We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, inconvenient location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mr Egg Hostel Original Nampo
Ranked #17 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cute place, inconvenient location and service”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've stayed in three different hostels in Busan for the past 2 months, unfortunately this has to be in my least favorite. Stayed here close to a week and experienced some high and lows…

This place is also called Nuri Guesthouse...FYI.

1. Language
Other than Korean, the owner seems to be fluent in Mandarin, which has probably attracted many Taiwanese and other Chinese travelers, about 80% of the guests here.

2. Bigger toilet
The size of the toilet seems fairly larger than other two hostels I've been in Busan, with typical giant size shampoo and body wash (the types one would get in jiljimbang). I wouldn't dare using the toothpaste provided since its been used by previous tenants. Yikes!

3. Breakfast
The breakfast time is from 8-10am. Just like most hostels in Busan, they serve complimentary breakfast. The kitchenette area is very small. Only one person can use the stove at one time. Imagine if someone preparing for group of family/friends, he wait will take about 10-15 mins, with only 2 hours duration for breakfast. Coffee, tea, juice, bread, marmalade and eggs are provided...not sure if milk is provided as well since its always running out even when I wake up early at 8-ish. Coffee sachets will only be replenished at 9am since thats when the staff clock in, so tea is your only hot beverage option if you're an early bird.

4. Location
From the train exit, you probably need at least close to 7-10 mins to just get out out of Exit 5, which leads to the guesthouse. There's no elevator up to the exit, so those bulky luggage and backpacks will probably need extra lifting on top of the previous card. And extra 5-7 mins to walk to the guesthouse, depending on your pace.

Thus, day-to-day basis, you'll need close to 10 mins (super fast pace) to 15-20 mins if you're bringing older person to your group to commute in and out to the hostel.

5. Laundry
With long stay comes laundry, so obviously I'd need this. First of all, there is NO DRYER here. After 3 attempts asking on where to dry my clothes (one staff told me to hang inside my room), I was finally directed to an area at the rooftop where I could hang my clothes with no problem at all. I just don't get why it took me a lot of times to finally get a place to dry my clothes.

6. Room
Stayed in a fairly big room of 3 with minimal compartments, only dressing table and no area for luggage and secured belongings. Not so comfy pillow and mattress :( Sorry

The main action of this place is near Nampo station (food, shopping, tower, buses to tourist spots), so I would HIGHLY recommend hostels that are located around Nampos station instead of those Jungang area, unless you need to be close to a hospital. You can fairly walk to Nampo area from Jungang station for an extra 5-7 mins, but the underground walkway gets a bit dodgy at night, so...yeah.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

On top of the excellent location in downtown, the clean and tidy spaces and the yummy self-service breakfast at Mr Egg, the friendly host, Sean and the nice staff and guests I met from all over the world, have definitely brought me all the best memory from this beautiful port city ;) well, u can talk to the host and staff in English and Mandarin (of coz they r native in Korean), and they r really helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearmaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My friends and I lived in Mr. Egg when we travel to Busan. The room is clean and comfortable especially with a big bathroom. Furthermore, the decoration of the hotel is mainly in light green and pink, which brought a good relax in veiwing. In the visiting room, my friends and I made a statue by easy-clay. And anyone can make statues by themsevles. This was really full of fun! At last but not the least, the people in hotel are kind and nice. We got a lot of help from them.
Thanks to Mr.Egg!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

one of my friends recommand this hostel. my friend and me stayed in twin private room. they provided fast wi-fi, fresh breakfast, shampoo, hair dryer etc, everything in there!
The room is very clean, and the location is very easy to find this hostel also staff was quiet nice they are always smiling and very kindly answered about my question!!

Specially, they have security system in common place, that CCTV operating 24 hrs, so I could stay in peace while i'm staying.
so if you think that important part is security I recommend this hostel, it would be fit for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna293913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I visited Busan, Korea to meet my Korean friend and she recommended me this place. It was really clean and room(dorm) was quite big. Quiet location but easy to find. Overall i was satisfied with the service :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peasncarrots1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was sooo happy to have chosen to live in Mr Egg Hostel (Nampo) during my stay in Busan. The host, Sean is very nice and he provides excellent service. He also can speak fluent chinese and english, so there was no problem of communication! You can cook breakfast before going out; they provide really nice eggs, bread and cereal there. Common area is a great place to make friends, me and my friend coming from Hong Kong, had met two korean girls in the hostel. We went on a trip together in Busan and now we have become great friends. These are all the memories i wouldnt get if i didnt stay in Mr Egg Hostel. One more point to add on is that they got private bathroom in twin room, so it is very safe for girls who go on travelling alone or in pairs.
However, there is a thing you should notice is that you have to walk a long staircase when going up the Mtr station exit heading towards the hostel. So make sure you have your luggage pack lightly or find a lift for going up to the ground. Yet i believe this little staircase shouldnt be an excuse of not staying in this nice hostel :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.1 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#21 of 136 in Busan
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#6 of 136 in Busan
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Harbor Hotel Busan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noah
Hotel Noah
#19 of 136 in Busan
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blueboat Hostel Nampo
Blueboat Hostel Nampo
#5 of 169 in Busan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr Egg Hostel Original Nampo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Egg Hostel Original Nampo

Property: Mr Egg Hostel Original Nampo
Address: 6-1, Donggwang-dong 3-ga, Jung-gu, Busan 600-023, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OPEN!!!Mr. Egg Hostel Original Nampo.This time Mr. Egg Sean decides to open his new branch store at Original Busan: Nampo-dong! There is abundance of great food and attractions that you can put it all in one place,including Busan Port, the biggest traditional market, 40 steps, Movie street near BIFF Square, Jagalchi Fish Market, Gamcheon Culture Village, Busan Tower and so on! Sean has built his second HOME here! Now we are sincerely welcome you to Mr. Egg Hostel Original Nampo! Come to experience Nampo-dong style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mr Egg Hostel Original Nampo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing