We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Everywhere you look there is something beautiful at The Villa. This is a boutique and classy property of 15 rooms, stylishly presented. The staff are really lovely, gentle people who are ready to chat and smile and help. Food is excellent. The train is a delightful diversion every now and then. The beach is deserted and all yours. If you walk a short way along the beach to the left of The Villa you come to Wunderbar hotel where they will happily show you their turtle conservation project. You do not need to pay but a contribution to their project is appreciated. The morning we were there over 70 turtle eggs had just hatched. Fabulous!
You really are on Paradise Road here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mops755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights there. The Villa is indeed beautiful and the food great. Although you need to know that the railway passes through the hotel land and yes, you can hear it. For a five star hotel, no WiFi in the room, sheets smelled funny, no computers. No facilities either. Basically I don't think you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JelizaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

6 of us stayed at the Villa for 2 nights and it was a lovely experience. The property and the rooms are beautifully laid out and luxurious. There are quite a few places to relax around the property and the staff were super attentive and helpful.

The food and drinks were amazing and available throughout the day. My only disappointment is that it's not right on the beach and you need to cross the railway track to get to the beach which is a little worrying especially since we had a little child with us.

I think the property is more suited for couples looking for a quiet getaway for some R&R.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Professional, kind & helpful staff. We had a lot of privacy. Waiters were a delight to talk to. Indika & crew, thank you for everything! Guys at the reception were quick-witted and very accommodating. I broke my Iphone USB cable and Mr. Manager directed me to a mobile accessories shop in Aluthgama and voila! I got a replacement :)

Ravi, the unofficial resident tuk-tuk driver of the Villa. Steadfast & jovial, he has a great knowledge of all the attractions in Bentota. He lives in a house just next to the Villa and is thus very punctual whenever we needed transport out of the hotel premises. Should you need a driver to take you to the airport or further destinations, Ravi's brother operates a taxi service. How convenient!

High quality, delicious food. My favorite orders were the grilled tuna stacks and homemade coconut ice-cream. My buddy loved the Sri Lankan curry. Breakfast was very tasty & portions were generous. Everything we had was to-die-for, enough said! Off topic, but I have to point this out: their counterpart, the Paradise Road Gallery Cafe in Colombo is a complete embarrassment compared to the Villa Cafe. Extremely rude waiters & shoddy service. We were aghast by the stark difference in food & service quality!

Luxurious rooms & lounge areas. We totally lucked out and stayed in Room Five, which has a patio overlooking the smaller pool, frangipani tree, lawn, & the best lounge area which we spent most of our time at. We had a peek at other rooms and I thought they paled in comparison to ours. Although the idea of a bathroom with outdoor shower sounds romantic, I would highly recommend a room on the second floor with an indoor bathroom and patio as showering with creepy crawlies isn't at all fun. And my goodness, the lounge with the chandelier! We practically parked ourselves there and called it OUR lounge as there were not many guests in the hotel throughout the duration of our stay ;) It was unadulterated luxury.

Warm, clean pool. Plush loungers. Water would be served without asking!

Tasteful art and design throughout the Bawa-designed property. Beautifully manicured lawns. Vast spaces. We felt very at home.

Complimentary afternoon tea service. Cheese toast, cake, ginger biscuits on rotation. Yum!

Daily evening turn-down service. Bottles of water and fresh towels sent to room at dusk. Coffee & tea sachets are replenished. Mozzie net is put down.

The Villa Shop. I loved the stuff in there. Hotel guests get a 10% discount off all purchases.

Top-notch ayurvedic toiletries by Spa Ceylon. The Spa Ceylon range can be purchased at Paradise Road shops in Colombo.

Being able to walk around the hotel grounds in pyjamas or swimwear. So liberating. Ah, the perks of traveling during the off-peak season. The brief early morning showers did not dampen our mood one bit and in fact, was a welcome relief to the scorching afternoon heat.

I liked the railway track next to the property. It was a quaint and interesting feature. It was fun waving to passengers in the trains whenever they whizzed by several times a day. Nope, we did not feel like our space was impinged on. Totally relished that experienced. The beach was rustic & untouched. Not suitable for sunbathing nor swimming, but late afternoon walks were a real treat. Better visit soon before it gets usurped by developers.

Having seen most of the other hotels on the Bentota beach strip, I personally thought the Villa Bentota was the best looking property in the area. Even though there were huge five-star establishments in the vicinity, they lacked intimacy and personal touches. Ostentatious with little regard for atmosphere and design. The Villa is truly a class of its own.


Cons? None that I can think of. But if I could nit-pick: Food and beverage were exceptional & of excellent quality, but pricey for Sri Lankan standards. But it wasn't really an issue as the few dining options outside of the hotel were beyond horrendous. The fare offered in the other hotels and eating places down the beach did not compare at all. So if you do stay here, the only other decent restaurant would be at the next door Club Villa.

All in all, I highly recommend Paradise Road The Villa Bentota. Remember to visit Lunuganga & Brief Garden! Magical & out of this world.

A shout-out to the Villa Bentota team, a big thank you for the great hospitality. We will send you the photos in a bit! See you soon, we will be back ;)

Love,
Stephanie & Freddie

Room Tip: Room Five, without a doubt. It's a standard room but its location is unparalleled, compared to t...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank guiltyquilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

the staff was perfect, we were greeted by name upon checkin, we were given suite number 5 which had a garden view, the suite was large and comfortable. Hotel design was unique and our kids quite liked it, there is also a sperate pool for kids. Food was great, they even customized the food for our kids.

The beach is just 5 mins away and you have to cross the railway track!, however its was not an issue for us.

Overall we had a perfect stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tusharmago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great looking property, very eclectic but you have to be very sure what you want while while very beautiful hotel is a tad small. We stayed here for 4 nights. On day one we stayed in Suite 1, the executive suite which was sold to us as an upgrade, having a lap pool. We didnt like the room as it had little ventilation as it faced a wall. Lap pool also didnt feel very clean to us. got concerned as o n entering the pool the water felt to be a bit bad smelling. Anyhow we requested for a room change and thankfully they had a vacant room. We moved to suite 5 after paying some $ 24 extra night but the room was beautiful. The room is beautiful it has a big veranda and it opens into the garden. Very well lit and spacious. The bathroom is also very nice. Since the property is very small the railway track which runs across the Bentota beach is very close. Since the room has no sound proofing it gets very noise in early morning and if you like us like to sleep till late on a holiday this is a bit of a problem. We slept very poorly for the 3 nights that we stayed in this room. having said this it is a Bawa property and hence beautiful and a must experience when in Sri Lanka. they mostly had European guests, with 14 room it was very quite which I really liked. Food is nice while the menu is limited. this get boring esp for breakfast more so if you dont want to eat Sri Lankan food early morning. But the staff is v polite and eager to help. We got a bad throat so I wanted lemon tea which they readily learned from me and made. food here is more expensive than other places in Sri lanka.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room facing the garden that way you will get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have been to Sri Lanka four times now and although it has a lot of five star hotels, the boutique hotels at an affordable price are few and far between.

Ths Villa Bentota hit the spot for my husband and I, who have stayed in some stunning boutique hotels in the past but now have children and so have to find something that will keep them happy as well.

Really pleased with the size of our room, Suite 2 on the ground floor had ample space for two extra beds yet still felt spacious. It has doors going straight out into the garden so was ideal for the children. I felt sorry for the family in the suite above us who were lugging a baby and buggy up the stairs - not enough to swap rooms though!

There are lots of areas around the hotel to sit and relax in, all immaculately furnished with artwork at every turn.

Restaurant food was delicious every time although a bit pricey. As there is only one restaurant, it can be a bit tedious to eat here all the time, the inclusive breakfast being served here as well. Lots of restaurant choices nearby, the Rickshaw drivers that will accost you outside the hotel know all the popular ones.

The beach is wide, sandy and quiet but the sea is rough so beware with very young children. Our kids aged 6 and 7 couldn't get enough of the crashing waves.

Small shop on site - the Paradise Road shop in Columbo is bigger and cheaper - if you can wait, I would really recommend visit it when in Columbo.

Other reviews mention slow or non existent staff, maybe we just got lucky, but we didn't experience this. We were greeted with iced drinks on arrival and a courteous and efficient service throughout our stay.

Overall, a tastefully decorated, serene place that out does many of the places I have been to in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: If going for a suite, and travelling with children go for the gournd floor, goig straight out onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 26 in Bentota
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £97 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing