We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Memory In Jeju Pension
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Toscana Hotel(Seogwipo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bareve(Seogwipo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
The Seri Resort(Seogwipo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Sumorum(Seogwipo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WE Hotel(Seogwipo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
10
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
8
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights during our first visit to Jeju Do. We rented a car at the airport with GPS but still it took us a while to find the correct address. The pension is located in the middle of Seogwipo and Jung men and is close to emart seogwipo. The place itself looks beautiful and peaceful with an extraordinary view to the sea. In the room is equiped a kitchen corner which is quite useful for family travelling with small kids. In general, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely pension. However its highly sugested to rent a car coz you will be scared when walking back in the night, there is no lighting on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryjeju, 오너 at Memory In Jeju Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hi Wei Wang.
How have you been lately?
This is Darcy from Memory in Jeju.
Thank you for your nice review on my place.
It is great that you enjoyed your stay in Jeju with my apartment.
Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

my family and i stayed at Memory in Jeju Pension for 3 nights. We rent a car at the airport and though it had GPS, we still had a difficult time to figure out how to use it as it's in Korean. lastly, we had to ask Darcy (home owner) for help. thanks Darcy for coming to lead us to his place.
Memory in Jeju Pension is a quiet and peaceful place. we arrived at the place in the evening. the first thing i noticed was homeowner's dog and his nice garden, as well as the soft music in the garden, feel like home.
we stayed in two houses and the washroom on the second floor is really big. i like the wood floor in the house, simple but neat decoration. The location of Memory in Jeju Pension is convenient. somehow it's like located in the middle of Jeju and so, it doesnt take that long to drive to tourist spots. there is a E-mart nearby and we loved it as not all family members liked the local dishes served in most restaurants in Jeju. so, we cooked simple dishes at the Pension. the house is spacious enough for us to gather, watching TV and eat togather.
the surrounding environment is nice. my sister and i went jogging in the morning. the weather was not that good during our visit. however, on the last day we stayed there, the sky was clear and finally we could see the sea from the pension. there is a small, private area in front of each house, and it should be nice for friends or family to sit there and chat.
Darcy (home owner) speaks good English, freindly and helpful. if there is any quiestion about his place, just email him and he will respond to you as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hk_kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryjeju, 오너 at Memory In Jeju Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Kit

How is HK? Thank you for the nice review.
Yes.. you were here with Korean GPS. That was challenging for sure.
I am very happy you & your family liked my place.
I should have helped more.... but I was quite busy as it was very peak season here.
I hoped you have good memories of Jeju even you had difficulties in communication with local people.
My dogs wll be happy to hear your hello.
Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

jeju is the place to go for fresh, clean air! memory pension is the place to stay for au-natural jeju experience!

Darcy (home owner) is the best homeowner in korea i've met. he speaks fluent english and recommends great places to go!

to get around jeju/memory pension, i strongly recommend everyone to rent a car for convenience. for those travelling without car, you can take airport limousine bus 600 (4,500won; 1hr ride) to seogwipo Emart then a cab (7,000won; 8mins) to memory pension. Do bring along memory pension's contact info...jeju cab drivers are generally friendly and would call Darcy for directions if needed.

2 pax and we booked room type 15. the place is true to photos posted on their website! exactly how it looks, cozy and spacious with great scenary and au-natural surroundings.

during check-in, Darcy checked if we had jeju maps or places to go. knowing that we travelled without a car and the inconvenience of getting around east of jeju for tourist attractions, he assisted to arrange a cab. very helpful host!

evenings at memory pension are beautiful when the lights lit up. romantic feel and couples could enjoy a stroll around the pension area.

all in all, memories in jeju :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JudithKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryjeju, 오너 at Memory In Jeju Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Hello Judith Lim

How have you been lately? Did you fly back safe to Baijing?
Thank you very much for such a nice review.

It was very nice experience to meet you guys to understand your culture and Chinese culture as well.
I hope you have great woking experiences in China and hoply see you some time around in somewhere.

Thanks for the review again.

ps. How come you pay 8000won from Emart to my place. It is about 4000won ㅜㅜ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Quiet & peaceful stay in the little cottage-liked pension in Jeju. My friend and I were thrilled by the beautiful pension. It was not difficult to drive to the pension using GPS. If you would like to have a getaway from the city, this is the right place. :) And I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tangotan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryjeju, 오너 at Memory In Jeju Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hi~ Tango~
How have you been~
Thank you very much for your review~
It's been a while that you visited my place already~
You were the one of the very first foriegn guests.
I also read alot of reivew about Thailand. I envy you very much~

Thanks again for your review~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My family & I just came back from Jeju (our first time there). We stayed in Memory in Jeju Pension for 4 nights.

This new pension was built last year by owner Darcy. You can see the efforts & thoughts in designing the pension & surrounding area. As we live in the city, we appreciate & love the pension for the peaceful space, design & closeness to nature. Rather than crowded by massive establishment, the pension is surrounded by trees, garden, & landscaping, and has a view of the sea some distance ahead.

From the outside, the pension looks like a modern European toy-land. We understand from Darcy that it is built using Jeju wood & environmental friendly material. Inside the house, it is tastefully decorated by paintings of famous Korean artists, vases etc. On our last day in Jeju, we did not venture out of the pension & spent the day enjoying the pension & relaxing in the outdoor area.

The pension looks as beautiful as the photos on their website. The website mentioned that the English site is in construction. For non-korean readers, you can reserve a room by emailing them. Darcy speaks & writes good English. You can also find more information on this pension through the korean tourism board website.

Darcy is also friendly and helped us in any way that we needed assistance. He came by in the evenings to see if we were doing fine. In fact, we arrived at the pension in the evening, on the eve of a potential typhoon, and he was standing outside the pension in a raincoat, braving the strong winds & rain. We were worried of the pending typhoon, but he assured us & told us that he would help us settle our meals should we be unable to venture out. Luckily the typhoon changed its course subsequently & we could enjoy Jeju happily.

Our family of 4 adults stayed in room type 30 (they also have houses for 2 pax). It is a 2-storey house with a mini garden, 2 bathrooms (we love showering in the big bathroom on the 2nd floor), a fully furnished kitchen (electric kettle, rice cooker, oven, refrigerator, pots & pans, utensils, cups & wine glasses, wine opener...), TV with many channels, small balcony on 2nd floor, a dressing area, 1 double size bed & 1 sofa bed.

Also available: wireless internet (signal is strong), hair dryer, towels, toothpaste, soap, shampoo & body shower. Darcy mentioned that there is no toothbrush, so we brought ours along.

The pension is located in Seoguipo City. Directions from the airport: At Jeju Airport, you can take limousine bus number 600 (as of Sep 2012, it costed 4500 Won per pax). The journey takes about 1 hour & you can get off at World Cup Stadium stop, which is also the entrance of Emart (big supermarket in Jeju, with a small food court inside). From there, you can take a short car/cab ride to reach the pension (about 5 mins).

As for getting around Jeju, we decided on the places we want to visit & Darcy helped us arrange for a cab driver, & we enjoyed our days in Jeju greatly. You can also engage your own driver or rent a car.

When in Jeju, do try their black pork bbq & sliced pork noodles. Both recommended by Darcy & they are 2 of my favourite meals in Jeju & Seoul!

If there is anything you need to take note, I think it will be useful for non-korean speakers to bring along the name & address in Korean, as well as phone number of the pension so that you can pass it to any cab driver/ locals with ease:
(Memory Pension, in Korean) 메모리펜션

Overall, we were able to live comfortably in this lovely pension & enjoyed our peaceful stay there. I absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank yyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews