We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
381
103
21
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
103
21
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beersri lankageoffrey bawabaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmsuperior suitepublic areasbeautiful hoteltrains passinghuge balconystayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I visited this property on our architectural tour. It was worth it. We made a mental note to consider this hotel next time we visit. Great property. Staff seemed very friendly, and efficient. We toured, bought some art, which the hotel shipped back home, and would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent one night at The Villa and experienced one of the most relaxed holidays we've had in Sri Lanka. Though it was fully occupied during our stay we felt we had the whole place to ourselves. The food too was delightful though portion size could've been bigger! Courteous staff who discreetly got about their business too was another plus. A stroll on the beach which is just on the border of the property but then again The Villa is about serenity, peace and rejuvenating your soul!!!! We enjoyed everything here. Little courtyards and friendly helpful staff makes your stay worth while! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed the final three nights of our Sri Lankan honeymoon in The Villa, Bentota and had a wonderful experience.

The hotel grounds are spacious and are adjacent to the huge sandy beach running the length of the Bentota coastline. The hotel buildings are an extension to the Villa originally crafted by Geoffrey Bawa, the renowned Sri Lankan architect and are immaculately kept. The buildings are beautifully designed with lots of airy spaces that blend the indoors and outdoors magically. There are two swimming pools, the larger being the best to swim in and lounge beside. The railway line which runs between the beach and the perimeter wall is fairly busy but strangely adds to the charm of the place, the rumble and noise of the trains is not really bothersome - all hotels and resorts along the beach front are affected by the trains in the same way so don’t use this to bias your decision.

The hotel rooms are large and tastefully decorated with all the modern amenities you would wish for. Rooms 6 & 7 have their own private balconies overlooking the gardens and were in range of the hotel WiFi signal.

Food was excellent although a little pricey and the management & staff were professional and very courteous. We were given a breakfast box to take with us on our early morning airport transfer on departure, a nice touch.

Bentota as a destination lacks some of the vibrancy and atmosphere of the south coast beaches, but if peace and solitude are what you want then that’s what awaits you when visiting The Villa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 01Andrew_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

At the end of our tour of Sri Lanka we decided to spend it relaxing on a beach and couldn't have choosen a more beautiful and relaxing hotel. This has to be the best boutique hotel I have stayed in - by a mile.

The place is a dreamy villa kept immaculately. There were plenty of space and there was lots of places that you can just sit and chill out. With only 15 rooms, there was never a problem with getting a lounger by the pool or relaxing in the beautifully kept gardens.

The staff were all excellent. Rasheen was fantastic in making sure everything was ok for us and the service was excellent. My partner and I loved the little touches like how they would bring a glass of cold water to you as you just sit by the pool relaxing without prompting, and the way that you are left alone but yet they were always there if you need something.

We also liked that the beach was just a stone's through away at the bottom of the garden and to get to it you have to cross over a railway line which was quaint. Its not a very busy trainline and it never got to the point where it became intrusive. The beach Is miles and miles of sandy strip with very shallow (and warm!) water that was more than inviting after a stint in the heat.

The restaurant in the hotel served excellent food, and my girlfriend (who loves her curries) said the Crab curry was the best that she's ever had. High praise indeed. We normally like to venture out and try local restaurants but we ended up eating in the hotel every night except one as we found it really to our liking. Prices in the restaurant were very reasonable - as long as you don't have any wine!

We really loved this hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the last hotel on our holiday in Sri Lanka..We have travelled before and very often we have been disappointed in the last hotel..But this time we were very pleased.The hotel was the best of all..The grounds were well planned and the feeling in the whole hotel was peaceful and tranquil.The swimming pools enjoyed. The food exceptional. With a good selection of dishes. The rooms nicely furnished.and the staff efficient and friendly.In fact when we asked for avocado (which were out of season). They went out of their way and got some for dinner next evening.
Only a moment away is a wonderful beach,long and sandy,The sea looked a little rough, but it was refreshing and we enjoyed the warmth of the water..We had no trouble with hawkers...We soon got used to the train running at the bottom of the garden ,through a gate,and after the first day ,we became used to the noise and didn,t even hear it..
The only fault , (nit picking) was that our bathroom needed a small amount of upgrading to keep up to the standard of the rest of our room.
We would definately return to this hotel and recommend it.
The nearest town is a 5 minute tuk tuk ride away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews