We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Busan Tourist Hotel
Ranked #32 of 156 Hotels in Busan
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Good:
1) Location - it is very near a fashionable pedestrianised shopping area that seems to specialise in outdoor gear of all kinds, various markets and one of the several Lotte Dep. Stores
2) Access - very close to a subway station and only a few stops from Busan main train station (incl. KTX)
3) Reasonable price.
4) Many restaurants and bars nearby
5) 7-11 in the lobby + other convenience stores and coffee shops nearby

Neutral:
1) Staff - efficient but not friendly (not sure if this was because we are a same-sex couple or because one of us is Japanese or that they are just like that). Brusque, almost rude manner BUT when the toilet was blocked in our room at 11pm it was fixed within minutes.
2) Needs refurbishing but that has started. Our room had new double glazed windows and built in closets but ancient heating system - a work in progress.

Poor:
1) Smoking is allowed in rooms and they smell like it.

Conclusion - a base to explore the city but not a place to savour - a quiet comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel and the staff ranked just on average. The room smells tobacco and the air con did not work very well. That hotel was old and needed refurbishing.
The good thing was it perfect location to visit the fish market and to see the Busan tower.
We are not sure we will stay again at this hotel if we go back to Busan in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary0767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and were very disappointed.
It does have a central location so we were able to walk to a lot of shopping, shows, eateries, bars and even the train. Near Lotte shopping center and fish market. Just a short walk to the train to take you to many beaches and temples.
HOWEVER, when we arrived it was well into the 90s and the humidity was off the charts. There were two of us in each room but they would only allow one key per room. When you enter, you use the key to run the lights and air conditioning so of course when you leave the air shuts off. This is the reason they won't supply another key and were actually really nasty about it when we asked for another. Don't plan to stay here if you are traveling with anyone and plan to go different directions!
The rooms are ALL SMOKING and they stink. You won't want to walk barefoot in the foot, everything feels very dirty.
Internet did not work any of the days we were there and no one seemed to know how to fix it. They did let us use the computer in the business office once, to print our boarding passes. The only good thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and the price was very reasonable. I rang and made my reservation. Receptionist spoke very basic English but enough to take my name and dates of my stay. I was a bit worried but upon arrival my reservation was there ready to go. Basic room with jug, TV, fridge stocked with goodies that you could purchase, table and chairs, air-con, queen bed and internet connection cord (9,000won for 24 hours). The room was clean and warm. The bathroom was clean (very important!!) with a good shower. It was a 5-7min taxi ride from Busan Station and cost 4,000won (=$5NZD, $4USD). I wrote down the address and showed it to the driver, much easier. There is a 7/11 in the foyer and cafes and restaurants on the same street. Its a 2min walk to Lotte Department Store which is 11 levels of shopping with a supermarket and an amazing water fountain show that happens every hour on the hour. The subway is on the same street as Lotte Dept Store so very convenient to get to Busan Station.
As a solo female traveller, I felt safe and secure in the hotel at night and would definitely stay there again!! So handy and a great price-$240NZD/ $190USD for the 2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the room was spacious able to accomodate 3 single beds with room for another additional bed. The hotel is located at the foot of the Busan tower and a 3min walk to Nampo station link via underground to Lotte shopping mall. Area is the main shopping belt for young people with many eating places and within walking distance to the famous Jagalchi fish market.

A network cable is provided at the dresser but a fee is required to surf the internet. Hot srping water is accessible from the bathroom showers which leaves your skin smooth after showering. Hotel staff are able to understand and speak basic english, overall an enjoyable stay eventhough the room is old.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eleawong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

If you arrive by ferry from the mainland Busan Tourist Hotel is just off the harbor next to this big Busan Tower so it is really easy to find. There are a lot of coffee shops and restaurants around which is very good because the hotel restaurant is quite expensive. Our room was big and comfortable but I think the building should get a makeover every once in a while. All in all it was ok though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My 2 children (aged 7 and 10) and I stayed 2 nights at the Busan Tourist Hotel. I decided on this hotel based on other reviews and was not disappointed. As another reviewer wrote, I made a reservation by telephone and was not required to guarantee it with a credit card. The location was excellent for exploring Busan on foot -- the fish market, night market, tower, shops, and restaurants were all within easy walking distance of the hotel, with the international ferry terminal just a 3000 won taxi ride away. They had a room with 3 single beds to accommodate us and, although as others have noted this is not a new hotel, our room was spacious and clean. I noticed that the bathroom in our room had been nicely redone, too. It was quiet at night, too, being on a side street rather than a main thoroughfare. The convenience store on the lobby level was useful, and the staff were helpful in pointing us towards where we wanted to go. Many staff members on the front desk speak both English and Japanese. We opted not to dine at the hotel's restaurant, so I can't comment on the food (tip: we went 2 or 3 doors down to a little coffee shop that had a fabulous breakfast set for much less than the hotel restaurant's offering). I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I find myself in Busan again.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank expat_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.1 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#24 of 156 in Busan
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
0.6 mi away
Hotel Commodore Busan
Hotel Commodore Busan
#33 of 156 in Busan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#7 of 156 in Busan
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noah
Hotel Noah
#20 of 156 in Busan
88 reviews
4.5 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busan Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busan Tourist Hotel

Address: 23, Gwangbok-ro 97beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan 48951, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 156 Hotels in Busan
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Busan Tourist Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accessibility is very good! Yongdusan Park - 5 min Yeongdo Bridge - 7 min Nampo-dong biff Square, food alley - 10 min Jagalchi Market - 10 min International markets - 15 min Bosubookstreet - 20 min Around the hostel to convenience stores, mart, as well as useful for a lot of the old gourmet restaurants. The Gimhae Airport limousine stop is located nearby and Busan depateu from the bus stop is a 5-minute walk / Nampo-dong subway Line No.1, Exit 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Busan Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing