We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
381
102
21
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
102
21
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beersri lankageoffrey bawabaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmsuperior suitepublic areasbeautiful hoteltrains passinghuge balconystayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed here with my husband and then 5 month old daughter during a weekend getaway in September 2011. The staff are really friendly and helpful - they showed us available rooms so we could decide which one we'd like. We selected one with the plunge pool as we thought it'll be nice to use it with the baby was it was FREEZING; regardless, we wouldn't have used it much ourselves let alone put the baby in it as it looked a bit unclean. But the main pool on the lawn was really nice and warm. The interiors are tasteful in keeping with true Paradise Road style but we felt the rooms can be better maintained - ours had a bit of paint peeling off the walls .... not a big deal but just degrades it considerably.

The lounge area by the pool and the lawn is really nice and relaxing. It's a shame you have to walk out of the property and cross the railway track to get to the beach. As result the 'sea view' rooms on the ground floor doesn't really have a view of the sea! :)

They have a spa - but it's just one masseuse and it's pricey. Not that great.

Food was great. Panna cotta was excellent. All in all - it was a good break.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have just returned from 8 days at this hotel and think it is a little bit of paradise in Sri Lanka. Slightly hard to find, the black sign is not so distinctive from the road, but then the gate is opened to you and relaxation kicks in. I don't understand why this is not number 1 in Bentota as it must be hard to find anywhere better.
We had suite 4, fabulous but did not see any others to compare. It just had all that we needed and yes the turn down service etc were excellent. The food is excellent too and they were most accomodating to cook the fish that my husband caught for us and also fabulous crab curry.
We ate out a couple of nights, yes the Wunderbar is slightly cheaper but no comparison to the Villa. We also ate at Malli's which was very good but paid the same as in the Villa so were just tempted to stay put. The service is fantastic and the staff genuinely want to make you happy.
Nothing to moan about, thank you all very much and we would highly recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: Suite 4 has ocean views but only just.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventressclanDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

On my sixth visit and the Villa still never fails to awe me!
Be it the stunning décor or the amazing service or the pallet pleasing fiesta that is the villa s menu ! There isn’t a resort I would compare it too! The Villa is class all on its own, it may not be for its luxury but more for its personality and its warmth!
The lobster is a must, so is the Villa rice and curry!

Room Tip: Though suite number one has no view of the ocean it makes for it with its private plunge pool!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niro curly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent service, really unique layout. This is a very special place that I definitely plan on returning to.
We were lucky enough to get the Mohotti Suite which was amazing. So plush and individual. This is not the dry, stale 5 star hotel you might see in the city. Villa Bentota place is definitely one of a kind.
Food at the restaurant was very generous and tasty, access to the beach right there, and the water is incredibly warm. Heaps of great places to laze and read a book in the shade or sun, immaculate gardens, heavenly pool.

Just fabulous.
Keep up the good work. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in Oct 2011 and can't speak highly enough of the hotel. The rooms are immaculately decorated, the pool is sublime and you really can't fault the service.

The cocktails were delicious (make sure you try a chilli tamarind martini while you're there!) and the curries fantastic. We loved our breakfast served out by the pool and the little touches like providing bottles of cool water for our journey back to Colombo and the attentive turn down service were really appreciated.

This is definintely 5 star service. Thanks to all the staff at The Villa!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews