We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Simply i must say one of the best tastefully done resorts in Asia. the lovely pool awesome landscapes and public areas .. how ever we dint stay here since we were staying at the adjoining hotel club-villa but two nights we had dinner here and it was so deliciouses and well presented . good wine good food but must say staff must be more friendly but well trained. over all it is magic and perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    85
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
96
250
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Not a thing is out of place here at the Villa Bentota. The service,food, drinks and rooms are all outstanding. But I'm the kind of traveler that likes a little charm. Me? I love the train. Sitting on my veranda watching the commuters go by was just another peek into the local lives of the Sri Lankan people. I love crossing the tracks to get to the beach. Yes, a few locals wanted me to try their restaurants or see their turtles but it wasn't a hassle- I never felt "invaded upon". my shower was a bit old. Not the water pressure I'm used to but a soak in the free standing 1.5 meter long tub took care of that.
We originally booked the 2 bedroom suite (my hubby and I went with a single friend) but realized with only one bath for the suite that wasn't the ideal room for us. Without question the staff moved us to two charming rooms with a shared covered veranda. It was perfect for traveling adults to have common space and privacy at the same time. The villa is filled with art, architecture and amazing styling. Sitting areas are tucked away for a quiet moment with your book and cup of tea. Sculptures surprise you when you see they are man made and not actually a part of the landscape. The art is curated locally so it never feels out of place. We ate at the Villa almost every evening and I was never disappointed or bored. The Villa was full of other vacationing adults from around the world. we got to know several people and enjoyed sharing drinks and swapping stories about our travels. The Villa Bentota is the kind of place that makes you want to do that... it's truly a place to relax and let go.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite only has one bath and awkward access with two doors off the hall and only the bath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great hotel, great staff, but beware of the very dangerous riptide. I stayed here in 2011 and was swept out to sea with my 11-year old son from the beach. We were standing in the breaking waves and before we knew what was happening, we were pulled out to sea. The speed of the riptide was breathtaking. We were 400 meters out to sea, and there were no rescue facilities at all. We were drifting for a full hour before a couple of locals came to save us by paddling out with kick-boards.

There are no signs warning of the dangerous rip-tide, despite management knowing about this. Be careful with kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Best service ever,you feel like in a private home with best service of a hotel!Amazing taste of the owner Fernando!everybody in the hotel is very friendly and cares about your wishes!You can have lunch and dinner at any place of the hotel!Congrats!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

my wife and i spent 3 and a half nights here. we generally loved it but it was hit and miss and agree with previous reviews...

pro's setting - lovely villa style property set among the coconut tree's, train tracks running through the grounds which you cross to get to the beach - add's to the setting. pool nice if anything very warm thanks to the superb weather. food excellent - have the sri lankan breakfast and take your time to enjoy it all. we found the wait staff very good and friendly. beach beautiful and not chaotic and full of deckchairs which we liked.

con's = we arrived at 9 pm and no welcome, gates shut, half a dozen people around but no one did anything - our driver was hassling them to get our luggage which i did myself. service around the pool needs to be ramped up - towels and beds and glasses cleared away - the pool boys were not rushed off their feet and this needs to be much slicker. wifi - patchy - at these prices get it sorted. check out - took me ringing the UK to sort out the right balance to pay which is very frustrating!

all in all we liked it a lot and will be back if we are in the region again. some teething problems need sorting out asap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We recently got married at the Villa, it was the most amazing location for our perfect day. The Villa itself is stunning, true Bawa style & extraordinary interior/exterior design. The beach in front of the villa is clean, safe & largely deserted. The rooms are beautiful, airy & light. The staff were so friendly & professional, nothing was too much trouble & their service was outstanding. I can't wait to go back to the Villa again & would highly recommend this place to anyone, all our friends and family were equally impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AB0ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Since we stayed at the resort there have been a few other reviews of the place that I have read. I don't agree with them all but that of DennisandVera (aside from their agreement with the self referential review by the well travelled blah blah magazine people below "Beautiful hotel and idea in theory...horrifically [sic] execution") chimes well with our experience.

The hotel itself is unique and obviously a great deal of care has been taken with almost every detail. The rooms were lovely, the grounds expansive and well cared for, and the pool area individually styled and very relaxing.

I thought that walking through to the beach over the railway track was fantastic and we took the train we had seen and heard rattle past the hotel hourly down from Bentota to Hikkaduwa one day which was great fun (how anyone could find a creaky old train line running outside the hotel anything but charming bemuses me but it takes all sorts).

The beach itself was really nice, though the sea can be a bit choppy and you can, if you want, get access to the same beach from much cheaper hotels nearby. Those who lament a lack of loungers, towels and helpers may be missing the point I fear - it is a quiet and picturesque place with enough waves for a body board at least.

If there is a criticism, it is that the laid back, relaxed feel of the place seems to permeate into some of the people who work there. There was rarely anyone around, at reception and at the bar in particular. When people did eventually come along to help they were invariably charming (surly restaurant staff aside) but it did tend to take a bit longer than it probably should. I also thought things shut down a bit early at night.

Having said of all this, I would go again in an instant.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 3 - it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelistener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#7 of 23 in Bentota
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Property: Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing