We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Gyeongju
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night for a brief stay in Gyeongju. The hotel is situated by a lake where a number of the hotels seem to be rather than in the actually town itself. This isn't too much trouble as frequent buses depart from just outside.

The hotel is quite dated although it was fine for our purposes and at a fairly decent price. The rooms were large but not particularly nicely decorated. The hotel lacked the added extras that I would regard as standard. For example, we had to pay extra for shower gel/shampoo.

Overall, the hotel is certainly comfortable enough to stay in for a few nights if the intention is to just use it as a base for a brief stop, but I wouldn't go there expecting the luxury that perhaps the hotel displayed in its past.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here with my family during a vacation to Korea. While we enjoyed visiting the sights around Gyeongju, we found the hotel to be nothing spectacular. The rooms were adequate, but there were some small annoyances. The light and a/c controls were baffling, and we found ourselves simply having to unplug lights before we figured out how to turn them off. (For future reference, you need to put your room key in the slot by the door, and all controls can be found on the console by the bed.) Be sure to bring your own toiletries, as hotel provided toiletries are part of the mini bar. Because the room key had to be in the slot by the door to have any electricity in the room, it was impossible to charge any electronic devices unless you were in the room.

That being said, my family enjoyed walking through the gardens in the back of the hotel. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which served both Korean dishes as well as Western fare. It was very easy to walk to restaurants and other attractions from the hotel.

All in all, it was okay for a couple of nights but I would look elsewhere for any extended stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank unalaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed one night (booked by travel agents). The hotel is quite dated and has some major flaws. The walls are paper-thin - you can hear conversations in adjacent rooms and noise in the hallways (often the hotel staff). Rooms are very dimly lit and you can barely find your way around. There is no hotel directory with instructions on how to operate lights and A/C. The latter is not operated by the thermostat on the wall as one would assume. No safe or coffee maker. The hair dryer in the bathroom had a European plug, while the electrical outlet was US-style (sic) - no adaptor provided. There is wired Internet in the room with an Ethernet cable supposedly provided. Good luck finding the cable and the outlet in the dark.
Breakfast was mediocre, with especially bad coffee.
One positive thing was being able to run in the park around the hotel.

Room Tip: End of the hallway, away from elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Great location in Bomun Lake Resort right on the lake. Location is ideal for trips to Bulguksa temple and Seokguram grotto. Buses to downtown (#10 and 11) and to KTX station (#700, also stopping at temple) stop right in front of hotel.
Compared to other hotels in this sea, this hotel is ok for one night, but needs some updating, especially the bathrooms. Beds are clean and comfortable. Staff is very helpful and speak good English. On weekends the restaurant only offers buffet style dinner in breakfast hall (not very cozy). Small restaurants in the vicinity, but mostly Korean. Breakfast buffet offers some Western style foods, but if you just want a coffee, you are out of luck. There is a convenience store in the basement, but they offer only coffee in heated cans - disgusting stuff. And the lobby bar which serves offers coffee only opens at 10 am.
There is a new Starbucks near Hilton hotel - within easy walking distance, but on weekends they open late. Larger convenience store across the road, but only instant coffee there.

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeview room - nice views!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Sure it's dated and in need of serious renovation, but it's comfortable enough. Especially compared to many Korean hotels and guest houses in this price range. I'd rate it: good.

The bathroom however is a different story, it's a typical sign of the time: ill-designed, very small and has a bunch of 'uncomfortable' features; for some reason the toilet seats are always slightly loose, everything is really low and the bath tub is small and the whole thing is difficult to clean.

We had a four night stay in two separate rooms. The 'water mill view' rooms were very spacious, the lake view rooms are shorter. Some rooms are even more spacious as they are about two meters extra wide. Combined with the two comfortable queen size beds the level of comfort was high. We don't know why we had these extra large rooms, but we were really glad as we were treated to a typhoon for two days and spent a lot of time in the room. Fortunately, room service provided good meals. We were told by friends staying there at the same time breakfast was not worth the money, if not included in the room rate.

The hotel is in the 'center' of the tourist area which means that plenty of restaurants are available. The most adequate tourist information office is right next door. There are ample buses going to and from the local bus stop.

Staff are adequate and their English is average for Korean tourism.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel seem to be larger. The lake side view is better, if you don'...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KlaasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Commodore for five nights on our honeymoon. The building is a bit old and the decor is a bit dated, but the beds were comfortable. The views of the lake were excellent and it was within walking distance of the parks, if you're headed there.
While there was no wifi, there was a wired connection to the internet.
The rooms did have a faint trace of cigarette odor, but nothing overwhelming or completely off-putting.
The bathroom was excellent, but if you have trouble getting in and out of a tub, you may want to ask for accommodations. Our tub was massive.
The hotel staff was helpful.
I would have liked it better had there been a complementary breakfast instead of the additional cost buffet that was 22,000 KRW per person, but the GS25 across the street helped solve that problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I've stayed in 20 or so hotels in South Korea and this was the worst. We had a hectic weekend seeing the great sights in Gyeongju and just needed somewhere to sleep Saturday night plus a couple of hours to cool off and relax, catch up on email then breakfast and off again in the morning. There were four of us and we had booked two twin bed rooms. We arrived fairly late - about 9 pm, but we'd confirmed earlier that evening. Reception was fine and they upgraded us to suites on the tenth floor. How about that! The owners have clearly spent some money renovating this floor, A/C was spewing cool air into the corridors and the rooms were great - except there were no twin beds just doubles - albeit big doubles. They didn't seem to understand the problem at reception and implied it was our fault the beds weren't right, although we had clearly booked twin beds. The two ladies decided they could put up with sharing a bed, but not the men, so we were given a room on the sixth floor. It did have two beds.

The decor looked 1970s including the bedside unit with all the radio channel switches which didn't work and lights switches which did. The TV remote didn't work, we couldn't get the A/C to run, there was no wireless or wired internet, no tea/coffee or hot water. The light in the wardrobe stayed on all the time because the magnet for the switch was hanging off the door. I fixed the wardrobe light, and maintenance came quickly, changed the remote and pointed out there were two controls for the A/C on the wall and on the console. The A/C did run but you could only feel the flow with a wet finger. We were just about sorted when the ladies came down to say that nothing worked in their magnificent suite except the bathroom light - but that was OK. No it wasn't - and with our new relationship with the maintenance guys we soon had them on the tenth floor trying to fix things. In the end, it was the main breaker which was switched off - I'm not sure why or when this room was last used.

None of this is jugular but it all adds up to a place that no-one seems to care about. So why should I? Why would I even think about staying there again? It's a great location for the lakeside and pleasure beach (if that's your thing) but there are plenty of other hotels close by. With the TV remote working I checked through the channels for any English language news - there was none, but I found myself watching an ad for Samsung insurance on a Samsung TV staying in a Samsung hotel. The only thing in the room that had had impressed me as working well were the opening windows - they were LG, I guess from an earlier phase of what was once one of Korea's most luxurious hotels.

The sixth floor beds were very firm and I slept like a log. We met downstairs in the lobby as agreed for late-ish Sunday breakfast at 9 am. "No breakfast today!" said reception. Summed the place up...

Room Tip: Stay on the tenth floor if you can afford to, or push for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 23 in Gyeongju
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 23 in Gyeongju
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
#9 of 23 in Gyeongju
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
#2 of 23 in Gyeongju
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
The-K Gyeongju Hotel
The-K Gyeongju Hotel
#11 of 23 in Gyeongju
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel Gyeongju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Gyeongju

Address: 422, Bomun-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38117, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Gyeongju
Price Range: £52 - £892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Commodore Hotel Gyeongju 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The capital of ancient Kingdom of Silla, plenty of cultural heritage & millenary beauty Be free from all the stress. Heal your mind with calm and joy Welcome to visit Commodore hotel Gyeongju ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel Gyeongju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing