We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Guesthouse in Jeju”
Review of Tae Gong Gak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seogwipo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tae Gong Gak
Ranked #1 of 189 Seogwipo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My family and I stayed at Tae Gong Gak, for 2 nights (14th to 15th Nov). The rooms are spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. Everything in the room looks new. There is even a rooftop terrace where you can get a panoramic view of the Seogwipo harbour.

The location was perfect! Located at heart of Seogwipo city. There are plenty of good restaurants and sightseeing attractions around. It is only 3 minutes from the hotel to the bus stop for airport limousine bus.

The English speaking owner, Mr Jang is incredibly helpful and attentive to our needs. He even drove us around for slight seeing on our last day in Jeju.

We would most definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone coming Jeju.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferris_wheel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Tae Gong Gak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

My family of four (two children 6 and 9) stayed for two nights at Tae Gong Gak Inn and we loved it. We only had one day to tour Jeju Island but the hosts helped us immensely to get the most out of that one day. Our stay began with our reservations; the host Key Jang emailed us and provided specific directions to get to the Inn. It was helpful that he spoke English, especially when it came time to get help with our one-day Island tour (we had spent the previous week on the Korean mainland where English was limited so this was refreshing).

When we arrived at 9 p.m. after a long tiring day of travel, we were greeted by name at the door by Key Jang, who was very friendly. He carried our heavy suitcase up three flights of stairs and his daughter helped get the children's bedding ready (these were clean roll-out mats and good blankets). They explained the layout of the place and told us about breakfast, which I didn't even know came with the stay! The room was spotless, large and equipped with a flatscreen tv, temperature controls, a good shower, a refrigerator with cold water and ceramic cups to drink from, and a hair dryer. The view from our room looked over the harbor and was just amazing. The only drawback was the queen sized bed was really flat and hard, but it was clean and we were still able to sleep.

The next morning we had an American-style breakfast of toast, bagels, yogurt, Frosted Flakes, milk, coffee, soft boiled eggs, and fruit. It's limited if you have certain dietary restrictions but it worked well to fill up the four of us since there was so much variety. Both mornings we were there either Key or Sylvia, the hostess, came to talk to us. We saw guests from Europe, America, and Korea, and Sylvia always introduced us to each other.

We are grateful that Key Jang helped us plan our day based on what we wanted to do and what he recommended. He wrote a travel itinerary on two papers; one in Korean and one in English. Then he flagged a taxi for us and negotiated a daily hire rate (the first taxi declined but the second one accepted and it turned out well).

I had a good time talking to the hosts and learning about Tae Gong Gak. We even ran into the daughter while we wandered the evening streets of Seogwipo--she helped with dinner recommendations.

Finally, our stay was made even better because the rate was so inexpensive. I can't imagine it is going to stay that low with the level of service they provide, but if it does there really is no way you should stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I agreed with all the review for Tae Gong Gak. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed very minute of it.

The owners - Sylvia and Kee Beom are very friendly and helpful. We even managed to washed our clothes here.

I will not stay at any other place if I goes to Jeju again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank kiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed here for six nights after reading positive reviews here. The room was the best we had stayed in during our two-week Korea travel - clean, good amenities, modern decor and good-sized private bathroom. We also had a room with views of Seogwipo harbour. The location is great and the owners - Sylvia and Jang - are first-rate. Very helpful, enthusiastic and friendly. We enjoyed a couple of great dinners out on their suggestion.

Included is a continental breakfast of mainly toast, cereal, juice, tea/coffee and boiled eggs, which provided for a nice start to each day. During longer stays, you have to request clean towels and water. Our room was not cleaned once during our stay, which was a bit disappointing. However, our request for clean towels was quickly attended to.

Overall, a great place to stay while visiting Jeju Island. It is a 10 minute walk into the centre of Seogwipo city and a short bus trip to the Jungmun beach area, KAL hotel for hire cars (highly recommended) and other sites (all about 1500 won [about US$1.5]). The same bus (no. 600) also acts as a shuttle to the international airport near Jeju-city (takes about 1.5 hours; costs 5000 won [$5]).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qweruioper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

An absolutely wonderful place. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was excellent with a beautiful view from the roof! Just a short walk from the water and Cheonjiyeon waterfall. Sylvia and Kee Beom were two of the kindest and most helpful hosts I've met. A warm and friendly atmosphere with a decent breakfast provided in the mornings, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I have spent two weeks at Tae Gong Gak and it was proven a good choice.

The hotel owners are very caretaking and help out whereever they can: sightseeing, transportation, restaurants.
And english speaking people are not common in Korea!

The location is perfect in Seogwipo: Easy to reach by Airport Limousine Bus and in walking distance to Seogwipo Center (as well as to the Big Blue 33 Dive Center).

The rooms are very clean and everything is pretty new.

This hotel is a very good choice for a moderate budgeted holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCUBA_TravelerAachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Sylvia and her husband (owners of this hotel) are really nice and have a real sense of hospitality. They gave us a lot of advices on the sightseeing and restaurants in the island. Everything in the hotel is new, rooms are big, such as bathroom, everything is clean. W were there for 4 nights with our two kids and we spent good time in this place. We gonna get there again the next time in Jeju.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Carliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
0.1 mi away
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
#10 of 93 in Seogwipo
262 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#3 of 157 in Jeju
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#2 of 93 in Seogwipo
732 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#9 of 93 in Seogwipo
907 reviews
17.5 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tae Gong Gak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tae Gong Gak

Address: 369, Taepyung-Ro | (Seogwi-Dong), Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-812, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Seogwipo
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tae Gong Gak Inn sits atop a hill that looks down on the famous Cheonjiyeon Waterfall in Seogwipo City on the south coast of Jeju Island. By taking #600 airport limousine from jeju airport you can easily arrive at TGG. TGG provides with top-of-the-line amenities including 29-inch flat-screen plasma TV, refrigerator, air conditioning, and WIFI. Our new rooms feature sweeping views of Jeju's natural wonders, including Seogwipo Harbor and Mt. Halla. In addition, from our rooftop you can enjoy panoramic views of the South Sea (Seop Island, Moon Island, and Sae Island). It is easy and convenient to reach any part of Jeju Island from Tae Gong Gak Inn by public transportation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tae Gong Gak Inn & Guesthouse Hotel Seogwipo
Tae Gong Gak Inn And Guesthouse
Tae Gong Gak Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing