We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relatively Nice Hotel and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gyeongju
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relatively Nice Hotel and Good Location”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here for one night in order to be close to the Buddhist temple and I quite liked it. Away from the hustle and bustle of Seoul gives one a serene feeling. My room faced the mountains and the view in the morning or just about anytime is great.

The room was comfortable and clean and felt homely. I particularly like the energy saving measure and would consider this a green hotel - have to put your key in the slot to access energy. One downside was that the bathroom walls had some mold and could do with some extra attention.

The continental breakfast was good. A nice array of items and good variety of fruits and cereals. Pleasant and helpful staff who paid attention to their guests. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissrosen, Director of Sales at Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and detail comments on our hotel.
We were very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and service.
I've delivered your comment on our bathroom to our house keeping dept.
They had attention on this matter and did some action to keep it clean.
We really would like to deliver our appreciation on your careful concern on our hotel and our best wishes for your happy new year 2014.
We also look foward to seeing you again in Gyeognju in the future.

Best Regards,

Min, Wonkyung
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

First of all, I would give the hotel 3.5 points but I had to make the decision between 3 and 4. It got 4 stars because I liked the theme of the rooms, and the helpful staff.

Basically, the rooms were clean but already somewhat worn, so maybe a task for the next time is to renew the rooms a little. My room was facing the lake, so I had a nice view. Although there was a construction side just next to the room, the room was not noisy, at least when the windows were closed. The room has the standard size, and everything you need is in there, even a kettle. The staff was helpful, there were no problems for me. The location is good, close to the Bomun lake but somewhat far away from Gyeongju city center (but you can go there by bus, it costs 1500Won). The pool is nice and clean, a little small but ok.

Summary: Nice for a stay, but needs some modernization.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is good but is not a 5 star one. Good points: there is wifi in every flor, it is good located and people working there is really nice and helpful.

The bad points is that it needs a little more dedication when it comes to cleaning. it's not dirty but it can be improved.

Room Tip: Take a "european" type of electrical conector with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Decent stay for two nights. Well maintained and serviced rooms. What we were not happy about this property is about food. Breakfast was so so but charges were as high as $8 and it was very basic cold breakfast. They do not provide lunch or dinner unless you have a large group

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank W1bb1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Double bed hard up against wall so one has to climb over other to get in or out of bed. Moved bed to retrieve dropped pen - under bed filthy with used condom packet and much dirt. Had to specifically ask for a "normal" size towel as they only had face towels in room. Shower recess has no lip so water goes all over bathroom floor. Kept awake by bright light all night ( room faced the floodlit front of hotel and only one of the two curtains was blackout curtain - External flood light poured in thru the other plain curtain.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing hillside to avoid floodlit room at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank XR6Bogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We chose Swiss Rosen because it was one of the few left which was around £80 per night (we stayed in Aug - peak season). I agreed with a reviewer below that the place was a once glory but has lost it's attraction due to lack of refurbishment and maintenance.

Most people stayed there were Koreans. Our room was ok but I found few hairs on the bed (just under the bedsheet) and several more in the toilet/shower. The bathing robe wasn't cleansed after previous use and again I found few hairs there. Perhaps other people don't mind but to me this is a big minus.

The managers are great and do speak good English. We were attracted by the potential BBQ outdoor when we made the booking but in fact it was just a small balcony facing the car park, so we didn't try at all. The swimming pool is also on the small side.

It's within walking distance (around 20-25 mins) to the nearest point of the Bomun Lake where you can take a cruise. There is a restaurant and a shop next to the hotel (5 mins). But you can also walk to a small "town" where there are few more choices (it's about 20 mins away on foot but you wouldn't want to do that in hot summer) That is also where the Gyeongju expo is.

Transport - if you are planning to stay around this area, it's better to have a car. There are two bus stops outside, one goes to Singyeongju station where you can take the KTX to Seoul. The other goes to town.

The room has kettle and tea bags etc. The air conditioning is wonderful - just what we needed after a whole day outside in deep heat......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

After checking out several love motels near the bus station we opted to try the SwissRosen despite it being outside the city in the resort area. We were pleasantly surprised. The price was right, the room was very clean and spacious. It was little dated and funky but it felt safe and comfortable and the staff were very nice and helpful. It was also very easy to get into town as there were frequent buses (#11 into town, #10 back) from a bus stop 5 mins walk away. Also there were frequent buses to Bulguksa temple. I'd have no hestitation recommending this hotel as a great mid-range option in the Gyeongju area.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 19 in Gyeongju
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#2 of 19 in Gyeongju
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.9 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gyeongju
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
#6 of 19 in Gyeongju
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
#3 of 19 in Gyeongju
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gyeongju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju

Property: Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Address: 465-37, Bomun-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38116, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gyeongju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel is located in Bomun Resort Complex of Gyeogju, the capital city of old shilla dynasty with the easy access to the tourist sites. It features deluxe class of rooms and facilites and provides warm hospitality of guest oriented staffs and comfortable relaxatio with the reasonable price.the boutique scheme of design with Mediterranean architecture style will present unforgettable and pleasant time with you.For the relaxable days of the guests, the hotel serves American style breakfast and barbeque dinner in the restaurant.For the summer season, outdoor swimming pool is on the 1st floor. Seminar room and ondol room is facilitated for the group guests such as families, companies, and groups.Business Center, Free 2 cups of tea (Restaurant / Americano / 2pm~4pm), Free wireless internet service, Free Parking, Free Pick-up Service, One hour free bicycle rental service (limited to prior reservations)The Business Center equipped with PCs, Internet, word processing and printers.ServicesFree internetCopy and print (black and white / color) (paid)Fax (paid)This medium-size seminar room can accommodate up to 80 people and small seminar room can accommodate up to 30 people. Equipped with a large screen, beam projector, and sound equipment, it is perfect for family gatherings, seminars, business meetings, public agency assemblies, and more.Facilities- Free wireless internet service- Sound control system- Beam projector and large screenCoffee Shop & Restaurant>The caf?/restaurant features a terrace where patrons can enjoy the beautiful scenery of Bomun, and an exotic interior design inspired by San Torini. It also boasts a billiard table where friends and families can enjoy a memorable time together against the backdrop of Bomun's beautiful scenery. The restaurant serves breakfast, coffee, beverages, and simple snacks such as home-made burgers, as well as alcoholic beverages such as beer.Capacity: 60 seatsEscape the daily grind! Treat yourself to a comfortable vacation. We have American smoke charcoal, which is used to cure meat, ready to fire up the grill upon request. The barbecue garden is open from 17:00 to 21:00. To use the barbecue facilities, please book one day prior to your stay. Capacity:50 seatYou will find a swimming pool on the ground floor where family and loved ones can hang out during the hot summer months. There is a large outdoor movie screen that plays music videos and movies at night. Enjoy it with a beer or other drinks on the side.Location: 1st Floor OutdoorSize: 8m x 4.5m x 1m(depth)There is a karaoke bar in the underground level of the hotel. It’s a great place for families and couples to show off their singing skills. The area is divided into separate rooms for privacy.Capacity:70 seats (7 individual rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing