We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$536
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
381
103
21
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
103
21
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beerexecutive suitesri lankageoffrey bawabaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmpublic areastrains passingbeautiful hotelhuge balconystayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great two nights here in November '13. The hotel is a wonderful old property, beautifully modernised. We had a suite, which was enormous and had a stunning view of the ocean. Staff were outstanding, food of very good quality. The sense of being treated as a guest in the true meaning of the word was apparent throughout, one of the virtues of such a small property. Others have remarked on the noise from the railway line and, yes, it is very close and, yes, we were woken early by it the first morning but by the second we noticed it much less and wouldn't let it put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gls408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here with my 2 year old daughter and husband during our recent trip to Sri Lanka and I can't stop thinking about going back. The hotel property is serene, beautiful and well appointed. It feels like you are living in your own colonial bungalow! This is a truly a must stay to those whom are Geoffrey Bawa fans.

Check in: It was extremely smooth and easy. We were greeted by big smiles and seeing that we had a 2 year old, they didn't hold us up. Cold towels were offered which was a welcome relief from the heat!

Ambience: The hotel grounds are well kept and the colonial buildings are beautiful. There are plenty of open air rooms for reading, comfy couches and little courtyards which gives the hotel a cosy, homely feel. It's very peaceful in the day, with the hotel staff always attentive but not imposing.

Beach: The nearby beach was a little too rough for swimming but it's still just a stone's throw away from a nice morning run or afternoon play on the sands.

Rooms: The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The air con isn't very cold though but that was alright. Our room (executive suit) opened out into the lawn and had a beautiful sitting area for playing and reading. The bathroom was large and had plenty of room for the 3 of us.

Wifi: Unfortunately, the wifi was a little unreliable while we were there.

Food: The food was so heavenly! It really was the best thing about the hotel! We had the Jaggery Sundae EVERYDAY! Everything was delicious and they were able to make us suitable food for our daughter. Breakfast was always a delight an it soon became very difficult to choose what to eat because everything was so tasty.

Service: Wonderful, attentive staff that are not too imposing. On one night, there was a power trip in our room and the staff rushed to us to try and fix it even though it was late at night.

Altogether it was a wonderful stay, a quiet little boutique gem that is perfect for relaxing.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helloelizabethtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this lovely boutique property for two nights in Oct 2013. We were put up in the executive suite, which was quite an experience. The hotel interiors are tastefully done, with a lot of attention to detail. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was very tasty, although the menu could be more elaborate.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious. We stayed at suite 7. highly recommended.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMukewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Only stopped in for lunch which was outstanding with a great mix of local dishes and international dishes for the kids. Had a look round - ideal for couples, not so good for kids as a quiet location. Beautiful quiet beach a 50m walk over a very quiet railway line. There is a small shop which had high quality gifts at very good prices. Service was understated but first rate. Lots of quiet shady places to read a book or relax. When we were there in October only appeared to be a handful of guests so the ideal place to chill out

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank WillTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a delight staying in this amazing old mansion. We lashed out and stayed in a suite and it was such a pleasure. We were pampered by the staff but there were very few guests for them to service as it was not "season" time. The beach was not at its best but was still nice to dip into in the mornings. The pool more than made up for this.
The manicured grounds and artistic alcoves made it a constant pleasure to the senses. The food was pricey, but of a really high standard.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. However, the TV had some technical issues but we hardly used it anyway.
Also, despite being told there were only a few trains a day, there actually were quite a few, up to 20 on one of the days, but its not really a problem although you need to be alert when crossing the tracks to get to the beach.

Room Tip: The suites are really worth it if you can afford to pay a bit more.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews