We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful peaceful place with excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful place with excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I visited this hotel many times 10 years ago and am very happy to say that Paradise Road have really enhanced what was a fantastic experience before! The addition of the swimming pool and the improvement of the food and rooms make this an unforgettable place. The Manager and staff were VERY attentive and helpful. The rooms are really beautiful and ours had a huge balcony with views to the sea. The train to Colombo runs at the bottom of the garden which always provides interesting visions of local people on their way to work. The food was really good...can recommend the black pork curry, which is a Paradise Road favourite of mine! And the seafood platter was both ultra fresh and reasonably priced! Spoil yourself with a visit to this wonderful place!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    84
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
92
241
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by the owner - odd that! However, he grossly undersold its charm and elegance.

The grounds are simply amazing, far superior and larger than the grounds of much larger hotels in the area, plenty of private space if you are a couple.

The pool is large enough for all guests to cool down in. There is plenty of shade area around the gardens for when it gets too hot.

The food was simply amazing, a dish of devilled prawns cooked to my liking, extra devil! The staff are similar to those at the Tintagel in Colombo, very helpful, courteous and helpful.

I stayed down the road recently with a H&J all inclusive package which was more expensive, this is a far superior, exclusive retreat that offers exceptional value for money for the more discerning guests. It's not an all inclusive race for a buffet, it's a luxurious, quiet example of a fantastic villa on the coast.

If you are a couple or looking for a romantic getaway, this is an ideal place for a secluded romantic break on your travels.

The suites are absolutely huge and well furnished. I thought there had been a mistake in the booking for the price paid for the room. The balcony is also large and private. I've uploaded some pictures to give you an idea of what to expect for your break.

Next time I go back with my partner, I'll be requesting the same room. The A/C kept the large space more than cool enough.

The hotel is a little off the beaten track but a short tuk tuk ride and you are in the heart of Bentota.

The rail road does run the contour of the coast so most hotels are close to the passing trains. These trains do sound their horns occasionally to keep people safe so don't let this put you off. The sound of the waves crashing on the beach make more noise.

Do give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great two nights here in November '13. The hotel is a wonderful old property, beautifully modernised. We had a suite, which was enormous and had a stunning view of the ocean. Staff were outstanding, food of very good quality. The sense of being treated as a guest in the true meaning of the word was apparent throughout, one of the virtues of such a small property. Others have remarked on the noise from the railway line and, yes, it is very close and, yes, we were woken early by it the first morning but by the second we noticed it much less and wouldn't let it put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gls408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here with my 2 year old daughter and husband during our recent trip to Sri Lanka and I can't stop thinking about going back. The hotel property is serene, beautiful and well appointed. It feels like you are living in your own colonial bungalow! This is a truly a must stay to those whom are Geoffrey Bawa fans.

Check in: It was extremely smooth and easy. We were greeted by big smiles and seeing that we had a 2 year old, they didn't hold us up. Cold towels were offered which was a welcome relief from the heat!

Ambience: The hotel grounds are well kept and the colonial buildings are beautiful. There are plenty of open air rooms for reading, comfy couches and little courtyards which gives the hotel a cosy, homely feel. It's very peaceful in the day, with the hotel staff always attentive but not imposing.

Beach: The nearby beach was a little too rough for swimming but it's still just a stone's throw away from a nice morning run or afternoon play on the sands.

Rooms: The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The air con isn't very cold though but that was alright. Our room (executive suit) opened out into the lawn and had a beautiful sitting area for playing and reading. The bathroom was large and had plenty of room for the 3 of us.

Wifi: Unfortunately, the wifi was a little unreliable while we were there.

Food: The food was so heavenly! It really was the best thing about the hotel! We had the Jaggery Sundae EVERYDAY! Everything was delicious and they were able to make us suitable food for our daughter. Breakfast was always a delight an it soon became very difficult to choose what to eat because everything was so tasty.

Service: Wonderful, attentive staff that are not too imposing. On one night, there was a power trip in our room and the staff rushed to us to try and fix it even though it was late at night.

Altogether it was a wonderful stay, a quiet little boutique gem that is perfect for relaxing.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helloelizabethtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this lovely boutique property for two nights in Oct 2013. We were put up in the executive suite, which was quite an experience. The hotel interiors are tastefully done, with a lot of attention to detail. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was very tasty, although the menu could be more elaborate.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious. We stayed at suite 7. highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMukewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Only stopped in for lunch which was outstanding with a great mix of local dishes and international dishes for the kids. Had a look round - ideal for couples, not so good for kids as a quiet location. Beautiful quiet beach a 50m walk over a very quiet railway line. There is a small shop which had high quality gifts at very good prices. Service was understated but first rate. Lots of quiet shady places to read a book or relax. When we were there in October only appeared to be a handful of guests so the ideal place to chill out

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WillTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a delight staying in this amazing old mansion. We lashed out and stayed in a suite and it was such a pleasure. We were pampered by the staff but there were very few guests for them to service as it was not "season" time. The beach was not at its best but was still nice to dip into in the mornings. The pool more than made up for this.
The manicured grounds and artistic alcoves made it a constant pleasure to the senses. The food was pricey, but of a really high standard.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. However, the TV had some technical issues but we hardly used it anyway.
Also, despite being told there were only a few trains a day, there actually were quite a few, up to 20 on one of the days, but its not really a problem although you need to be alert when crossing the tracks to get to the beach.

Room Tip: The suites are really worth it if you can afford to pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.5 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Property: Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing