We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for four nights with our two children aged 6 and 3. It was the luxury accommodation part of our trip and it lived up to its reputation. The location on the beach is fantastic, but it is The Villa itself that is totally beautiful. As others have said, it feels more like the rambling house it once was than a hotel. Our room was fine for all of us, (we had a single bed added in which the children shared) with a lovely big balcony and we were far away enough from other guests that we didn't disturb them or vice versa. Having so many separate lounge areas in the hotel means that you can find your own (beautiful) space. Although it seems more like a couples paradise, the children were made very welcome and loved having the beautiful grounds to run around in, as well as the beach and the pool.

Food was fantastic and we ate at the hotel more than we planned for this reason. We visited Club Villa next door for a few meals (which we had considered originally but it was hosting a wedding so not available) and while also lovely with good food we were totally satisfied we'd made the right choice staying at The Villa. The only slight downside was the front desk, not exactly the warmest welcome, however most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would and have highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briggsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Villa Bentota is exactly what its claims to be. We were there 4 days and it was Bliss. The property is beautiful, done up very tastefully, the rooms are very classy and the staff such lovely and well mannered people. Love the train tracks that could be seen from our balcony, all you have to do is hop over from the property across the tracks and there's the beach. I will go back there any day :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelleyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago, sadly the event was marred by rampant stealing from our rooms, yes rooms plural. Overall our group 'donated' over $3000USD worth of possessions to the staff including a passport which as you can imagine was an absolute joy to replace.... The only explanation we got from the staff was "it's not in lost and found". Not good enough considering the price and reputation of this place. Stay away, there are WAY better places to stay in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.... Problem solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tobiasjwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFS79, Owner at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Sir,

We were terribly sorry to hear of your experience in Sri Lanka and that it has resulted in a negative view of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota.

Unfortunately, when you contacted us from Galle 1 week after your departure to complain about a claimed theft by our staff, there was absolutely nothing we could do. We provide safes for all our rooms and advise guests to store all valuables accordingly.
We can however imagine how disheartening it was to learn that your passport was misplaced and can only be disappointed that this inconvenience now relates to our property.

Our only recommendation to all travellers, is to store valuables in the safe provided and if not, with you and should you notice anything missing to report it immediately so that something can be done about it.

We hope to welcome you one day back to our property and reverse your poor opinion of us!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Villa, Bentota was exceptional - that is in short.

I could lyric endlessly about the premises, the rooms, the staff and the food. It is small (14 rooks) yet well spread out over west facing grounds with a view out towards the ocean.

The railway track and passing trains adds a quaint touch as you cross to head to a soft sand, uncluttered and very empty beach. The architecture is excellent - typical Geoffrey Bawa - black and white and minimalistic, but meandering and spread out.

Our rooms (Suite 3 & 4) were exceptional - 4 had a great view over the sea - but we were shown to an awful AWFUL suite when we arrived - dark, dingy, airless and as Tarini termed it - a show box. Ensure you don't have that.

The staff are exceptional and that makes all the difference. The restaurant puts out food of the same standard (or better) as the Gallery Cafe in Colombo, though the desserts could be worked on.

We missed out on the "complementary" afternoon tea and munchies that one of the other guests spoke about, but what the hell.


A must for my next trip !!

Room Tip: As we had my in-laws with us and our young adult daughter, we had 2 suites, and I would have to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Everywhere you look there is something beautiful at The Villa. This is a boutique and classy property of 15 rooms, stylishly presented. The staff are really lovely, gentle people who are ready to chat and smile and help. Food is excellent. The train is a delightful diversion every now and then. The beach is deserted and all yours. If you walk a short way along the beach to the left of The Villa you come to Wunderbar hotel where they will happily show you their turtle conservation project. You do not need to pay but a contribution to their project is appreciated. The morning we were there over 70 turtle eggs had just hatched. Fabulous!
You really are on Paradise Road here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mops755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights there. The Villa is indeed beautiful and the food great. Although you need to know that the railway passes through the hotel land and yes, you can hear it. For a five star hotel, no WiFi in the room, sheets smelled funny, no computers. No facilities either. Basically I don't think you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JelizaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

6 of us stayed at the Villa for 2 nights and it was a lovely experience. The property and the rooms are beautifully laid out and luxurious. There are quite a few places to relax around the property and the staff were super attentive and helpful.

The food and drinks were amazing and available throughout the day. My only disappointment is that it's not right on the beach and you need to cross the railway track to get to the beach which is a little worrying especially since we had a little child with us.

I think the property is more suited for couples looking for a quiet getaway for some R&R.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 25 in Bentota
299 reviews
24.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £86 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing