We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind of "hotel particulier"accomodation”
Review of Panchi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panchi Villa
Colombes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“kind of "hotel particulier"accomodation”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

our last 2 nights in Sri Lanka we stayed at this pleasant charming hotel,every basics items were there,the mini bar was replenish each day, at very reasonable price,though the hotel was full,we had the pool for ourselves,for transportation to town and tours,everything went well;
we used the laundry service and it was impecabble done;breakfast was simple and freshly served;the cook even gave my wife a few cooking lessons;
for meals we went over to Wunderbar hotel(same owner),even got a free ride back from there.
location is nearby the rail track but it was not really annoying,beside it was fun to see those wagons and passengers waving hello to us.overall its a memorable place for us.will definitely
go back there and recommend friends too;Big thanks to M.Chan,the owner and his staff.

Room Tip: book upper floor deluxe rooms for bird watching in early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOLECREEK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ystad, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wonderful little hotel with pool ,near to beach and with great staff , nice romantic rooms. The resturang serve you fantastic breakfurst , lunch and dinner. They arrange airport pick up. They have also thuk thuk who take you to Bentota vilage . We will come back soon

Room Tip: Take a room at High floor then You vill à great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersungh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We booked 3 nights this hotel based on the different reviews and we really had a bad experience. On arrival we asked to change room as the room attributed to us on the 1st floor had a veranda not safe at all for our 15 months daughter. We were given a very small room with a lot of mosquitoes on the ground floor where there was almost no space at all: with the babycot there was no space for the 2nd bedside table. At the check in (+/- 13h30) we were first told we would receive the baby cot in the evening and finally after 3h we got it (at first the baby cot provided was broken). When we meet the owner and expressed our disappointment regarding all the problems with the room and babycot his answer was "relax you are on holiday". On the 1st night the music at the restaurant/ bar was so loud that we asked to reduce ithe volume. We first asked at 22h30 but nothing was done and again at 23h30 when there was just a couple having a drink and the answer of a staff was "go to your room, this is our hotel". There is nothing around the hotel, and if you need to go closer to town/ village (even to the grocery shop) you need to pay a tuktuk. The food was ok but nothing spectacular. The breakfast was a fruit plate and some toasted bread. Some staff were nice others had a poor english. There is nothing special about this hotel: the garden is just a small area around the pool within a closed/ walled compound. Definitely it is expensive for what it is and what it offers. We tried to cancel/ modify our booking as we were really disappointed but it was not possible anymore.

Room Tip: Not the left room on the ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank filipaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We arrived and were greated in the best maner.
Our room was big and confy, it had the necessary for our stay.
The villa is very well maintained, the pool and pool area are great for kids and relaxation.
Proximiy to the beach and accessability is good.
It was the perfect place for our long 12 days stay.
The highlight though is the staf, they are very friendly and attentive to any request, they love children and our kids were trated like royalty.
The restaurat was above average and very flexible, we asked for things not on the menu and the chef was happy to do, my wife even got some free cooking lessons.
very recommanded for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jihad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The rooms were modern and bathroom really spacious and well-equipped. The swimming pool was just across the room terrace, from the ground floor. Since there are only 9-10 rooms in the hotel, there were very few people at any given point in time at the swimming pool / restaurant / spa. It seemed as if we were in a single large house with a few more rooms than usual, and very nice amenities Beach is just across the road (2 min walk) although we went mostly to the private beach that Panchi co-owns with Wunderbar resort and that's a short tuk tuk ride away or about 15 mins of walking.

Restaurant food / service was really good and the breakfast was impressive.

But what left a sour taste in our mouths at the end of the trip, was the cab ride that we took from the hotel to the airport. It seemed very expensive to begin with, but for the lack of other options, we availed it. The staff kept insisting that their cabs are superior in quality and not the kinds that breakdown. But about 70% into our ride, we had a flat tire which was ok (happens, right) till the time we realized that the cab did not have proper equipment to replace the same. Somehow, the driver managed to fix it after fiddling with it for a good 30 mins. When we complained as to how could a hotel cab not have a proper jack, he responded rudely. He continued his rude behavior when he dropped us off at the airport, pointing fingers at us.

I hope the hotel takes note of this seriously and ensures that these incidents don't happen with tourists as it can adversely affect their image on social media sites like Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amitghosh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We loved the pool, the food, the friendliness of the staff and felt almost like at home.
And we had greattimes playing cards with the staff.
Jack did his very best to show us parts of beautiful Sri Lanka.
What we did not love was the noise of the train....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Panchi villa was a very pleasant experience. friendly staff, good ambience, well maintained!! value for money completely!
the rooms are large, pool-facing, with a huge balcony. restaurant has good food. swimming pool is well-maintained.
very near to the main road but still gives a feel of being away from the noise.

only drawback i found was that there was no phone in the room which meant that we had to go down & find someone in case we needed anything. overall a definite thumbs up :)

Room Tip: get the rooms on the first floor if available. they are the best. u get only one channel on the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujata18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oasey Beach Hotel
Oasey Beach Hotel
#6 of 9 in Induruwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panchi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panchi Villa

Property: Panchi Villa
Address: #339/7a, Kurudu Watte | Wrahena, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panchi Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panchi Villa is situated in the coastal city of Bentota and nestled in the midst of a tropical setting. This peaceful Villa comprises of seven luxury rooms ans two super luxury rooms overlooking the swimming pool and the lush greenery. An ideal hideout for those seeking serene and absolute peace. Service is personalised in the true sense of the word. The best part, Panchi Villa is just 100 meteres away from the exotic beach of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panchi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panchi Villa Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing