We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for a week and just loved everything about it. We were in room 2 which had a terrace (definitely recommend that you get a room with outside space) and was right next to the train track but, honestly, we didn't mind the trains at all. Our room was gorgeous (I loved all the stripes) and I really adored the very cool style of the hotel: it was calming and cooling but without being obtrusive,
The pool was just lovely and the beach was like something out of a Bacardi advert - white sands, fringed with palm trees and absolutely no one else on it.
But it was the food that really took the place to the next level: it is almost certainly the best in the area, and it's available all day long. I wished there were more vegetarian Sri Lankan options but otherwise it was fantastic.
Such a lovely hotel - I wish I were back there now!

Room Tip: It's definitely worth it to spend a little more and get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HadleyF823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    87
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
100
253
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I recently stayed at Villa Bentota for two nights. My husband and I had so looked forward to this portion of our trip as we had just spent two weeks in India and other parts of Sri Lanka. Bentota was going to be our two days of pure relaxation and peace.

We are American and travel very, very frequently. We both work in the travel industry for leading international travel magazines and review hotels often for our company's print and digital publications. With this said, we have stayed at some of the worlds most exquisite and unique properties, being fortunate to have experienced truly "the best" in terms of boutique and luxury travel.

Villa Bentota, in all essence, does not live up to its promise or marketing efforts. It is a stunning hotel with beautiful spaces and and an authentically vintage, antique ambience that I personally love. The design is interesting enough and the grounds are beautifully manicured.

But, unfortunately, once the initial high you get from the beautiful surroundings fades away, you realize that the hotel has a LOT of work to do before it can compete in the international travel market. Sri Lanka is a "newly discovered" travel destination for Westerners, and it's beautiful. But, those creating hotels to cater to people who have experienced the best should pay much closer attention to the details.

From the moment of check-in until check-out, we experienced some of the worst service we have ever seen at a hotel promoting itself in this luxury category. Examples...

No one was available for check-in upon our arrival and we had to search for 10 minutes to find someone at 10:00 pm to check us in. The food is wonderful, if they get your order right, but chances are your fresh papaya juice ordered at the beginning of breakfast will arrive at the end. By the pool, you my have to search for someone to bring you towels to use and then ask them again to bring you a drink menu, ask them again to order that drink and search for them to actually get that drink in your hand. It may take them two to three hours to clean up the pool area after someone has left, leaving the chairs and tables looking quite messy and dirty - not the best ambience.

When you finally get that drink, don't mind the frequent trains bustling by the pool area as the hotel literally just in front of train tracks that take people on the journey from Colombo to Galle. You will have to cross these tracks to go to the beach - which, by the way, has no chairs, towel service or people to ensure your comfort. The wifi in the hotel is very, very spotty so don't bank on it if you have important things to do via internet. Also, don't mind the lack of help when you are lugging your bags from your room to the lobby to check out...those who are supposed to help you are talking amongst themselves while you are struggling.

All in all, I really had high hopes for this hotel. We were so very excited to experience the romance of it. But, the owner, Mr. Shanth Fernando, should definitely focus more on assembling a staff with greater attention to detail than promoting his hotel as the "it" destination in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 901JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Loved the idea that you can be at the pool all day, being served drinks and food all daylong. Had dinner every night there and the food was to die for every time. Friendly staff and absolutely amazing management...very attentive and professional. There are many areas around the villa where you can just chill and watch the day go by or hang out with friends. All rooms are unique with its local decor and paintings that you can actually purchase. Staying for day or two, or even a week gives you energy and you would love to go back to such a tranquil place. We stayed at suite with small pool and loved the layout of the place. And to end the beautiful stay we were amazed till the very last moment...Our flight back was at 4am, we came to check out at 2pm and had the mind set that we will spend the entire afternoon and evening wondering Bentota, where there is little to see. The management were so nice to have us stay in the room till late evening. That is something you don't find in any hotel out there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here this month. Everything about this place is amazing, from the design and decor of the rooms to the pool area surrounded by lush palms which is a slice of heaven. I could write an essay how amazing this place is but in short...it's clean, it's a wonderful place to relax, the staff are so helpful that they will go out of their way for you. And there are wonderful little touches such as slices of cake for guests in the afternoon which are bought out by the pool, and lovely treats such as home made chocolates that are left in your room in the evenings. The food is to die for - absolutely everything from breakfast to dinner is fresh and tasty and the presentation is amazing. I loved every single minute of being here and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My friend took me here for a couple of days after a business trip. It was sheer paradise. Very small resort with excellent accomadations and service. The food was outstanding! It was off season so we happen to be the only people there. I would go back in a second.

Room Tip: I don't need to add photos as the hotels photos represent it well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geralynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A lovely Paradise Road Villa that couples great service, delicious food and a great atmosphere. Try the seafood and ask about their great selections of breakfast options. The hotel's rice and curry is heavenly and their signature cocktails are a must-try. The rooms are comfortable even though there can be mosquitos at times. What's more, you can see Paraside Road furniture and buy some of the wonderful pieces to decorate your own home! A lovely place to stay for relaxing by the beach in peace.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked 2 nights in a superior suite, paid quite a lot and therefore had quite high expectations. When we were showed to our suite, we were immediately disappointed - the room was dark, scruffy and damp. It certainly didn't feel like a suite! We immediately asked to change rooms and were thankfully moved to a suite on the first floor which was lighter and drier. The hotel had supposedly undergone a refurb - it was a bad refurb. There were stains, scratches, dirt - and a general lack of attention to detail.

On the plus side the outdoor and public areas were great - great pool, sun loungers, close to the beach and nice bar area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach is across the rail tracks so be prepared to see and hear a few trains go by.

The food was nice however we ate dinner out. Top tip - go to Malli's and avoid Amal restaurant at all costs!

Overall we felt disappointed because of the bad standard of the suites and we felt like we didn't get value for money.

Room Tip: Suite 2 and 3 are the best. Avoid any ground floor if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 25 in Bentota
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 25 in Bentota
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Property: Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing