We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Luxurious Lanka”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Set amongst sprawling lush grounds with coconut palms swaying above you, The Villa is an absolutely heavenly ‘home away from home’ which doesn’t feel anything like a hotel instead it’s like living in your very own dream home with superb service and food to rival that of the Worlds top resorts (and at a fraction of the price..)

Upon arrival we were greeted by the ever so friendly staff who were always on hand to help you with anything. We were given homemade ginger beer which was outstanding! I fell head over heels in love with its tangy test and opted to have it frozen poolside each day whilst my Husband opted for the Dr.Feelgood cocktails – delish! Lazing there was a dream, not a care in the world with the palms overhead and friendly staff who will serve you delicious food and drinks anytime, anywhere. We chose for breakfast each day on our balcony and each day they were exactly on time with what we had ordered from a wide choice of both Sri Lankan and normal breakfast options including delicious fruit juices.

We were only in Sri Lanka for 4 nights but enjoyed doing absolutely nothing at The Villa…! We stayed in Suite 3 which was wonderful - large, modern bathroom with huge rain shower and had a large balcony overlooking the sea and the grounds, where we would spend hours enjoying a drink and watching the world go by and watching some other guests mill about and local characters over on the beach, often climbing coconut trees!

The owners have really excelled themselves with their sense of style and decor, pulling items that are modern yet with a Sri Lankan feel to them. It feels a quirky place, cleverly created with a nod to art that you really get the feeling you are staying somewhere different, somewhere up and coming and you are ahead of the crowd by getting there first. The food is simply outstanding with really clever concoctions that are Sri Lankan but also suitable for Western pallets. We ate delicious crab every single night! From the crab and coconut risotto which was delicious to the special crab curry (order 24hrs in advance). Each lunchtime we had yummy homemade pizzas, again all well priced and with a variety of delicious fresh ingredients which were different from your usual ‘hotel options’. You just felt they had done all the work and you could just kick back relax and eat!

At night, lanterns and candles fill the place to give it even more of a homely feel and the staff provide a turndown service which I loved coming back to our room to find it warm and romantic. The whole place has a slight tropical/Indian ocean feel but with a hint of nostalgia and without doubt the main feature is the vintage trains that chug by. Everytime, it would remind you of exactly where you were in the world with coconut trees swaying in the background as friendly locals wave back at you. We loved it! And although the train would rumble past in the early hours, you would hear it ever so slightly and just return to sleep with a smile. Easy to do in beautiful, clean, comfortable and modern rooms.

The beach is just a stones throw from The Villa, you must cross the trainline and its worth a look but not too much time to spend there, instead make the most of the pool and gardens. We also wanted to really experience the Sri Lankan vibe we got from The Villa so we took the train back to Colombo for the grand price of 100rupees!! ($1) It was a great experience with smiling locals and beautiful scenery flashing past you from the open side door of the train – a real hippy vibe.

We would highly recommend a stay at The Villa for anyone wishing to visit Sri Lanka (especially before the rest of the world decides to!). The property is far superior to many others 5* resorts we have stayed at that are overcrowded and overpriced. It is a beautiful property with beautiful grounds and staff who help make your stay even more special.

Enjoy! I'm counting the days until we can return...

Room Tip: Choose the suites 3 or 4 which have sea views and large balconies - worth the extra so you can reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnybunny7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    85
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
96
250
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at The Villa Bentota from 15th to 17th Aug 2012. This is a charming boutique hotel with around 15 rooms. The highlight is the railway line that runs across the property and old trains chug by throughout the day - it is almost like fairytale when the old Canadian locomotives pulling the old carriages pass by. The property has a beautiful garden and 2 pools. The rooms are well laid out with large bathrooms and attached balcony. The beach is a short walk across the railway line and you have pineapple trees along the beach laden with fruit. The beach is good but not spectacular.
The hotel has a good art collection laid out across the property. With very few rooms there is a quite feel to the property and is a welcome change from large overcrowded hotels. The service is quite efficient and you will have someone at your room within minutes of making a call to the reception.
The food is quite good though a tad expensive. We tried the pizzas which were authentic. The seafood (we tried masala prawns which are made in Indian style) is good too. The cafe has a very good selection of desserts. You can ask your food to be served anywhere on the property which is good.
Overall a beautiful and charming property that is worth a visit for a few days of solitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshat1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Upon arriving after 8+hours trip from Nuwara Eliya the only thing we were interested in was to get to the room and lie down. And the only thing that was not allowing us to do so ...was the fact that the hotel did not have our reservation! Granted, it was not the hotel's problem: we made our booking through booking.com and by then we already have had same problems with 2 other hotels at which we were staying before arriving to the Villa. Therefore our suite room was not available. After some time management was kind enough to sort out the mess and find a room for us, and thereafter our stay at the Villa was a Bliss.
Beautiful property, excellent, really courteous and attentive and personal service, excellent spa and great, awesome, delicious food at the restaurant. Perfect drinks as well :) Yes, it comes at a price and staying at the villa is not the cheapest option but it is worth every penny we've paid.
I definitely want to come back. We saw a wedding party having ceremony and staying at the property, and I was quite envious of the bride, what a great spot to have your wedding at! :)

Room Tip: note that this is not a beach front property - short walk to the beach directly from the hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenKa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Villa Bentota is a beautiful small hotel in an old colonial style house set back from the beach in peaceful gardens. Our rooms were above the bar with connecting balconies, which worled well for us, and had great views out to the gardens, railway line and trees behind the beach. The location is great and we enjoyed the trains going by (and the walk across the line to get to the almost deserted but huge snady beach. The food was excellent, eaten in an attractive open area. Great spot for a restful break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great hotel, with delicious food, helpful staff and a lovely setting. We stayed for 3 nights and from arriving at the hotel (after travelling for over 15 hours) to checkout we were truly looked after every minute of our stay.

We loved the proximity to the beach, and the quirkiness of the railway line - drinking wine in the summer house as the sunset and a train rumbled past reminded you where you were.

We ate at the hotel restaurant 2 nights and Malli's 1 night, all three meals were excellent and a special shout out to Malli who went out of his way to ensure we had one of the best nights of our holiday.

Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and we managed to bag the outdoor tables, definitely worth asking for one of these for dinner, we did for our last night and it was great to feel like you were the only people being tended to, with the sounds of waves crashing in the background.

We had drinks in some of the bigger resort hotels and from what we saw they weren't a patch on Paradise Road. If considering Bentota, I'd definitely opt for The Villa Paradise Road - one of the best hotels of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THLondon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

If u like to be spoiled with food this is the place to be, chef Nishantha was very helpful in meeting all out request, super Srilankan delicacies upon request.
The accolades end here.
Rooms, god knows Wht the owners r trying to prove as I feel they point blank cheat u. I.e. I had instects and cockroaches in plenty and I had no water for couple of hours, locks broken, shower cubicle stained, just to say a few.
My advice try Adithya or saman villas as they will let you hav a holiday rather than a pressure check.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April on the way to Galle. We landed in Colombo at 3.30 and arrived exhausted at The Villa at 7.30am to be greeted and shown straight to our bed. A very welcome gesture considering we weren't scheduled to check in until 3pm that day. The same level of service was consistent throughout our stay with staff always smiling and willing to help. Oddly the staff is entirely male which we felt created too much of a "Yang" vibe about the place but not a big deal.

The rooms are spacious, we stayed in Suite Three which had a huge balcony, and are traditionally furnished and pleasant but don't try to save the planet and turn off the aircon or the room will very quickly smell and feel damp to the point of moist books and magazines, a function of being 100 metres from the raging surf of the ocean I guess. The room was fine and the bed was comfortable but we felt the small details were missing. Little things like replacing the mosquito coils in the room, refilling the shower gel and ambient music in the bar would set this place apart, but I'm nit picking. The food here is excellent and the kitchen staff clearly know what they are doing. There is no local restaurant that can compare. I live in Singapore and can't buy food or service like this for love nor money. The menu is imaginative, the quality excellent and the service friendly, attentive but unobtrusive. Having tried almost every cocktail on the menu over the course of two days I concluded that the barman is quite skilled and I recommend having a cocktail by the pool any time of the day but particularly at dusk where you can watch the stars come out one by one. Shooting stars are easy to see here.

You'd think that having the main railroad line running across the bottom of the garden would be a bad thing but we found it incredibly charming. Old trains of all sorts chug through during the course of the day and the folk hanging off the sides of the train wave and shout hello. This coastline was devastated by the tsunami in 2004 and one of the old trains was engulfed killing hundreds so it's a wonderful sight to see them charging past again in 2012, a testament to the resilience of these people. We had an oddly scary moment when we arrived, not realising that the train was 20 yards from the bedroom and woke in a dark panic in the middle of the night as an express train approached at full speed.

The beach is beautiful but completely deserted with the exception of the usual selection of bamboozlers, flimflammers and fixers who will harmlessly disrupt your relaxing walk by tempting you to visit various local attractions, it's best to keep walking.

A charming tuk-tuk driver called Chatura lives just outside the wall of the hotel and will drive you wherever you want to go plus a few places you probably don't want to go but it's all good. There is nothing worth seeing in the local town and the herbal garden/massage centre is a bit weird but the turtle rescue centre and lunch at Lunuganga are highly recommended and you will need to make reservations for lunch there.

Overall two to three days at this place makes for an almost perfect relaxing time. P.S. Mosquitoes are evil here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Less Bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 23 in Bentota
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Property: Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing