We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in the world EVER!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Hotel Busan
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in the world EVER!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Where should I start?????...........
We arrived with our two kids (3 yrs & 1 yr) excited to jump into the FANTASTIC pool we saw in their web page... HAHAHAHA it was a tiny crowed cold pool. We didn't want that to stop us from enjoying our vacations. Next step get into the pool... we were STOPED by the lifeguard of the hotel and in his really poor English he tried to explain that we couldn't get into the water without a swimming cap (like in every pool in Asia), but no one else had a swimming cap, so why couldn't we!!!
Second big ooppsss!!! The kids took a shower, OH MY GOD, the towels smelled terrible, they stunk so bad, so we asked for cleans ones, their answer was no, because we already had towels in our room.
Third mega oppss!!! Next day we wanted to have breakfast, there was no table available for us, and they kept sitting Asian people first even though we arrived first, We felt discriminated!! My son started to cry and one of the staff members came to us and shouted at my son to be quiet, and that is were my husband had enough. We asked for the mannager, he was nice and the only thing we could say was "I'am sorry" and helped us with our table.
That same day when taking a shower we had AGAIN STINKY towels!!!!
The day we checked out, they wanted to be nice by giving us some presents, a bottle of wine, some chocolates and some blankets for the kids. Of course we did not accept.
Leassons learned, DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL, THEY DON'T TREAT FOREIGNERS NICE, the service is terrible, and it is not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karsmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    258
    50
    10
    10
See reviews for
157
147
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed in the new wing (not renovated since its initial opening), as there were no rooms left in the old wing (renovated few years back).
The rooms were more like a tired- 4 star accomodation. Staffs were not that hospitable.

Ocean-side views were good. Less isolated then Chosun Beach that is similarily tired and expensive.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jihyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We spent one night here after a tour and were impressed with the homepage, their description of the outdoor spa and the hotel overall. Arrived there and were really disappointed with the room not being clean (items left in bathroom and on the floor in the bedroom), we were asked to pay for a 2nd visit to the outdoor pool on the same day. Staff were not very attentive and could hardly understand english. Out of the many "leading hotels of the world" I stayed at, this is definitely the worst ever. Would qualify it as a mediocre 4* Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

This hotel suppose to be one of the best hotel at Busan with Casino. The location and the view is great. However, I'm very disappointed with the swimming pool and the sauna area because it's not very clean and there was a lot of chemicals in the water. The doorman is rude and inpolite. If you need help with the luggages or a taxi, you have to go to them and ask for help. The room is pretty small. I made the reservation online for 3 adults and I got 2 single beds, which I did not know. When I checked it, I was asked to pay extra to get a bigger bed or extra bed. Anyway, staying in this hotel is one of the biggest disappointed experience

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinLeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

I'm more than a bit surprised that the Paradise Hotel is supposed to be a "Leading Hotel of the World." We stayed in the "New Wing," and these rooms were a bit dated. I have to wonder about what the conditions of the Main Wing rooms were.

I had no complaints about the room or the hotel, but nothing was exceptional. It may have made a difference to have a view of the beach, rather than of the city, as we did. The hotel is directly on Haeundae Beach, which was pretty. The restaurant, in the Main Wing, has a great view of the beach. There is also a bakery in the Main Wing.

The feature that made me happiest about this hotel was that a lamp had an American outlet you could use, which was exciting, yet somewhat of a sad comment on the lackluster experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

I stay at the Paradise a few times a year on business/leisure, whenever I visit Busan.
If you are on business expenses....you need not worry. If you are on leisure trip, expect to pay a lot for simply using the hotel, in addition to the room rate. It is nice on the surface but lacks the depth of service and quality you expect from a hotel that purports itself to be luxury. Luxury prices...yes ! Luxury Duty Free....yes. ! Luxurious stay ...hmmmm ! There is not much choice out there though in Busan. This is one of the best hotel options though, but watch what you spend if it comes out of your own pocket.

Leading Hotels of the World ? hmmmmm... this is .....questionable?. It may tick the checklist each year for what is provides in amenities, but as a package and experience, not really worthy for inclusion, without an injection of catering to a more international clientele. This is luxury style hotel offering by the numbers. Nothing more. Scratch the surface and there are the small things (aircon, no concierge all the time, the feeling of being ripped off with the beer, the stale air, limited room TV offering, having to pay for internet in the room) that take the shine off. This hotel thrives on location-location- location.

Location:
The hotel sits right on the beach, which is clean most of the year round. Avoid this beach like the plague in summer, during Korean public holiday 'summer season'. It is too busy and the hotel AirCon is not up to a Korean summer. Stay downtown instead. Winter time, it is nice to walk along the beach in crisp air and clear sunshine.
The back of the hotel (city view) faces the sprawl of Haeundae district of Busan, an unplanned urban quagmire of multi height buildings, thrown up in a short space of time, struggling to see daylight. It is a bit cooler this side though.

Rooms:
There are two wings to the hotel, joined together at various floors. The old wing, and the new wing, although their description of which is which is less clear.
Old wing rooms are well appointed, have everything you need, and have carpets. Windows do not really open much, and if you are facing the ocean in summer of winter, it gets warm...the air conditioning is useless. It is not limited during the summer to save energy costs, and in winter...well because it is winter the assumption is that you will be cold anyway and not want it on, even though the room itself is 'cooking' from the sun shining on it all day from wall to wall windows. Downstairs there is a restaurant.
New wing rooms are more modern and very nice with a boutique feel.(greys/browns and whites). Again...aircon is useless. Downstairs in this wing is a buffet restaurant, lounge bar (expensive) and casino (Foreigners Only.........some things in Korea simply do not seem fair for the local population), as well as night club bar with live music with stale pop corn (tastes like rubber but you cannot stop eating them at that time of night). A good place for some beers after work...with Guiness and others beers and pitchers at a price.
Room TV is your usual CNN/BBC, German, Italian and French news type TV, but little less. Nothing to watch in the evening apart from movies to watch on demand.
If you are travelling with a family, they will put extra beds in the rooms, at a cost, and there are some connectable rooms.
The Executive floor is recommended for those on business who want a small lounge to relax, work and eat breakfast at leisure. There is also computers with internet in the lounge to use.

Restaurants:
New wing - Buffet style and relatively good for a North East Asian hotel. Good Ceasar Salad ...Full of local Korean ladies chatting at lunchtimes trying to impress each other....
There is also an Italian restaurant. By far one of the most expensive restaurants you will eat at. Make a booking if you want to eat there beforehand at again...it gets fill in the evenings on locals wanting to impress. Much of the menu has been Koreanised (as you might expect..this is Korea after all...nothing wrong with that, but a bit misleading) so choose carefully what you order, and ask for is best for westerners wanting Italian food. A meal and reasonable bottle of wine will set you back over 200,000 Won for two people. Our last visit to eat there was disappointing. The kitchen, cooks to recipe without tasting the food, some of which was unseasoned and bland. Normally though some dishes are good. 15,000 Won for a small bowl of soup !!! (well the bowl is large, but the puddle of soup in the centre of the bowl was pitiful) ....well... you decide...and you have been warned.

Amenities:
If you forget toothpaste and toiletries, go outside to the 7-11 type stores. Do not by anything from the room including mini bar. Go outside and buy.
Nice pools and spa and gym and outside 'boardwalk', along the beach, but also around the Westin Chosun., which can also be jogged. Maps are available in reception.

Outsside
There is an OUTBACK and TGI Friday close by as well as a Starbucks, and GANGA which is an Indian restaurant (Make sure the chef knows you want 'real' Indian food' and not a Koreanised version.)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSALW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I didn't spend much time in there, but this hotel is worth staying. Love the hotspring with the awesome view to the Haeundae Beach. Generally the area is beautiful. Nice service. I'd definitely stay there if have a chance to go to Busan again.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank NatL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 135 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 135 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
0.7 mi away
The Westin Chosun Busan
0.6 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#5 of 135 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel Busan

Property: Paradise Hotel Busan
Address: 296, Haeundaehaebyeon-ro,, Busan 612-010, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#3 Business Hotel in Busan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busan
#3 Spa Hotel in Busan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Busan
#4 Family Hotel in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Hotel Busan 5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious oceanfront accommodations near Haeundae BeachLocation, member of the Leading Hotels of the World.This Busan hotel is located in the city center, nestled on the beach a short distance from Busan Aquarium, Haeundae Beach, and DongBaek Park. Also nearby are Nurimaru APEC House and Dalmaji Hill.At Paradise Hotel Busan, catch some rays at the beach, pamper yourself at the full-service spa, or spend the day at a casino.Guestrooms open to balconies with city, beach or sea views and feature LCD televisions with cable channels and complimentary wireless Internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Hotel Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Busan
Busan Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing