We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A lovely Paradise Road Villa that couples great service, delicious food and a great atmosphere. Try the seafood and ask about their great selections of breakfast options. The hotel's rice and curry is heavenly and their signature cocktails are a must-try. The rooms are comfortable even though there can be mosquitos at times. What's more, you can see Paraside Road furniture and buy some of the wonderful pieces to decorate your own home! A lovely place to stay for relaxing by the beach in peace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked 2 nights in a superior suite, paid quite a lot and therefore had quite high expectations. When we were showed to our suite, we were immediately disappointed - the room was dark, scruffy and damp. It certainly didn't feel like a suite! We immediately asked to change rooms and were thankfully moved to a suite on the first floor which was lighter and drier. The hotel had supposedly undergone a refurb - it was a bad refurb. There were stains, scratches, dirt - and a general lack of attention to detail.

On the plus side the outdoor and public areas were great - great pool, sun loungers, close to the beach and nice bar area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach is across the rail tracks so be prepared to see and hear a few trains go by.

The food was nice however we ate dinner out. Top tip - go to Malli's and avoid Amal restaurant at all costs!

Overall we felt disappointed because of the bad standard of the suites and we felt like we didn't get value for money.

Room Tip: Suite 2 and 3 are the best. Avoid any ground floor if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The rooms were wonderful. The over-all vibe of the place is elegant, stylish (with a mixt of trendy and old world Sri Lankan charm), VERY quiet, and great to just completely let-go and relax, relax, relax. Beach is a small five minute walk. A train goes through the hotel gardens and some may not like it, but we enjoyed it. Wi-fi was OK (not great), but for us the idea was not sitting in front of the laptop or iPad. Not too many other places to eat. So you are kind of stuck with the hotel restaurant or the one at the immediate neighbor hotel (which is also very good). No crowds, no loud music, no pool games or laughing yoga or any such thing. Just relax in a beautiful place with good staff and food. Take books. Great for family with older kids or no kids. great for couples. Also good for solo retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeckerJRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Relaxing
Well designed
Great food
Decor as you would expect is top notch
The place is made to chill out in
Relax lay back and enjoy a paradise (appropriate) road hotel
Do note that thought that the beach is only ok here not fab but who cares as I would not be leaving the hotel
Also note the train line at the back of the property - oddly to most it's a feature not a hindrance

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Very elegant hotel, great service, full of nice details and attentions: THAT is luxury!
Good breakfast (good Bread and jams, which is rare In SL)
The staff is very attentionate, they make your bed at night, folding the towels in animal shape, changing everything that has been used...
The garden is beautiful, the bed is very comfortable.
The only thing that looked better at the neighbor hotel (Club Villa) was the pool: the water looked cleaner.
We really liked this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Great location. Two minutes walk from the beach. Very friendly staff and great service. We stayed in a suite with a terrace balcony. We stayed 4 nights and could have easily spent a few more nights there. The large pool is in a great setting with privacy and very secure surroundings. An amazing experience in a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

When you get off the main road and enter a small dirt road to reach the hotel, one gets a bit concerned. All concerns vanish when you arrive at the sparkling white compound of the Villa. The hotel is quiet, but welcoming. We were ushered to our ground floor suite which was stunning. Large is an understatement. Nice terrace, quiet and very private. The Villa sits on immaculate lawns. The dining room, we understand, is a converted stable. The food was good as was the attention and service. I refused to leave the comfort of the hotel the 2 nights there, except for a very short drive to see the handicrafts at Bentota. I really welcomed the serenity and calmness that the property brought to me. A truly exceptional experience in a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 25 in Bentota
299 reviews
24.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £86 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing