We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile restaurant to go to when exploring Bentota”
Review of Golden Grill

Golden Grill
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Bentota
Price range: US$4 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The "Golden Grill", stands nestled within Sri Lanka's first National Holiday Resort in Bentota overlooking the scenic beauty of a small lake, has a history since 1970. A variety of cuisine is available to tantalize your taste buds at this unique restaurant. Dishes from around the world including traditional Sri Lankan specialties are served with a touch of class at an affordable price. The courteous staff and imaginative decor add to its ambience promising guests an unforgettable experience.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A worthwhile restaurant to go to when exploring Bentota”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I heard it was a good restaurant while I was visiting the area. It did live up to my expectations. The food was good and tasty. But the variety was less. When ordering food it was a bit of a hassle since I has to go back and forth to figure out the final dinner plan. But the service staff did a great job helping me out with the planning. They gave me vital points for me to finally figure the final dishes. All in all a good place to be on a late evening with lake view..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isuru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    284
    118
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best restaurant in Bentota!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good restaurants are limited in Bentota but I strongly recommend the Golden Grill. The food was wonderful and we ended up eating here on a number of occasions. The staff are warm and friendly, the atmosphere is laid back and nothing is too much bother. Location is spot, set overlooking a lake and only a five minute walk from the Taj hotel. Well worth going out for! Excellent local curry amongst many other dishes and when compared to other local restaurants, this is good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cestriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were there in june 2014. Pork on grill was excellent , staff is kind and friendly. Nice view around,birds, Varan, chipmunk etc.
We didn't like only sandwich, but in total this restaurant is great. We were there couple of times.
Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluthgama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best service and delicious foods.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

the place is very atractive for all vip guest. high class restaurant in bentota.I had eat mixed grill, pork chop (grill) etc. all are very tastyfull. and also Irish coffee only the place have taken even can't get same coffee from other country. the people are very friendly for Guests.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thusitha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Attractive setting overlooking water. The owner takes a great deal of trouble to ensure all the guests are happy and enjoy visiting this restaurant. The menu is excellent - there is a wide choice of Sri Lankan and European food - something for everyone. The evening we visited there was a large group - over 60 - enjoying a buffet dinner but the seating was arranged so that we did not feel crowded in any way. Service is outstanding.
We were presented with some Ceylon tea as we left which was much appreciated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Grill also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Golden Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing