We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Gyeongju
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night during a visit to Gyeongju, a well-known historic city in Korea. We were assigned to a 'triple' room with three beds. Overall, the stay was better than I expected.

The hotel is a bit outdated: the carpet on the corridor was slightly smelly, but the room was quite okay. It appears that a double, a twin, or a triple room is all of the same size only with different number of beds, because the beds in our room were packed. Wifi was provided for free. Interestingly, the room was equipped mostly with 110-V outlets (the one used in Japan and the US, which was used long time ago in Korea). There were only two 220-V outlets. Room also had a fridge and A/C was good.

In the morning, there was a long line to the breakfast buffet. It did not matter to us because we did not purchase the breakfast buffet. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool. I think the pool is not free even to the hotel guests, but we were given a coupon for four which allows free access to the swimming pool for one day. The coupon I think was a part of the package that we purchased. The pool itself was not very large, yet friendly to children. The guards did not mind food at the pool, so almost everyone brought lunch in while occupying a table at a pool side.

We heard that the hotel has a beautiful garden and a golf course on its own, but we did not have time check it out. Bulguk-sa temple and seokguram (the grotto) are close, compared to other hotels, so it was quite convenient.

Downtown Gueongju is at a distance. However, it was not very difficult to find a way when driving. There was a bus stop at the entrance to the hotel, where there was a bus going directly to downtown spots, although we did not consider riding it.

All in all, it was bit pricey possibly because it was the peak season of the year, still we definitely enjoyed for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. Our room turned out to be somewhat large compared to what's standard in Korea, which was good as we had 3 adults in the room. However, like many tourist hotels this one is in need of some refurbishing, especially in the bath area.

Otherwise, it is in a good location for seeing the sights around Gyeongju, and as hotels go, it wasn't the best nor the worst we stayed at on the tour of Korea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeatherWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

You pick this hotel because it is walking distance from the central attraction "Bulguksa" temple and a local bus away from Sukgulam. From train station, you can grab a taxi to here...walk to see the temple and take bus to the top of the mountain to see the sights...then spend a night, take a bus from nearby street to the center of the city to see the museum and other sights.
There really is nothing much I can comment about the greatness of hotel itself, but it is definitely friendly to foreigners and most staff speak English (although they'd prefer korean).

Room Tip: Get any economy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were quite shocked by the poor state of the room and especially the bathroom which was so tired and outdated.
Also, the acoustic performance of the walls was poor and there was little separation from noise of the nocturnal activities of our neighbours.
Otherwise, the hotel is better, being well positioned for local tourist attractions and having helpful staff.
There are many good views from the bedrooms and lounges.
The common areas were clean and updated.
Please note, our trip was organised by an operator so we do not know how much we paid and cannot comment on value.
That said, we could not recommend the hotel at any price unless the rooms had been completely refurbished.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarpa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

An elegant, luxurious hotel, but which has seen better days. Reserving in advance via “booking.com”, we got an excellent price for a weekend rate, and were very satisfied with our room (having asked to change from the first two shown to us… but the reception staff were very helpful) … the photos show how big and comfortable it was, and what a pretty view we had (on the 6th floor)… however, the weather was very hot and sunny (on 1st June !) and the air-conditioning couldn’t really cope. But the hotel is in a beautiful location, with gardens, golf course and a very short walk to the famous Bulguksa Temple and handicraft village.

One highlight : we discovered a fabulous and beautiful wooden-beamed restaurant you can walk to nearby, called Shilla Jung (Shilla Pavillon) that we would definitely recommend (before 9pm for dinner). The feast we got for having chosen “one” dish of tofu soup was outstanding and delicious, one of the best meals during our travels in South Korea, and very reasonable too !

So, all in all a very successful stay of 2 nights at this comfortable hotel; as indicated, it is very pleasantly located near to Bulguksa Temple, but is also only a short driving distance to the other great sights of Gyeongju … And, having gotten acquainted with the reservation desk during our initial room negotiations, we always got a warm welcome from them, and they even helped by phoning ahead to book the hotel at our next destination and obtaining a good price ! A big thank you to these helpful staff …

Room Tip: try to see the room beforehand, the staff are helpful and receptive to negotiation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

One night in a twin room. For a place that has such huge grounds and facilities like a golf course, the interior really lets it down. Doesnt look like it has been updated since it was first built and its dark wood and dark interiors with duvets that I think my grandmother used to have, make it feel a bit creepy when you walk in. Its a shame because it is clean and the staff are friendly and the location ideal if, like us, you want to visit Bulguska Temple and Seokguram Grotto and have the one night to do so.
A fair distance from the train station, we came in by bus which drops you at a stop to the entrance road to the hotel, so very convenient.
We ate dinner at the Korean restaurant downstairs and it was nice but the breakfast the next morning was average and stopped serving at 9am which seemed a bit of a rush.
Caught taxi back to the train station rather than the hassle of the bus and it was quicker and naturally more comfortable and very reasonably priced, 30,000KRW, for a 40min journey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Built in 1978, it showed its age in our very large room. It's a long way from both train stations and we were not told about a courtesy bus. We saw one on our second day and asked about it and was told it leaves at 9am. The next day we were catching a train to Seoul at 9:57 and thought we could catch the bus and a staff member confirmed that we probably could. In the morning we were told there is no bus. I'm not sure what happened there. Also, the breakfast buffet is a rort and completely overpriced. My 'Continental' breakfast consisted of three slices of bread (which had apparently been toasted), a terrible cup of coffee and undrinkable tomato juice. The 'American' breakfast was one mushroom, a couple of small rashers of bacon, a piece of broccoli, eggs (your choice), two pieces of apparently toasted bread and a handful of potato gems. It was a disappointing way to start the day. Even though it is near the Bulguksa Temple, it's not worth staying here for that reason. You can catch an early bus from a hotel close to town to arrive before the hoards of people. If you are a golfer and have stayed in tired and over-priced resorts before, you may love the place.

Room Tip: The corner room we stayed in was huge. All the rooms in our corridor were stuffed with 3 or 4 beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
5 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 25 in Gyeongju
222 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 25 in Gyeongju
788 reviews
7.5 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 25 in Gyeongju
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
4.4 mi away
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
#6 of 25 in Gyeongju
151 reviews
3.8 mi away
The-K Gyeongju Hotel
The-K Gyeongju Hotel
#14 of 25 in Gyeongju
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyeongju Kolon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyeongju Kolon Hotel

Address: 289-17, Bulguk-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38126, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gyeongju
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gyeongju Kolon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolon Hotel is seated in the time-honored city of Gyeongju well known as one of the ten famous world spots. Guest room is cozy and comfortable dominating the sun rising from Mt. Toham. Restaurants provide for delicate & special dishes. Available is conventions of large and small size, golf green, swimming, jogging, hiking,other leisure and spa facilities. You may feel like being at your own home and your stay and every hour may be most happy and pleasing to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gyeongju Kolon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gyeongju Kolon Kyongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing