We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse and host”
Review of Tae Gong Gak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seogwipo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tae Gong Gak
Ranked #1 of 189 Seogwipo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room was very cosy which my children enjoy the bunk bed. They also provide ample choice of food for breakfast. The host, Sylvia was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and choices of food for dinner around the area.

Will definitely visit again if got the chance.

Recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank YongFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Tae Gong Gak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Delayed review.. I stayed here last year Sept with my Mum during our Jeju lsland 4d3n portion. Recommended by friends therefore booked with them. Slyvia the owner was really kind,helpful and awesome in making sure we enjoy Jejudo. We were well taken care of!
Location is good.theres a airport bus available.we hired a taxi tour guide for 3days to cover east, west and hallasan/central areas. Slyvia always make sure to let the driver know what we want to see and explains the route to both us and the driver. Love the food recommendations that Slyvia suggested us! Walking distance from TGG. I would love to stay there again if I'm revisiting!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nana_aristocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is so overdue since i went in May 2014, but i haven't had the time to compliment this wonderful guesthouse that's really like a home away from home! Easy to get to using the airport bus #600, Tae Gong Gak Inn & Guesthouse was just across the busstop that we alight at. Upon arrival, Sylvia was really warm & friendly & offered us help & guidance when we obviously look lost. Rooms were clean & cosy, and i especially loved the heated floor which we switched on every night cos the weather was too cold for me. And i loved the breakfast room/pantry! It's not fancy, but the cosy & relax setting really brings a fresh start to every morning. During the trip, Sylvia gave us lots of tips of where to visit & where is probably too tourist-sy. And i loved how committed she & her staff & their group of guides are to being up-to-date about the attraction places. Like on our 3rd day, they recommend us to go to this coastal area which was absolutely stunning. The place is only opened on certain days depending on the weather, so it's seriously like they gets all these information early in the morning & will gladly pass on to their guests. When i visit Jeju again, this is definitely where i will be staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belovedjkmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The true value of this establishment is the outstanding service rendered by Sylvia. I will list a few examples of how her small touches contributed to an amazing jeju experience.

1) Provided list of nearby food recommendations in both English and Korean to facilitate communication with taxi drivers. Her recommendations were spot on delicious and affordable. Meals in jeju revolved around abalone and black pork!

2) our prebooked taxi driver Mr Moon cancelled last minute and she was able to source taxi drivers on the fly who could speak basic English and bring you to photogenic spots for beautiful pictures.

3) most importantly, Sylvia optimises your tour itinerary and gives valuable advice on how best to spend your time in jeju. To facilitate planning, she has loads of pictures on her computer of the various tourist destinations. Following that, she runs through the itinerary with the taxi driver to ensure the tour proceeds without a hitch.

I will not hesitate to stay in TGG during my next visit to jeju!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Sylvia was absolutely warm and lovely. She responded very quickly to all queries during & before our stay. The rooms are cosy & very clean. We stayed on the 2nd floor, 2 short flights of stairs up. It's ok since our luggage is not that heavy. Breakfast room is located on ground floor, a nice place to chat with other guest & exchanging notes. Ample food & beverages (bread with a variety of spreads, cereal, instant noodles, several types of fruits & eggs/several types of juices, milk, soy milk, coffee & tea).
We hired an mpv with driver since there are 8 of us to explore the island. But Sylvia can also help to make such arrangements but we already confirmed ours beforehand.
Sylvia, thanks for the wonderful hospitality. Highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's not a hotel, its a HOME! So don't compare it with hotels ❤️
I don't really know abt Jeju, as i only stayed for two nights, so i cant tell whether its a nice area in Jeju and i cant compare, but the area that i stayed, i found it relaxing and nice, so if u r looking for somewhere to have a chill time, here would be a place u love also as i didnt plan ahead before going there, i didnt knw what to do and have for meals, but the ppl there in TGG, they helped a lot, they gave us a lot of good suggestions, and clear directions with pics of the routes of going to the places. GREAT PLACE, with AWESOME PPL! ❤️

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lillieyukyukyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I spent 3 nights in a Western double for single use at the Tae Gong Gak Inn and Guesthouse and found it delightful!

The owner – Sylvia – and her staff could not have been more helpful, either before my trip (by responding promptly and clearly to quite a few e-mails) or during my visit. Sylvia seems genuinely committed to helping her guests enjoy their time in Jeju and she uses her knowledge of the island, and the information she gains through talking to her guests, to provide individually tailored suggestions. She and her staff have photographed key points along the route that visitors are likely to take to get to any number of destinations, and they have posted those photographs on a computer at the desk, so when someone is planning to visit X, they can walk them through the photos, pointing out key things to watch for along the route. In all my travels, I’ve never known a hotel to do that, and it was very helpful -- kudos!

Guests prepare there own breakfasts in a well-stocked kitchen (no need to purchase anything unless you want to), and OMG, I enjoyed these breakfasts! Bagels and cream cheese; eggs the way I like them; coffee brewed to the strength I prefer and with the option of adding milk; yogurt; a variety of fresh fruits….

My room was spotless, very comfortable, and nicely appointed – it even included pillows in two different sizes. It was just steps from the bus stops for the airport and Jungman Resort and an easy walk to the stop for most (all?) other buses that serve Seogwipo, it was close to several very tasty restaurants (which Sylvia was happy to recommend), and it provided easy access by foot to the harbor and its sites. The guesthouse also has a back yard (most of the fruit trees were, unfortunately, removed recently), a seating area outside the front office, and a roof deck offering a pleasant view over the harbor. Nice!

If I ever return to Jeju-do, I would happily stay at the Tae Gong Gak again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
0.1 mi away
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
#10 of 93 in Seogwipo
262 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#3 of 157 in Jeju
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
8.0 mi away
Benikea Jungmun Hotel
Benikea Jungmun Hotel
#1 of 93 in Seogwipo
206 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#2 of 93 in Seogwipo
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tae Gong Gak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tae Gong Gak

Address: 369, Taepyung-Ro | (Seogwi-Dong), Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-812, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Seogwipo
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tae Gong Gak Inn sits atop a hill that looks down on the famous Cheonjiyeon Waterfall in Seogwipo City on the south coast of Jeju Island. By taking #600 airport limousine from jeju airport you can easily arrive at TGG. TGG provides with top-of-the-line amenities including 29-inch flat-screen plasma TV, refrigerator, air conditioning, and WIFI. Our new rooms feature sweeping views of Jeju's natural wonders, including Seogwipo Harbor and Mt. Halla. In addition, from our rooftop you can enjoy panoramic views of the South Sea (Seop Island, Moon Island, and Sae Island). It is easy and convenient to reach any part of Jeju Island from Tae Gong Gak Inn by public transportation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tae Gong Gak Inn & Guesthouse Hotel Seogwipo
Tae Gong Gak Inn And Guesthouse
Tae Gong Gak Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing