We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're interested in ships...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Maritime Museum

National Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$134.99*
and up
Full-Day Busan Tour Including Haedong Yonggungsa Temple
Ranked #43 of 209 things to do in Busan
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you're interested in ships...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you're interested in ships and maritime culture, this is the place for you. Otherwise I found it pretty boring. Yeongdo isn't accessible by subway, so you'll have to take a bus or car there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank srweigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth stopping off on bus tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I spent 2 + enjoyable hours here and lost track of time..I wasn't that interested initially in the Korean Naval Industry but I am very happy that I spent the time on this floor reading and viewing the replica's.It was extremely well presented and I learned a lot about Korea's involvement in the Artic and Antartic,it's mining in the Pacific basin for mineral deposits and much more. I also found the shipping building Industry facinating and am awed by the technical expertise used in building these numerous vessels.To me it was a highlight of the several days touring on the Busan City Tour Bus.I am a 62yr old female thats enjoys shopping so just goes to show you this can appeal to all ages and sexes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fully Agree with the Prior Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We came here all the way from Haeundae Beach (1 hour one way) because the hotel we were staying in provided a shuttle.

The best part of this museum is the architecture of the building. It looks like they (I am guessing this is the Ministry of Land, Transport and Maritime Affairs) spent a fortune on the design of this building and then ran out of money to buy items to fill it up. The aquarium and the exhibits relating to live species is relatively small. The remainder of the museum is just historical artifacts and rather dreary exhibits. There are a lot of kids, mostly doing homework by filling in obligatory reports about their visit. The prior reviewer was right. If it wasn't free, I would have been incensed.

One additional advice - the restaurant is a barbecue restaurant (ironic for a maritime museum) with very mediocre foods. They really should have several dining options. Jump into a cab and head over to the Jagalchi Fish Market for lunch instead.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohammedyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice building, poor content”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The area around the museum is brand-new and well maintained. It's a huge building with 3 exhibition floors. The firts one is dedicated for children. The other ones related to the history and the present of Korean Shipping industry. Sounds nice, but in fact the content is quite poor.
Second floor was all about the histroy of Korean shipping with a replica. Third floor was more about the Korean ports and shipbuilding industry. Lot of scale models to show what kind of ships there are build. An overview over Korean Coast Guard and Navy.
Nice aquarium in the middle of the building and wonderfull view from the top.
NIce thing about Busan Museums, there are free of charge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beer_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
207 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Free, but not a lot there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

If I paid for this, I would have been upset as there is not a lot there. There are English translations of everything though, which is nice. Also a little aquarium that will surround you as you walk though a tunnel

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing