We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price meets Expectations”
Review of The Shilla Jeju

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shilla Jeju
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Seogwipo
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Price meets Expectations”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at the Shilla for a business trip. It's a beautiful resort hotel with plenty of amenities. We were lucky to have breakfast included and it was one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever experienced. Pastries, eggs your way, french toast, fresh fruit, homemade yoghurt, korean choices too. The rooms are beautiful including TVs over the bathtub (a bit much for me). Indoor/outdoor year-round pool, nice gym, but even better great access to the Olleh trail and if you like stairs a nice up and down workout to the beach. Lovely entertainment during afternoon tea in the lobby and by the pool in the evening. Movies on the beach at night.

Prices are high, really high for meals and drinks. We did not eat here for other meals. And I found it interesting that there were a large number of young wealthy Korean couples with toddlers and babies. Must be the in place to be.

Room Tip: I was on the backside of the hotel, but still a good view and if you are there on the right night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sckartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillaJejuGRO, Guest Relations Manager at The Shilla Jeju, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to complete the guest comment card prior to your departure from The Shilla Jeju.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time staying in The Shilla Jeju. Your kind comments are highly appreciated and indeed most encouraging.

I personally extend your comments to the staff and we will continue planning for rendering better service for all our patron’s satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. I hope each consecutive visit is a rewarding positive experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    169
    46
    13
    14
See reviews for
234
141
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

4 nights @ jeju shilla great services by staff (greatly impressive)beautiful sea view
Hope to return visit
My last night stay now
Breakfast food spread excellent with most attentive smiling employee
Overall staff attitude: fantastic

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wilmansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillaJejuGRO, Guest Relations Manager at The Shilla Jeju, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to complete the guest comment card prior to your departure from The Shilla Jeju.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time staying in The Shilla Jeju. Your kind comments are highly appreciated and indeed most encouraging.

I personally extend your comments to the staff and we will continue planning for rendering better service for all our patron’s satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. I hope each consecutive visit is a rewarding positive experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently at this hotel in four years from last stay. Had been there many times and used to be one of my favorite hotels until this time.
Changed a bit since then including reception system, outdoor pools and, especially, room rates. They raised the room rate quite a bit, but only published rates. If you book through hotels.com or any sites akin, you may save a lot than booking through their website or through the direct call to their reservation center. I was surprised by the difference of the rates which was quite strange. I was surprised again by the food quality. I had dinner at their teppan yaki restaurant. We two were the only guests at their Japanese restaurant that evening. The teppan yaki course we ordered was 140 US dollars per person. Wines on their wine list were much overpriced. Columbia crest Cab Sav was $100!!!. I ordered one of their cheapest wines of similar grade at $100 a bottle. The food served however was no good. We couldn't finish the beef they served because it looked like having been frozen for a long time. I complained to the chef who cooked in front of us and he admitted after he took a piece back to the kitchen. He offered a free desert instead. No head chef, no manager came to us for apology even though we left most of the beef, the main course. We believe we were not properly attended even though we were the only guests at the restaurant. I don't know what went wrong with this hotel during the last few years. It was not like this until four year ago. Not going back, ever.


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bduckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillaJejuGRO, Guest Relations Manager at The Shilla Jeju, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear, Mr. bduckk


Thank you very much for having taken the time to complete the review on TripAdvisor!

Regarding as your abiding interest, we will return with better hospitable service.


First of all, we deeply apologize to your uncomfortable experiences occured in our Japanese restaurant.

As you mentioned, for this kind of case, head chef or manager had to make an apology, but didn't.

We have noticed to supervisor of F&B department, and asked service improvement, not to occur same case again.



On the ohter hand, Room rates are kind of hotel policies.

Rack rates are fixed, however, selling rates are adjustable and depend on season, occupancy and channels.

We ask your generous understand, and thank you again for your precious comments.



We are deeply looking forward to have next chance to serve you with heartwarming hospitality.

Best wishes for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Guest Relation Office
The Shilla Jeju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were there for a week end with our 3 years old son and we had a very good time. The staff is extremely kind and patient. This is really a family oriented hotel. I loved the connected pool and the outdoor warm jacuzzi. The Hotel has its own private beach and the private beach house is also open in winter. This means that while your kid is exploring the beach you can enjoy a drink and relax at the bar.
I loved the free mandarine touch from 12 - 17 every day! And at our arrival we received two free coupon for 13 wines tasting each!

Rooms are ok, not what I would have expected for the price, they have the standard amenities but the family suite is not a suite but a room not particularly big with three beds. Decoration is kind of old style.
Many reviews mentioned the food, food is expensive as you would expect in a similar category hotel but food at the korean restaurant is mediocre at best and this was a surprise as dinner at the Japanese restaurant was a very pleasant experience.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience in a very family friendly environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffap230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillaJejuGRO, Guest Relations Manager at The Shilla Jeju, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear. Raffa P.

Thank you for taking so much of your time to write a review of the Jeju Shilla Hotel.

We are extremely pleased to read that you and your family had a pleasant experience at the Jeju Shilla, and received most exceptional service from our Shilla associates.

Rest assured that your comments regarding decor and food will be taken into consideration, as we continually strive to improve our amenities and services.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback
and we look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.

Sincerely,


Guest Relation Office
The Shilla Jeju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehr
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The overall experience that you should expect there is sit back, calm down and relax! especially the outdoor pool is really pleasant during the snowy times. Good breakfast. it is more a couples destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShillaJejuGRO, Guest Relations Manager at The Shilla Jeju, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Ali J.

Thank you very much for choosing the Jeju Shilla Hotel.Your comments are greatly appreciated!

We are extremely pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast at our hotel.

All our Jeju Shilla Hotel associates will continue to provide consistent exceptional service to all our valued guests, and we do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relation Office
The Shilla Jeju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing outdoor and scenery. The beach and it's Little house are cozy. Nice swimming pool. but food was outrageously expensive. coffee for 17$, main dishes for $50, breakfast at 45$. This did not give the chance to relax inside the hotel. Too many smokers at the hotel,

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gbotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was here for a conference in the fall, so it was a little cool, but first and foremost, it is a great hotel, extremely well-kept up and efficient luxury. But I could see that in warmer weather, it could be even more enjoyable to come to this place on the resort island of Jeju. I did manage to take a small walk outside along the cliffs and it was spectacular

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#3 of 86 in Seogwipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#7 of 86 in Seogwipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington Jeju Hotel
Kensington Jeju Hotel
#6 of 86 in Seogwipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 149 in Jeju
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
25.8 mi away
Haevichi Hotel & Resort Jeju
17.4 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Jeju

Property: The Shilla Jeju
Address: 72beon-Gil | Jungmungwanggwang-Ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-807, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Business Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Family Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Shilla Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Jeju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Seogwipo
The Shilla Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing