We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immense Improvement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immense Improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the third time we stayed in this hotel. The place is same as last time we visited. No big changes. But there is a big improvement in the rooms. Nice orange interior with tea making facilities etc.. The staff is the same , friendly,polite and always there to help you . Big change in FOOD! The new chef ( udekumara ) personally asks for the way you want your food to be prepared. The new addition which is the small Ayurveda centre was very relaxing. The only negative point is that we went during the rainy season , the sea was rough and it rained most of the time. But all in all good holiday .

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akardi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    20
    9
    27
See reviews for
34
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just droped in to this hotel with my girl friend on our way to galle. We just wanted to relax for couple of hours as we were very tieard due to our long journey from USA and then from Colombo airport to galle.as soon as we enter this hotel we found two staff members with a big smile welcoming us offering with cold towels and a welcome drink. They thought that we are gust of this hotel and wanted the booking details. Then we explain them that we are on our way to galle and the driver took us here to relex for some time. Then the manger came and spoke to us and organize two beach chairs on the beach. We found few in house gusts who were relexing and we just talked to one lady from australia and she claimed that this was her sixth time to this hotel.

After two days in galle light house hotel we came back to royal beach and spend seven days here. We loved this place. Service was exellent and friendly staff. The hotel is small but good rooms and good food. It is an ideal hide out for honey moon couples. We spend most of our time on the beach. The best experience we had here is the dinner we had on the beach with fire touch. They called this pandama in srilankan language. We love this place.

Frankey and monika sena / texas /united states

Room Tip: All rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ustica, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

my friend and two of our girlfriends stayed at Royal Beach during the first week of June this year. We stayed in room number 110 and 111. All rooms are overlooking the ocean with a spacious balcony. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The pool is small but it is just on the beach. We stayed on the beach very late every night till around 2 am . Until we left to the room we always found that there was a waiter and a room boy available to look after us and it was very suprise that even at 12noon our breckfast was avilable.the staff was always with a plesent smile and very friendly.if you need a peaceful holiday this is the place. the beach is wonderful.no one is there to come and trouble and try to sell stuff like other beachers in srilanka, we will go there again when we are ready.
Amrie/ Ruksgsra USA

Room Tip: always ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrie Akmal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
228 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

we booked a deluxe room which was far off deluxe. All rooms overlook the ocean and beach (which is dirty :-( ) Food was ok (we ate ala carte and had roomservice)
The rooms are very old and rustic - we had the impression (even there were just one family there) that they didn't even change the bedsheets (bedbugs ??)
From the outside it looks very impressive but it needs a big renovation!
But it had the best TV in Sri Lanka which huge options of different channels.
No Wifi at all!

Room Tip: Top floor if you consider booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

we had a deluxe rom which was far off deluxe at all ..... the rooms are all a bit shabby
tv channels were texcellent .. and we could order food in the room because we were the only guests there.
beach is very dirty

Room Tip: check the sheets if you find bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bentota hotels

Lauchringen, Germany
Level Contributor
205 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent the last three nights of our stay in Sri Lanka at this place, which calls itself a "semi-boutique luxury hotel". We would not go there again.

The building is impressive, as is the foyer. The location is fantastic - right on a wide sandy beach, perfect for swimming. All rooms (18, if we counted correctly) have seaview. There is a nice pool with jacuzzi.

BUT if you are looking for a hotel, where tv and telephone are not working, where the bar is closed (permanently?), where towels are in short supply and beach towels have huge holes, where the restaurant menu is very limited and the quality is so-so, where beer in cans is the only alcoholic beverage you can get and where mosquitoes are all around, but toilet paper and towels in the toilet of the restaurant as difficult to come by as trained staff, look no further. -

Our impression was that the place is about to close down, which is a pity, as this could be a wonderful hotel for a great holiday on an excellent beach. But the way it is today, they charge too much money for not enough quality.

It must be mentioned though, that the staff were friendly and nice througout and one night the manager went to the beach with us and we could see a sea turtle laying eggs - which were picked up by some people immediately and taken to a hatchery. Something you don't see every day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

we had been this march 12 for 2 nights,Nobody should book this property for his/her holidays.place is not worth charging $110 per night for B/B. old and rustic looks after Tsunami. Rooms ok kind,no phones operating in the room,u had to either shout and come down to restaurnt, food with lil choice.Mosquitos/Flies in the restaurant area and fragerance of open door toilets near by situated in the restaurant area. Only plus point is sea beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narendrermahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
Oasey Beach Hotel
Oasey Beach Hotel
#6 of 9 in Induruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Hotel
Whispering Palms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Resort

Property: Royal Beach Resort
Address: Galle Road | Galaboda Induruwa, Bentota 80510, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Beach is a luxury boutique resort with 14 rooms, all modern facilities & amenities. It is situated 66 km from Colombo and a one-hour-forty-five min drive from city of Colombo. The resort is set on the southwest coast of Sri Lanka in the enchanting Turtle Village of Induruwa. Its sprawling living areas are quite a contrast in comparison to any resort hotel where privacy takes a backseat. The Resort has a privileged beachfront position on one of the unspoiled south coast beaches. Words cannot describe the simple beauty and tranquility of its setting. The historic town of Galle is less than an hour to the south. This luxurious semi-boutique resort is ideal for the romantic getaway where privacy is the utmost. There is also a swimming pool for the ardent sunbather to select from as an option. Its revered attraction is its splendid architecture and many visitors have often been dazzled by it and even come back for a repeat stay. We take pride in our cuisine and serve a range of dishes. Meals can be taken anytime and anywhere or in our seafood restaurant on the beach with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean or in the privacy of your own balcony overlooking the ocean. This is one of the rare resorts in the southern coast of the island which provides total relaxation on the beach for anyone who wished to wind down without any encumbrances. It is an ultimate place for those who seek an escape from larger package hotels and swarming beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beach Hotel Induruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing