We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food + Service!!”
Review of Golden Grill

Golden Grill
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Bentota
Price range: US$4 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The "Golden Grill", stands nestled within Sri Lanka's first National Holiday Resort in Bentota overlooking the scenic beauty of a small lake, has a history since 1970. A variety of cuisine is available to tantalize your taste buds at this unique restaurant. Dishes from around the world including traditional Sri Lankan specialties are served with a touch of class at an affordable price. The courteous staff and imaginative decor add to its ambience promising guests an unforgettable experience.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food + Service!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Was there with Family, all vegetarians!! we had a wide choice for vegetarians. The Sri Lankan Curry is amazing so is the paratha platter!! He even offered us a customised meal later that day!! we didnt want to eat at the same place for the 2nd time tho!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SagarJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    284
    118
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“average food,”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we visited this restaurant from trip advisor reports, however we were not that impressed, they try to give huge portions as a sign of value for money, lots of wasted food that was very over priced, ' smaller cheaper portions please'

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwillcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I ate here twice during my stay in Bentota in Nov12 and both meals were very good value for what I would class as tourist restaurants offering good food.

The selection fish, meats and Sri Lankan curries was great, service was very quick and accommodating.

Will return

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ally32Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, good service, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We ate at the Golden Grill twice during our last vacation to Bentota. On both occasions the service and food were excellent. The staff spoke perfect English and could not do enough for us. Indeed the way that the meal and wine were served would have rivalled any Silver Service restaurant in the UK but without the snobby, stuck up, element. It is hardly surprising that this restaurant is a favourite amongst British and European travellers staying in the area. We will definitely eat their again during our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. . Good value . . Riverside location”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Tasty authentic cuisine with helpful staff. Riverside location and the food was very good value. I would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyFranks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Grill also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Golden Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing