We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Typical Hostel Experience”
Review of Africa Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jeju
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Africa Guesthouse
Ranked #97 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Jeju
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Africa Guesthouse. If you're up for a unique experience then it's great! However, I would not recommend it to people who are looking for a more typical hostel experience. Africa Guesthouse isn't near the city centre. My friends and I took a cab from Jeju City. It wasn't expensive but it's definitely a bit further away from the city. The location is more remote. It has a really nice view and it's located in a traditional Korean neighbourhood. It was really interesting to walk around. There were four of us. We were the only foreigners there but everyone was really friendly. The owner is extremely nice and accommodating. Originally we were to sleep on the floor in the dormitory area but he ended up making some arrangements with some of the other guests and he provided us with a private room with bunk beds. We were also invited to be included in the meals being cooked. The facilities were clean. The guesthouse isn't too far from a beach as well as restaurants. We were able to walk there in 20ish minutes. The owner will also make arrangements for a cab to pick you up from the guesthouse. I would definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a more Korean experience rather than the usual foreigner experience in a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at the Africa Guesthouse before I flew out the next day. The distance from the bus stop to the guesthouse is about a mile. I didn't like the location because there weren't any restaurant near by - you have to walk at least a mile or two to find one. There is minimal lighting on the street so didn't feel that safe to walk outside at night. I was there with two other girls I met while walking Olle Trail, and they both did not like this place much b/c of the openness, and the area we slept on was pretty high and the stairs a bit scary to walk up and down without any lights or very dangerous if you were drunk. There are lots of newer and cleaner guesthouses to choose from in Jeju, but if you like to meet fun and playful people, are comfortable sleeping without a door, and don't mind the low quality, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chungola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 기범 최
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank hyesunh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 음주 전, 유제품이나 여명808을 마시면, 좀 더 오래 마실 수 있습니다. 토할 것 같을 때는 게하 뒷편의 공터를 이용해주세요.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Kalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank milkywayEun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank 시모전
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeju hotels
0.8 mi away
Co'op City Hotel Jeju-Beach
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#26 of 157 in Jeju
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Jeju Hamdeok
Ramada Jeju Hamdeok
#23 of 157 in Jeju
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
SUM Guesthouse Jeju Airport
0.9 mi away
Beach Story Hotel
Beach Story Hotel
#46 of 218 in Jeju
17 reviews
1.9 mi away
Be Road House
Be Road House
#41 of 262 in Jeju
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Guesthouse

Address: 61 Sinheung-ri, Jocheon-eup, Jeju, Jeju Island 695-969, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Jeju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Jeju
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing