We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Buddhist Gymkhana at Namsan

The National Park area is full of buddhist statues and stone carvings at every other corner... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
6arnaua
via mobile
Excellent trails and signs

What a surprise to enjoy this park so much. We were walking down from the Grotto and suddenly were... read more

Reviewed 13 April 2018
Kimberley42
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 76 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Gyeongju
from US$62.50
More Info
from US$179.99
More Info
from US$140.00
More Info
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
50
21
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
21
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day hiking five hours stone carvings namsan mountain the bus royal tombs trail peak signage rocks sites chipmunks temple forest buddhist
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

What a surprise to enjoy this park so much. We were walking down from the Grotto and suddenly were in the park. The quality of signage, albeit mainly in Korean, is excellent and we were tickled to discover all of the exercise equipment. The hosts at the visitor's center were really kind.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

A day spent walking around Namsan Mountain is a day well spent. I had a great five hours climbing up and down through the forests, looking at carvings and statues and enjoying the sound of the streams running past the paths. On a sunny March Saturday it was busy and I was seldom alone.

I got the bus (#500, others go that way too) from town to Samneung and then just crossed into the forest and started walking. A short way in there's an information board with the trails marked and there are loads of signposts throughout the forest in Korean and English. I walked up to the first peak, down to Yongjangsaji (stunning), then continued down the valley until I crossed a swing bridge and got to a signpost for Chilburam. Then I went up (and down a bit) to Chilburam, which is a gorgeous little temple where a monk offered me tea and snacks. The path then went down to the road and after about a mile I came out at Tongiljeon Palace, where there are a couple of cafes and the palace itself is worth looking at. I caught bus #10 back to town. It was about 12km in total.

Take plenty of water and wear decent shoes - the paths are well-marked but not always easy with some mild scrambling over rocks, and some steep bits. Lots of the Koreans had walking poles. The monk at Chilburam kindly gave me a map which was better than the one on the signposts - this may be available in the tourist information offices in town?

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Interesting hike, with the theme open-air museum. Literally the place contains tombs, temple sites and stone statues and carvings from the Silla era.
What makes it even more interesting is that there is a free-english speaking guided tours on Sundays (not running during the winter months). The guides are very knowledgeable on the history of the place and they take you to places not commonly hiked.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank dkrock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

As promoted by the regional tourism board, hiking in these mountains was indeed a wonderful one with the opportunity to see the carved Buddha sculptures, temples and old pagodas in their natural settings. We really enjoyed it and strongly recommend this to others. On top of Namsan, there was a box with free postcards to be sent to family and friends for free as well. Along the way, we saw pretty frogs/toads, rare insects and even a snake that slithered away really fast.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank TOsunnyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

If you don't have much time in Gyeongju, this is the one place you need to go. Skip Bulguksa temple/Seokguram Grotto. Not a tough hike to the peak, good for beginners. It's a very enjoyable & zen hike, besides the beautiful nature, there are many Buddha sculptures/artifacts. The only thing is that it lacks English signages. Saw a foreign tourist walked in a restricted area, fell and injured herself, so I still wouldn't recommend hiking alone.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank mellyooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews