We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed at this wonderful guesthouse with my dad for a night this past December. It was a bit more rustic than I had expected, but still a very fun place to stay. I would say it is somewhere between a b&b and a hostel, and as long as that is taken into consideration, it is fantastic. The hosts are so very nice and it is in such a fun neighborhood.

*** One decently obnoxious problem I did have was finding the place. Stupidly, I brought only my Lonely Planet guide to find Sa Rang Chae. The current Lonely Planet Guide to Korea has it quite wrong. It is near the location on the map, but certainly not there. Use the map on the guest house's website: http://www.kjstay.com/eng.htm, and it's actually quite easy to find. Again, this was purely my and Lonely Planet's fault, not Sa Rang Chae's.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

I cannot say enough about how wonderful my stay was at Sarang Chae. It was very easy to find, within a 15 minute walk of the bus terminal. The neighborhood is really quiet and the grounds of the guest house are so tranquil. Making a reservation was really simple, and I'd been worried since I asked about room availability the week I was planning on visiting.
The owner was so kind. He and his wife were truly gracious hosts and they showed us exactly how to get everywhere we needed to go. They even helped us with restaurant recommendations, and everywhere they suggested was delicious and inexpensive.
At night, the atmosphere becomes really cozy, with a firepit and quiet conversations out in the courtyard. When we came, the owner even treated us to a performance on his traditional Korean flute. The rooms were very clean, with bathrooms ensuite. We did have to ask for towels, but they were provided quickly and with a smile. The shower isn't your typical American shower inside a bathtub, but a showerhead attached to the wall with a drain on the floor of the bathroom, which is pretty typical of Korea. We slept really well, even for people who aren't used to sleeping on the floor.
All in all, it was a great place to experience traditional Korean culture. Oh, and the owner's Jindo dog was the sweetest thing ever!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AsiaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this traditional, affordable guesthouse in historic Gyeong-ju, Korea. The small rooms are centered around a courtyard, where the owner can be found reading the paper and relaxing with his dogs.

The room was very simple, with a futon for the floor, traditional ondol floor-heating system and an attached bathroom with shower (though I don't believe all rooms are ensuite). The room cost 30,000 won a night.

The owner spoke good English and provided us with a hairdryer, converter plugs, towels and shampoo / conditioner upon request, free of charge. He also sat down with us and a map of the city and gave us his recommendations for things to do and see. Bulguksa Temple, The National Museum and Tumuli Park were all highlights. The guesthouse is literally next to Tumuli Park, and in a good central location.

The social life of the guesthouse was laidback and friendly. We got into many conversations with other guests in the shared common room, while making breakfast together and swapping guidebooks. The owner provides eggs, bread, butter, jam, tea, coffee etc. for all patrons to help themselves in the morning. We could also use the computer and internet freely, and peruse the books and games in the common room. Very convivial atmosphere.

3 nights at this guesthouse helped make Gyeong-ju by far the best part of our trip to Korea, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oribia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

If you come to Gyongju and want to stay in a traditional manner but not too uncomfortable I recommend this guest house!

You can sleep on on the floor, the doors are made with oil paper and the places offers a nice courtyard to sit down and chat.

More important than that the owner is really friendly, speaks fluent english (did not see that very often in Korea...) and gives you plenty of informationen and tips about the area.

The rooms are clean and some offer a western bath. The shared baths are also clean and only used by a small number of guests.
The same room will be sold as single or double - depends on the number of people you reserve for.

Ask for the rooms which are seperated from the courtyard on the left side of the gate! These are three rooms, one with bath the other two share one in the garden.

The location is good, downtown is 15 minutes walk away, so is the bus terminal, the Tumulus park (famous attraction) is next door. A supermarket is just 50 meters away. A nice restaurant (food is ok, but location is great) is just behind the guesthouse. Ask the owner...

Prices: 20.000 Won - 30.000 Won per room and night


2  Thank chobbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 김 주
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank piyapong c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amandine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
4.1 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 24 in Gyeongju
758 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 24 in Gyeongju
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 24 in Gyeongju
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gyeongju
156 reviews
4.5 mi away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
0.5 mi away
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Gyeongju
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse

Address: 238-1 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse Hotel Gyeongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing