We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price paid...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popcorn Hostel Busan Station
Ranked #35 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The guesthouse is located some 10 minute walk from Busan Station, or a 30 second walk from Exit 1 of Choryang Station. It's pretty easy to reach and find despite being situated in a back alley along the main road. From the Guesthouse, it is a 40 minute bus/subway ride to Haeundae Beach, 15 minute subway ride to Jalgalchi Market/BIFF Square and a 45 minute subway ride to Gimhae International Airport and Busan Central Bus Terminal (Nopo-dong).

The staff were pretty helpful and friendly. They gave me a map almost immediately and offered suggestions on how to travel and where to go for the day. You may have a better chance finding them on the roof though, as they're rarely at the counter since they're busy running the place.

Rooms are small but I was warned adequately about this by the guesthouse staff after booking. To give a rough estimate of the room size, you just have enough space put one (or maybe two) carry-on sized luggage and to lay out the Japanese style bed. Once you have two pieces of luggage, there's barely space for you to lay out any additional items on the floor.

If you have multiple pieces of large luggage, this hostel is definitely not for you. Other facilities in the room include a clothes hanger, a hair dryer, as well as a mirror. The rooms are also not very soundproof and you can hear the footsteps/noise from the outside as people pass by your room.

For the rooms with a toilet attached, there is a door inside the already tiny room, right next to where you're sleeping. It has all the facilities that you'd expect in a toilet, other than a sink. Not a big issue, but just an inconvenience since you'd have to squat down to use the tap that comes from the showers. There is a water heater in the shower that takes a few minutes to warm up. The toilet is really small too; however, I would say it is decently, but not extremely clean.

The only issues I faced was that there were many flies in my room. I spent quite a decent amount of time killing flies over my stay there. There was also a constant pungent smell in the room. You do get used to the smell after spending some time in the room but when you enter the room after a day out, the distinct smell does get to you first. I would attribute the smell to the surroundings though as the alleyway that the hostel is located at smelled pretty bad.

The hostel provides a washing machine but you have to pay to use them. You can also hang out on the roof top where they have a huge TV, DVD Player as well as snacks/drinks that you can buy.

Overall, this is an OK place to stay if you're on a extremely tight budget - the location and the facilities are good and the rooms are alright for the price you pay. If you can afford slightly more to spend, there are probably better places around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yunnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's a clean and comfortable guest room with excellent hospitality.
There are various type of rooms included window/non-window, shared or independent toilet.
10 mins walk from Busan station. You can take city tour bus which almost cover all the travel destination there. Toilet heater and room heater are both stable. You may have a warm bath just turned your water tab. I did not give 5 starts just one reason: without basin in toilet.

Trust me, you will enjoy their service.
(Their staffs speak English)

Room Tip: choose window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reon_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay here and I would definitely return. The hostel is in a very convenient location to explore Busan, just steps away from the subway station and bus stops. The rooms were very clean, however a bit small. There was no window, which kept the room very dark and my first night I ended up sleeping for 12 hours straight! I definitely got some much needed rest. I stayed a few days during the week and then through the weekend. During the week, there weren't many guests, so the place was very quiet. During the weekend, there were many people eating, drinking, and socializing, and the staff warmly welcomed me to the rooftop party. I had a great time and I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geanis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Popcorn hostel located in a really great location, near to subway station and trendy area.

It is very clean and very convenient with a kitchen.
Staffs at here are so cute,helpful and friendly!I've got lots of travel info from them.I enjoy staying at here and sure would recommend this hostel to others!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed in popcorn hostel busan station for two nights while visiting busan and loved it! The rooms were a little small because it's Japanese style but the rooms and bathrooms were incredibly clean. There was even a kitchen and eating area guests could use. The manager was extremely helpful and told me all the best places to visit and even drank and ate with guests on the rooftop at night. I definitely would come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaayma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed for two nights, the room were clean and pleasant with a private bathroom. footsteps could be heard but not bothered very much.

The guy who was on night shift kindly walked us down and pointed us to some chicken shops when we said we were hungry.

It was very near to the station exit and quite in a quiet area but I prefer that - more peaceful that way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipl0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for only 1 night but definitely will stay here again if i go to busan. Room is clean and breakfast is standard. Near the metro station. One of the best stay i had in south korea.




Luv it here!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Linamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.8 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
7.4 mi away
Hostel the new day
Hostel the new day
#2 of 204 in Busan
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 156 in Busan
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 156 in Busan
1,030 reviews
3.2 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
7 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#3 of 156 in Busan
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popcorn Hostel Busan Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popcorn Hostel Busan Station

Address: 243-15, Jungang-daero, Dong-gu | 2f, Busan 48798, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Price Range: £24 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Popcorn Hostel Busan Station 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popcorn Hostel Busan Station House is belong to Popcorn Hostel Group and is designed for cool travelers who want to meet other traveler and to make new friends. This is situated near KTX Busan Station. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. International market, the biggest fish market Jagalchi, Napodong, Seomyon, Taejongdae, National Maritime Museum... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Popcorn Hostel Busan Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing