We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, lovely beach, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
Ranked #20 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal location, lovely beach, good value”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Despite being a small property with very basic rooms, Palm Beach Inn lacks nowhere in quality or facilities.. It's right on Galle road so you can get off right in front of the hotel on the main Colombo-Galle/Matara route.. Very friendly and courteous staff, has direct access to the beach and has a lovely garden.. It appeared to be very busy and popular (the staff were still cleaning and readying up our rooms when we checked in a little after 12pm, and there were people already waiting when we checked out the next day a little after 12pm!).. Palm Beach Inn is on the southern strip of Bentota beach, which is completely deserted and almost like your own piece of sand paradise.. It also has its own beach chairs and umbrellas erected so you can use those.. Breakfast is included (fresh fruits, bread and spreads, fried egg/omelette) which is great.. Their resident tuk tuk driver seemed to be very shrewd and calculating initially, but we warmed up to him and turns out he's street smart but a good person.. Can be helpful..
There is no in-house restaurant so you will have to look for food options around.. Next door options Amal and Wunderbar are unnecessarily expensive and definitely not for everyday eating.. Try Chef's Curry Bowl, about 500m to the right on exiting from the gate; or Perrera & Sons (one of our best discoveries in Sri Lanka and our preferred option), about 2-3km to the left.. P&S is a nationwide chain and has a great lunch buffet.. Other options are also reasonably priced and never disappoint (try the amazing lamprais or the fish curry & rice combo)..
Feedback to hotel and advice for guests: There are some rooms which have a ventilator opening to the outside, which makes for great air circulation, but we found a frog peering in from it once! Definitely going to get the ladies screaming!! We raised it with the staff and they promised to have those netted.. Check if ventilators if any have been netted/closed off before you accept your room..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhiBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and encouraging feedback!

We would like to inform you that our property will be fully refurbished in the coming weeks and all rooms have been given an upgrade to offer you a higher level of comfort during your stay.

We hope you will visit us again soon for another holiday in the peacefully serene Bentota, Sri Lanka.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    60
    22
    6
    13
See reviews for
18
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights in 2 bungalows. This inn offers basic amenities:A/C, king sized bed, hot water and towels. Perhaps it would be better if blankets and toiletries were provided. Also, the bathing area was very tiny and the water pressure was not stable. Once, water stopped flowing while my husband was showering and he had to wait for a short while before water was back. The inn was situated beside the railway track so we could hear the train and feel the vibration in our rooms whenever the train passed us.
Despite the above, we thought this was a unique and charming place. It's small compound allowed for privacy. Breakfast, consisting of tropical fruits and bread were served just below the bungalow. The beach was just a short 2 minute walk from our bungalows, cutting through the railway track. We took interesting close-up photos of the track. The beach overlooking the ocean was vast, lovely and not crowded. We explored and swam in the beach, having so much fun and bonding time. On 2nd night, on the same beach we spent 2000 rupees for family of 4 to release 2 day old baby turtles into the sea...was the highlight for my teenaged sons.
The owner is a friendly and attentive host. Her staff were very helpful. We would recommend this place if you value peace and privacy in a natural setting and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our property will be fully refurbished in the coming weeks and all recent developments will offer a higher level of comfort and value.

We hope you will visit us again soon for more memorable experiences in Bentota, Sri Lanka.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This isnt a very big hotel so if you are looking for very classy well equipped rooms palm beach inn maybe a bit of a let down. However, since I am a budget traveller, I really loved the place. Even though I reached the guest house at 5 in the morning, the staff was awake to welcome us with tea and coffee. We did have certain issues with the shower and hot water in one room but they all were taken care off by the owners. The cabanas are wonderfully built in gardens and the property is very peaceful. The place is situated very close to the beach. So, you can walk to the beach whenever you please to. Unlike other hotels which stress on time to serve breakfast, Palm Beach Inn serves breakfast as per your convenience which makes you relax and enjoy your vacation. I would also like to mention about the co-owner of the place Mrs. Maya, who is the most hospitable person I have ever come across while travelling. The place is filled with the kindest staff and the guest house surely scores browny points for its hospitality. I totally enjoyed my stay over here even though palm beach inn wasnt the most extravagant hotel. Also, the arrangements made by the hotel for airport pickup was excellent. One of the nicest human beings, named Neil was at the airport to pick us up. One of the best experiences I have had till date.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience! We would also like to inform you that our rooms will be fully refurbished in the coming weeks and all our recent property developments will offer a new level of comfort and value.

We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsta, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We staid 5 nights and didn't regret our choise. To begin with, the location is great, only 2 minuts to the Indian Ocean. You reach it by walking on a beautiful path where tropical butterfly and flowers are waiting for you. The beach with its golden sand is really incredible, there were almost no people there and you can easily find your own place.
The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and spacious. We didn't try the more expensive bungalows which har shown on the homepage of the guesthouse. The garden is really beautiful and trim, the place is very quiet.
The breakfast was included in the price, basic but enough to start the day. Fresh fruit every day. We enjoyed a very good Christmas dinner in the garden, otherwise we chose to eat elsewhere.
The guesthouse provides a free Tuk Tuk-service, which is comfortable if you e.g. needs to go to the village of Bentota to get money at the ATM. Unfortunately, the Tuk Tuk-driver is really really intrusive and repetitive, always trying to drive you to certain shops or activities (where he probably gets a provision). Some people may appreciate this kind of attention, we didn't. If you like your independence, pay for a own Tuk Tuk instead, it costs about 250 rupies to Bentota (5 minuts).
There are several luxury hotels in the area, Palm Beach Inn is a very good, much more cheaper and of course more charming option. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flugis_Frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback!

We hope you visit us again soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here three days after our arrival, and It was great welcome on Sri Lanka! We had room at canabas in beautifull tropic garden. Rooms are clean and location is just about two minutes to one of most beautifull beach I ever seen. Hotel personal is very helpfull and nice, they would to provide everythink you want (ayurveda massage, organize river safari, pick up on airport etc.) Every day we had great breakfast with many tropical fruits. We really enjoyed staying in this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

we stayed two days in this guesthouse.
staff very friendly and try to do all they can to make your stay perfect.
clean rooms and nice breakfast. beach is very beautifull and quiet
we will come back one day!

m&m

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boogy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money, the rooms are basic but very cosy and come with the all important mosquito net. One minute walk and you are at the beach which is really impressive. It was very quiet and relaxing. The lady at the resort was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. She gave us information on the local market and the best place to see turtles. Would recommend to those who are on a budget looking for somewhere quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradha P, Manager at Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review and encouraging feedback!

We certainly hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mihin Villa
Mihin Villa
#3 of 79 in Bentota
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa 80
Villa 80
#4 of 59 in Bentota
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haus Berlin, Bentota
Haus Berlin, Bentota
#10 of 59 in Bentota
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Inn Fuji Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas

Property: Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
Address: 200/1 Galle Road | Bentota, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and vegetation, Palm Beach Inn & Sea Shells Cabanas is situated within a 10-minute drive from the popular Lunuganga. Free Wi-Fi access is available in its public areas and parking is provided at no charge. A 50-minute drive takes guests to the well-known Galle Fort, while Colombo city and Bandaranaike International Airport are within a 2-hour drive away. The Kosgoda Turtle Hatchery is 2 km away. Cooled with a fan or air conditioning, all rooms are simply equipped with a mosquito net, desk and a wardrobe. All rooms feature an attached bathroom offering shower facility. Surrounded by lush greenery, Palm Beach Inn & Sea Shells Cabanas offers a tour desk to assist with sightseeing and travel arrangements. Laundry, massage and airport shuttle service is also available on request. The in-house restaurant serves a tasty spread of Sri Lankan and Western dishes. Guests can also enjoy meals in the privacy of their rooms with room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing