We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet retreat.”
Review of Long Beach Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Long Beach Cottage
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap place with access to a long, nearly deserted beach, then Long Beach Cottage is the place. The rooms are basic (fans and cold water) but clean even if the maintenance is lagging a bit. Food is available and the curry and rice we had was very tasty. Breakfast is ok, but not included in the base rate. The food is expensive for what you get but the owners and staff are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very nice. It has a beautiful garden which leads to the beach. A very long beach that is with a lot of high end accommodation, and hotels with pools we simply could not afford. Their peace of beach is probably the prettiest with palm trees giving you shade when the sun is too hot to bare. The breakfast was standard toast, butter, jam, tea, fruit and not included in the 2200 Rs per room + 10% service charge. We wanted to lower the price a little but the owner was not hearing it. The jam was amazing pineapple jam which was probably home made and the toast was also the best we ate baked on the outside still like bread on the inside. The gate to the beach closes at around 8 o'clock so be back by then or come in by the street. The staff was very nice and kind with one older man knowing no English. Our room was very basic and what we were used to for this kind of money. Shower had no hot water and the bathroom was old. The room had a kingsize bed with 2 single bed mosquito nets, so we asked for 1 big one and they came and installed it. No A/C just fan in our room but we didn't really need A/C. All in all would recommend. We noticed that most of the people staying here were German.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a private stay in Induruwa for 4 nights and joined the personal service of Hanne and Pincho. Hanne is native germanspeaking, also Pincho lived in germany for some years, so both can speak german and english very good.
The guesthouse has 5 doubelrooms, two can be use by wheelchair. The food was fresh and spicy (non-spicy is possible) and the owners very kind, showed us a turtlefarm and a coconutmill.
The beach is directly behind the house and it's clean.
Would stay there again, when I will visit Induruwa next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After reading all the good reviews on TripAdvisor, I contacted the managers to book a room. Email reply was fast and friendly, and the price was much lower than other places in the area. When we arrived, we understood why the price was so low… First, the positive : it is located on a very quiet stretch of beach, almost desert, and there is a private little garden to relax. However, the rooms are VERY basic and not very clean. It looks to me that this place was amazing a couple a years ago but that the owners let it fall apart… After checking the room and seeing the other hotels in the area, we decided to go to another place. Because we did not stay there I can not comment on the food or friendliness of the owners, altough they were very understanding when we decided to leave. I think this might be a great place for young backpackers with low budget, but for us (a family with two young kids, usually going in mid-range places) this place was way too basic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Puzzpouding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

A lovely warm welcome from the hosts to their pretty little garden with a gate straight on to a wide expanse of golden and almost empty beach. The food is Sri Lankan buffet style and beer is available. Toasted sandwiches and soft drinks are also available. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean with attached bath, although not luxurious. This a place to really get away from it all and be peaceful as there are only around 5 rooms. It is great value for money and the excellent hosts make it delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecelia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stopped in this place for 1 night, travelling from Colombo to Unawatuna, wishing to visit the Kosgoda turtle hatcheries. The friendly owners proved to be among the most hospitable people we came across in Sri Lanka and their beach cottage is just amazing. Its secluded part of the beach allows you to enjoy the sea almost isolated - also a unique experience in Sri Lanka. Their food proved to be one of the best we tasted on our trip and having breakfast watching their 'pet squirrels' nibble on a piece of toast while hanging on a rope in the garden was just one of the things we will never forget about the long beach cottage. We absolutely recommend it to every traveller,
Darja and Rok

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Long Beach Cottage has 5 double rooms all facing the sea. I stayed upstairs
in the first room with a huge mosquito net and long beds, where I could
comfortably stretch out my legs. I met some other travelers too and we
discussed our future routes. The hosts were very helpful with information
about the country and the different possibilities to travel. I can suggest
to stay at this budget guesthouse to enjoy the beach, the food and the books
in the sitting room.
It is good to send an e-mail ( [ -- ]) for booking a room and to
be picked up from Aluthgama, the nearest express train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anna_krfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 26 in Bentota
839 reviews
0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
902 reviews
0 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Cottage

Address: 550 Galle Road | On the beach, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Long Beach Cottage Hotel Induruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing