We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for HHI visit, not advisable for any holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hyundai Ulsan
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Ulsan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Hotel is on a premium location for a HHI visit, acceptable quality of the room, either my small dining table was dirty when entering the room. I quote this hotel average as the price for the room and food is quite expensive. More in town you can better deals for less money. For the food I ordered a tenderloin steak (room service) was cooked to perfection, I only suggest to order without the cheese, spoiled the taste of the steak.

Room Tip: From colleagues recommendation the suite is excellent, but twice expensive.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hyundai Ulsan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently placed in Ulsan - particularly for those accessing Hyundai Heavy Industries yard which is literally across the road although does not spoil the view.

I stayed in a standard room the first night - which was standard, as you might expect. The following nights though I upgraded to the suite. Wow, the suite is fantastic and I recommend for at least a night. Spacious and very well furnished. Particularly nice desk work business work.

Restaurant does a great buffet with various seafood and meats. Including lobster.

Newly opened is a bistro bar on the basement floor which is very stylish.

Friendly staff top off this review. No negatives.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank gazpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Check in simple and easy.
Room was satisfactory but due to being full could only get twin room, which wasn't too bad as bed was big enough.
Expensive for room only KRW187,000.
Probably the main reason you stay there is to visit HHI and so normally wake early, however on my last stay it was exceptionally noisy from 5:30.
Rooms/Bathrooms are a bit dated and could do with a make over.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as less noisy, BUT has only view of car park and hospital.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanKay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Checking in was simple and quick.
Room was excellent, bed very comfortable spacious, shower and bath in good condition and plenty of hot water.
Concierge was very helpful with directions and obtaining a taxi, giving driver directions for me.
Buffet in Hotel is very good numerous choices great food and sushi too.
Also ate in coffee shop, service reasonably quick quality very good and very tasty.
Made use of barber downstairs, excellent service and from there went to downstairs lounge bar which was small, cosy and very comfortable
Overall the experience was very good, prices are what they are, Korea is not cheap if you want Western comforts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterNIcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel is in a great location for access to Hyundai Shipyard, unsurprisingly! Room was a good size, and comfortable enough. Buffet resturant was good, standard selections. Coffee shop offers an alternative for lunch. Travel plans changed due to heavy snow during February, hotel ended up being fully booked, had to move hotels. Staff were very helpful with Hotel, Airport and Flight information during the chaos!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

In Brief...
Good:
Comfortable bed.
Free wifi.
Big room
High tech toilet seat warmer with other functions
Nice features like waterfall outside lobby level cafe.
Good breakfast buffet

Bad:
Mould around bath tub
Few power-points and they are difficult to get at.
Wifi keeps glitching and be unusable for hours.
Very expensive
Breakfast - No healthy breads and No plate warmer, plastic processed cheese and Canned fruit juice not fresh WHAT!!!

This is the second time I visited this hotel because of its location next to the Hyundai shipyard main gate... a three minute walk. The hotel is next to the small but beautiful Hyundai park. On the other side of the park is the Hyundai department store where you can buy all the usual expensive label stuff but it also has an excellent and reasonably priced food court.

The hotel staff are excellent but the hotel itself needs to be modernised especially the rooms. It is very overpriced for what it gives.

The bed is comfortable but the bathroom is very 90's. A short bath-tub with a shower. I found that the bath-tub had black mould in grout around the tub. Not good maintenance. The complimentary soaps etc are average quality but the towels are good.

Strangely the power points are few, not suitable for international travellers with different plugs and difficult to get to. A pain for charing all your phone, gadgets and laptop.

Also the light switch box next to the bed is very old and like something out of a 70's James Bond movie. I have heard some of the rooms have been updated and have touch pad controls.

I preferred to eat and drink out as the hotel is very expensive and doesn't have much atmosphere. I like the cafe with the waterfall outside the window but at $9 for a coffee!! The breakfast buffet is ok but only if your company is paying!

TV channels are ok. The bar was nice and had a live band which was ok but drinks were very expensive... no surprise there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lokamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. The hotel charges close to $300 a night if you want breakfast included, but doesn't deliver value for even half of this amount. My room was quite spacious but looked very old and tired, decor and carpets were so very '80s with wood panels and dated bathroom. The mattress was a little old and lumpy too, but linens were changed daily which is a plus. Expensive buffet breakfast was nothing to rave about, but helped start the day. Located in Dong district there is nothing around the hotel, but it is close to HHI and HMC if this is where you have to go every day. I was surprised that reception staff was not helpful at all when asked for recommendations or locations.
Next time I will opt for Lotte hotel downtown when in Ulsan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewWave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulsan
5.4 mi away
Lotte Hotel Ulsan
Lotte Hotel Ulsan
#1 of 25 in Ulsan
266 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Ulsan
5.8 mi away
Shilla Stay Ulsan
Shilla Stay Ulsan
#3 of 25 in Ulsan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ulsan City Hotel
Ulsan City Hotel
#5 of 25 in Ulsan
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 25 in Ulsan
23 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 23 in Gyeongju
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hyundai Ulsan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hyundai Ulsan

Address: 875, Bangeojinsunhwando-ro, Dong-gu | South Korea, Ulsan 44033, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Ulsan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Ulsan
Price Range: £105 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hyundai Ulsan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect destination for business and travel Hotel Hyundai Ulsan is a business hotel, adjacent to Hyundai Heavy Industries, the top shipbuilder in the world, and a bathing resort in the beautiful eastern coast of South Korea. With a wealth of experience in hosting numerous international events, accommodating national guests and providing top class services, the hotel has been known as “Ulsan’s Best Hotel” and “ The Best Hotel for Business and Sightseeing” since it opened in January 1983. Through continuous improvements and innovations, Hotel Hyundai Ulsan will continue to provide you with the best quality services for your happiness and comfort. Hotel Hyundai Ulsan presents a new tourism business which includes industrial facility tours such as Hyundai Heavy Industries, Hyundai Motor, Daewangam Park, Ulsan Bridge’s Observatory, Jangsaengpo Whale Museum and east coast beaches. Also thanks to the recently opened Ulsan Bridge, Hotel Hyundai Ulsan is becoming a more convenient to observe the night view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hyundai Ulsan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing