Good breakfast of mixed styles

Pool a little on the small side. , but there is the sea just outside.

After a walk on the beech, I loved the jet hoses to wash off the sand!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    252
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
165
135
50
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Before my stay I read loads of reviews on trip advisor and other booking websites, so if you've done the same, what you've read is basically what you can expect.

We stayed one night (sat) in room 729 (on the Execuitve floor) and since the previous day was South Korea's Liberation Day we paid premium for the Executive Beach view room. Also the hotel was at full occupancy so we were unable to get early check-in. They did let us have late check out at 1pm though which was nice.

The Beach view was superb. The room itself didn't feel like a 5 star hotel, especially the toilet. Walls are paper thin, you can hear people talking in the corridors and I could hear the couple in the next room snoring and their breathing noises! There was an event on the beach lasting until midnight-ish and I could hear it from the room.

I was especially upset that there were no Aveda toiletries available, despite it being mentioned in the SPG app.

As mentioned by others, you can only use 2 Nespresso pods or you are charged an additional 2,000 won which does seem like a cheapo tactic since 1 Nesprosso pod doesn't provide much coffee. The tea selections in the Executive lounge are much nicer so I mostly drank my tea there.

I used the sauna twice during my stay and went to the Executive lounge for afternoon snack (11am-5pm), Happy Hour cocktail (6-8pm) and Breakfast (6am-10am). Do go to the sauna as the water is specially pumped salt water. The afternoon snack selections were meh, 1 brownie and chocolate muffin and cookies (which were a little soft having been exposed to air all afternoon by 4pm). Cocktail selections were better and I was pretty pleased with Breakfast. I have lived in Seoul for over a year now so I am always pleased when I get a decent Western style breakfast that doesn't require travelling all the way to Gangnam for.

You can see the beach from the Women's sauna room and the Executive lounge, so even though I didn't go out to the beach much I got more than my fair share of the view. I was accompanying my sister who was there to attend an event on Haeundae Beach. She went to the beach, I stayed in the hotel and enjoyed the facilities!

Besides front desk, staff at the hotel don't speak much English. I asked a guy at Concierge where the nearest Convenience store was and he asked if I could speak Korean. That's still ok for me since I have some Korean ability, but just be prepared.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shopgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Despite the hotel location is very good, the shower room is very small in consideration of the very high room rate paid !

Room Tip: The sea view is much better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidYangHIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to improve our service. We will do our best to fulfill each one of our guest’s expectations. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Check in was smooth and the staff attire is very informal from the usual westin suite attire. Stay at the executive floor and my the rooms are small and the bathroom is unusually small. Old property but some refurbishment done. The staff at the concierge especially Grace and Vanessa was superb. Both of them displayed wonderful customer service, always smiling and ready to assist. The executive lounge is one of the smallest I have ever seen which is always crowded and packed during breakfast and cocktails. When the lounge is packed,luckily Grace who was on duty had the initiative to send us down to Camelia for breakfast instead of making us wait in line for our turn at the lounge. Kudos to her. Thank you Vanessa for arranging the fun activity programme which is carried out by Westin Chosun Busan entertainment team which is so much fun and we had a good guide Juliet as we joined the Night View Tour. Don't forget to try their Korean restaurant Sheobul which servers up fantastic Korean meals. Will definitely stay here and also recommend to my friends despite the short-fall of small bathrooms, packed executive lounge. Putting this aside its a great property and most important wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on the service provided by our associates. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The faults in the hotel are due to the old design. There are no connecting rooms for families. The bathrooms are tiny - like a cruise ship but neat and clean. The rooms are renovated but not enough. The curtains don't cover the window properly and let in a lot of light. Management needs to change the curtains to proper blackouts that fit the window and seal out the light.
Concierge was helpful but reception and check in were staff were not.
On the plus side there is a good view of the beach and easy access to the sand. The 'island' next to the hotel has a pretty seaside walk round it to the APEC house. The beach has coarse grainy sand that gives way easily near the hotel but is firmer towards the center of the beach.
Hotel restaurants are expensive. Next door there is a new building by the marina with Western and Korean food. Nearby beach hotels are just as pricey and the street behind the beach hotels is sleazy and mainly night clubs. Alternatively take a taxi to Centum City to eat.
Overall Haeundae isn't the most beautiful beach. The buildings spoil the scenery. The Westin has the best setting on the beach itself. Just be warned the hotel is dated. If you aren't there for the beach a newer property like the Hyatt might be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to improve our service. We will do our best to fulfill each one of our guest’s expectations. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Westin Chosun Beach Hotel in Busan dominates the Haeundae Beach district, with its imposing structure looming over the west end of the beach. The lobby is inviting, with lots of seating area in front of the reception counter that easily holds a tour group while waiting for their tour guide to finish check-in processes. Room key cards are similarly high tech – you tapped on the elevator touch pad and your floor automatically lighted; you gave your key at the breakfast outlet Camellia and they swiped it to know your room number. Though I was surprised that they had to give you complimentary breakfast stubs to surrender – that could easily be built into the system.

The rooms are slightly smaller than those of Westin Chosun Seoul which it wants to compare itself with, at least in the online ads – the bedroom and work area might be the same but having just used Westin Chosun Seoul, its bathroom and cabinet space are definitely smaller and the large sofa gave way to a one-seater. But the bed, work desk, and other furniture are similarly modern in style. The LCD TV is smaller, older and of unknown make (Seoul’s was a larger Samsung). The bathroom weighing scale was an old model – not the glass-chrome hi-tech version in Seoul’s. The coffee and water etc. amenities are similar. But they had less toiletry amenities – no hairbrush, razor, or toothbrush unlike Westin Seoul.

It’s Beach Athletic Club is equally as impressive as Seoul’s Fitness Centre though the sauna had a charge. To go out to the beach, you simply went down to the lower lobby and the back entrance led you straight to the beach. No other hotel had that advantage. Haeundae Beach is very well-developed – it had its own walking path so you could “walk along the beach” without actually walking on sand, the Busan Aquarium was located along the “boardwalk”, and there were so many impressive toilet and shower facilities, amazing for a public beach. On the day we walked, they were setting up a giant screen, presumably for the public to watch the Korea vs. Russia World Cup qualifying match.

Camellia, the breakfast place, was impressive in the sense that if you got there early, they gave you one of the tables near the floor to ceiling windows that looked out to the beach – a fantastic view in the morning. Food choice was ok, not great – for example, there were only four types of juices, I didn’t see noodles, dimsum selection was very limited – but they had great hotel-made yoghurt. And coffee was self-serve – the waiters didn't ask then serve to you.

If you weren’t part of a private tour or group tour with your own transportation arrangement, the Westin Chosun Busan’s location may put you off – it’s just too far from Busan’s “historical” Jung-gu center – that includes Yongdusan Park, Busan Tower, Gukje shopping district, BIFF etc. But – if you’ve got a bus or van at your disposal, the location is perfect in the sense that behind the hotel is the Dongbaek
island” (really a peninsula) with great cliffside walking paths, a serene park-shrine to esteemed philosopher Choi Chiwon, the statue of the mermaid Princess Hwang, a cute suspension bridge, and the APEC House, site of the 2005 APEC conference. It deserves to be a major tourist attraction in itself.

Westin Chosun Busan is that close to matching its big brother in Seoul. It just has to work on a few more things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and great photos.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel location and the services. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

...instead, be prepared to listen to the sound of a air hoses spraying sand from people's feet 24 hours a day which are located at the base of rooms facing Haeundae Beach. What otherwise is a very nice hotel, with great service, and a nice location...I did not expect listening to such an annoyance virtually 24 hours a day. I do not know how it is that this hotel finds it acceptable to disrupt the peace of crashing waves that its guests come here to listen to in preference of annoying its guests with the sounds of air hoses all day and night, cleaning the feet of people that are not even guests of the hotel. I certainly cannot recommend a hotel that fails to honor the peace and quiet of its guests in exchange for clean feet of random walkers by,

Room Tip: If you would like to listen to air hoses 24 hours a day, chose a room facing Haeundae Beach, otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered from the air hose noise, and your comments have been shared with our management team. The correct measures will be taken to prevent any similar occurrence in the near future. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

SJ Park
Director of Rooms
The Westin Chosun Busan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
5.6 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#5 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
0.2 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Busan

Property: The Westin Chosun Busan
Address: 67, Dongbaek-ro, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48100, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#4 Business Hotel in Busan
#5 Family Hotel in Busan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Busan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chosun Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Busan Hotel Busan
Westin Chosun Busan
Westin Busan
Busan Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing