We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 99 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamamatsu, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome place”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Awesome place, like a family house, is pretty clear, good room space, the owners are very friendly, great enviroment to stay, the only problem is the mat to sleep is so thin and hard is traditional Korean but hard but it s ok for backpackers!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digaojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    35
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
43
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seogwipo, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at Sa Rang Chae, and we enjoyed our experience there.

We booked a double room. The bed is a mat on the floor, which is hard but not uncomfortable. Our room was very cozy--just the sleeping space, a coat rack, and a closet. There's also a small exterior area with a sliding door, which is where we kept our shoes and a few other items. Not a ton of space, but it was enough for our purposes. The room was not heavily insulated (and the doors were just wood and paper), but the floor heat kept us toasty all night. The room has no other accommodations, so don't expect to hang out there. That's what the common room is for!

The facility is beautiful. A renovated, 120-year-old facility (if memory serves), it is very charming and makes you feel like you're getting a unique cultural experience. The common room has a TV, a nice warm stove, and lots of other useful items such as maps, directions to points of interest, puzzles, games, books, and various tools for guests to use. There is also a computer in the common room which is free to use.

Breakfast was fine: a bounty of eggs and bread for guests to cook as desired, and juice and coffee to drink. There are eight burners on the stove which allows many people to cook at once. No complaints.

We asked one of the proprietors for directions to a local temple and he was happy to help out, in excellent English. We also made use of some written guides to reach various places that we found in the common room--very simple.

The location is good. It's located right beside Tumuli Park, which is connected to many bus lines and is just a short hike from downtown (maybe 20 minutes). We were able to walk to the National Museum and other local parks with ease. A tip for finding the hostel: from the main road (where the bus terminal is), you'll reach the corner of Tumuli Park. The road splits here: one goes straight (perpendicular to the main road), and the other hugs the wall of the park. Follow the wall! Don't get lost like we did!

Overall, I would highly recommend Sa Rang Chae.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Sa Rang Chae is placed near the wall that runs around Gyeongju Tumuli Park, the staff is very kind and makes you realy feel at home. The accomodations are traditional hanok rooms placed around a picturesque courtyard. The common room is very lively and full equiped for cooking and waving on the web. Breakfast included.
Unfortunately I stayed here only one night but I would like to come back one day with more time to chat with the owners and take my time in this peaceful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I have visited Sa Rang Chae about 5 times during my stay in Korea. The owners are very friendly and they are travellers themselves. Be aware once a year they take a vacation so book accordingly. Great in all seasons the rooms are authentic Korean, lots of Korean customs can be learned here. Easy access from either the bus or train station. Rooms can either be traditional hanok (on the floor matress) or on beds. The breakfast and cooking facilities are a big bonus.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

One of the most charming places where we have stayed during our trip through korea.

15 min walk from the express bus station, 5 min taxi ride from the train station. Owner provided a map and detailed route instruction upon booking. We arrived earlier than check in time but we could leave our bags in a separate room.

Owners speak English very well and they provide lots of information about the things to see and how to get there. Room was very clean and comfortable (ask for another mattress if the one provided is too thin) And you can make your own breakfast (toast, eggs, jam, tea, coffee) in the kitchen. Lovely place to sit in the garden and to talk to other travellers

5 mins from the guesthouse you can rent bicycles for 8000 won a day. Gyeongju is a beautiful place to bike around. Love to stay here again on a next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband has had more experience staying in traditional places, but this was my first. And it was a great experience! I loved staying here. The owners, who live on the premises, were very welcoming and friendly. They have 2 dogs and my husband, who is not keen about dogs, was a little nervous but after introducing ourselves to them, the dogs accepted us. It is a traditional Koren house with traditional sleeping arrangements - you sleep on the floor on thin mattresses. We are middle-aged and so are getting a little stiff, but it was easy to get used to and ended up being comfortable. Basic bathroom facilities at the back of the room with no towels provided - but available on request. There is a common room with free breakfast and WiFi. The location is wonderful - easy walking distance to many archaeological sites of the Silla kingdom. Opposite a tumuli park and easy walking distance to the town. We had a wonderful 2 meals at a traditional Korean BBQ - opposite to the historic sites, just turn left at the end of the street. Stay here if you are visiting Gyeongju - quiet and relaxed - highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrinsyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed here based upon the many glowing reviews seen on this site but maybe my expectations were driven too high by reading these prior to going...

Sure, it is well located within walking distance to the tumuli, the parks, the town centre for food etc but I think that the reviews here fail to highlight just how "backpacky" this place is and the target market they clearly aim and cater for. It was not the easiest place to find (we had our own rental car) but that's not a major issue of course. However the place itself was pretty average. The communal areas like the dining area and the kitchen were grubby and worn and not kept clean. Breakfast was, contrary to the many reports here saying it was fine and adequate, very disappointing ! I mean...staying at a "traditional Korean guesthouse" doesn't one reasonably expect a Korean breakfast instead of "do-it-yourself" toast and fried eggs...what's all that about ?! The room itself was very basic, again everything appeared not very clean, dusty and worn out. The courtyard was untidy with scruffy furniture (a strange mix of old wooden things with a few white plastic chairs thrown in) and a couple of unkempt-looking dogs running around barking (one of which was vomiting fluorescent yellow stuff over the courtyard while we were trying to sit and relax on one of the chairs) - if you don't like dogs may be worth considering whether this is the place for you. In general it had a very "backpacky" feel to it and not what I was expecting for the price. I fully agree with the comments regarding the owners / staff being friendly and helpful though.

In summary we stayed a few guesthouses during our fabulous trip to Korea but this one, I'm afraid, was the most under-whelming of the lot. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.5 mi away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 19 in Gyeongju
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gyeongju
133 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#2 of 19 in Gyeongju
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homo nomad Guesthouse
Homo nomad Guesthouse
#8 of 99 in Gyeongju
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Motel
Sugar Motel
#1 of 99 in Gyeongju
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floralspace Guest House
Floralspace Guest House
#15 of 99 in Gyeongju
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse

Property: Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Address: 238-1 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse Hotel Gyeongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing