We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night on group tour was all we need”
Review of Seogwipo KAL Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seogwipo KAL Hotel
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As we go in as a grp tour, realise most of them guests are chinese guests. Anyway, one night is enough for us to stay. NO WIFI, need pay money for wifi. remember WIFI was not cheap. yet WIFI is very troublesome. Says just log in thru wifi and use their wifi and they will automatically charged as u use, TRY it, but its not working, WIFI cant be use, anyway lucky jus a night. Toiletries was cheap, just a small bar soap... Bed, .... tsk .. feeel itchy when sleeping. Breakfast, selection was little.

Room Tip: Nothing to choose. Maybe choose a lower floor room, heard can get free wifi as the free wifi only ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yannfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Let me start out by saying that this hotel is on a very beautiful property with high class views.

We stayed in a suite and it was so dirty and outdated. The wallpaper, the carpets, the tile, they all have so much grime it was like staying at a sleazy hotel in a 3rd world nation. I would have been embarrassed if I was the owning company of this.

My wife and I and baby stayed here and it was disgusting. Our friends rooms were no better. We were so sad to come all the way to JeJu and have this experience.

The restaurant and lounge were fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnBolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I chose Seogwipo KAL blindly based on a couple of reviews and a supposed 5 star rating. I underestimated the trip from the airport. That was painfully long on the shuttle #600. The hotel looks great from the outside and the views are great. Beautiful grounds. Unfortunately I had a 2 star experience with the rooms. The things one normally expects in a 5 star - like a way to make hot water, a reasonably sized room, a decent bed, and even little things like shampoo, soap, and a tooth brush were nowhere to be found. WI-FI was extra and expensive, and inside the hotel, the phone service died - like the cone of silence. Bad choice by me. Luckily only 2 nights. Seogwipo has a lot to offer, but you need a taxi for most of it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petmyluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was in Jeju to attend one conference. This hotel Seogwipo KAL Hotel is quite far away (ca. 30 mins) from Jeju´s international conference center. It is about 1 hour bus drive from Jeju´s airport and easily reached by airport bus. The closest grocery store was about 15 mins walk away. Hotel was located in nice area close to sea.

My hotel room was nice and big in size. Everything needed was included, except WIFI. You were asked to pay for the use of WIFI, that was unbelievable!

Breakfast amazing, but make sure that the prize is included in your room prize, otherwise you need to pay lot extra money for it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenlaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

the location is far from city center making it a very good location for a peaceful vacation,however don't give it a try if you want to explore the city on your foot as you won't get any place to visit near this resort. although it is far from airport and jeju city ,it is the designated last stop for airport express bus which means you are connected all the time. the views from balcony is stunning. staff and rooms were up to the standers and food was expensive with limited options. you can get ready to eat foods from nearby shops outside the resort(1km)

Room Tip: ask for room facing beach rather than one facing mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashu802005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was a very nice hotel. We enjoyed staying there very much. Breakfast and dinner were so delicious. One minus is quite far from the airport. It takes about 1 and half hours to get there from the airport by bus.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are better because you can get a nice ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitoshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First, I was annoyed by the notes of the people who have been there during the same days (Oct. 2013). Some of them were annoyed to get "only" one bottle of water. Well, in most of other hotels I get no water at all. Mostly, the water bottle has a price tag between 8 and 12 dollars. And it is warm! KAL Hotel gives you a bottle of cold water free. And the rest of the minibar is cheaper than at the bar. Normally, I am annoyed to pay more in my room than at the bar.

Where they are right is the number of the stars. Now, this hotel is a family hotel for Koreans, and no five-star superdouper international hotel. The staff does not seem to speak English (same as in many US or French hotels).

The restaurant is somewhat pricey, same is true for some beers. But it takes some minutes to get to town, and the taxi is less than five dollars. The bus 600 takes you to town for about 1 dollar. Why to complain that the premises are not in a town? The gardens are really beautiful and end with rocks at the ocean. One can even spend a whole day walking through them and visiting the green house.

I was very happy with the hotel, but it is really no five stars. My photos of the premises are superb.

Room Tip: Ocean View towards East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seogwipo hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sumorum
Hotel Sumorum
#19 of 94 in Seogwipo
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Jeju Seogwipo Harbor
1.1 mi away
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
#14 of 94 in Seogwipo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Sunshine Jeju
Park Sunshine Jeju
#10 of 94 in Seogwipo
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
#22 of 94 in Seogwipo
63 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#9 of 94 in Seogwipo
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seogwipo KAL Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seogwipo KAL Hotel

Address: 242, Chilsimni-ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 63599, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seogwipo KAL Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seogwipo KAL Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seogwipo KAL Hotel Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing