We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Sea and Sky”
Review of Merciel

Merciel
Ranked #141 of 35,549 Restaurants in Busan
Price range: US$20 - US$160
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A stunning view of the sea from high up on the side of the mountain means that the name of the restaurant is well deserved. The food was limited in selection but very well presented and tasty. The waitress explained (in Korean) all about each part of the meal as it was served indicating what was local sourced and prepared. My two Korean colleagues enjoyed the experience as something very different for them. Construction was going on next door, but our visit was on a Sunday lunchtime so no noise or disturbances from this. Worth a visit for any Westerner who wants to take a break from typical Korean restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercielM, 매니저 at Merciel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you, on behalf of our restaurant and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Merciel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

The food was absolutely exquisite. We dined in the brasserie upstairs, which is more affordable and quite possibly has a better view than the restaurant. I would recommend going before dark if you want to enjoy the view, though the plus side to going there at night was that we were able to go out on the terrace and enjoy the fireworks. As for the food - we tried the foie gras, which was paired with a white wine gellee and mesclun greens, and was delicious. I had the barbecued duck breast, which is one of their specialties. It was cooked medium rare and quite possibly the best thing I ever ate in my life. My boyfriend had the canard and loved it. I would recommend this place for a date, or on a special occasion. It seems like a pleasant place for a special lunch as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercielM, 매니저 at Merciel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you, on behalf of our restaurant and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Lovely ambience , great food, fantastic views of gwangan bridge at night. Service was good too. Food French influenced.

2  Thank freddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercielM, 매니저 at Merciel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you, on behalf of our restaurant and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Amazing view with delicious food, the perfect combination. I am visiting this fantastic restaurant with my family and friends, they are always so kind and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank marjorie_mommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercielM, 매니저 at Merciel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you, on behalf of our restaurant and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

A menu that in no way represented French cuisine. An unorganized service, with each course coming half way through the preceding one. Food with no real evidence of creativity.
My wife and I chose the valentines set menu, due to the lack of desirable menu options. Thankgod it was that bad, as at least we could have a laugh.
The wine and view were nice though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank BusanDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercielM, 매니저 at Merciel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other readers. We appreciate your comments and sincerely regret of the disappointments experienced during your visit.

We have taken very seriously every point of your complaint and it is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service and food.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to Merciel.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merciel also viewed

Busan, South Korea
Busan, South Korea
 
Busan, South Korea
Busan, South Korea
 
Busan, South Korea
Busan, South Korea
 

Been to Merciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing